We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful building” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts

Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts
The David RubenStein Atrium, Broadway & 64th Street - main entrance, New York City, NY 10023 (Manhattan)
212-875-5350
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$72*
and up
New York City Explorer Pass
Ranked #8 of 633 Attractions in New York City
Type: Tourist/ Visitor Centers, Performances, Theaters, Tours, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Learn more about Lincoln Center’s iconic landmarks—including the Revson Fountain, the newly transformed Alice Tully Hall, and the Metropolitan Opera House!Go behind the scenes at venues where a spectacular range of artists have performed, including Luciano Pavarotti, Mikhail Baryshnikov, Leonard Bernstein, Renée Fleming, and Bruce Springsteen.Each tour is unique, and you never know what might happen. You might sit in on a rehearsal, walk out onto a stage, or meet a star!Whether you’re just visiting New York City and want a glimpse of performing arts history, or you’re a Lincoln Center regular who wants to see your favorite venues from a new perspective, a guided tour will bring you closer to the world’s premier performing arts center.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
southeastern U.S
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful building”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We saw monkey journey to the west. Enjoyed the show. This is the largest theatre our family has been to. It is beautiful when you come out after dark. The fountain out front is also a sight to see. Walk over to Central Park and have a peek. A Century 21 is close with great shopping

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,441 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,071
    304
    52
    11
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue Iowa
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Classical music lovers, don't miss it.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I went to a concert featuring the New York Philharmonic with Emmanual Axe as featured soloist in the Avery Fisher Hall. Fabulous place to see/hear a concert. Even in the nosebleed section the sound was wonderfull, and I was able to see the entire stage. In my opinion way better than a Broadway show, and much cheaper. The complex itself is interesting for the casual tourist as there is a nice fountain, and shady sitting areas if you need a break from walking. Viewing the different buildings and the concert schedules outside gives one an idea of the wealth of music listening opportunities for New Yorkers and visitors.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
79 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“can imagine NYC with out it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The Lincoln Center is so essential to the city; without it, the city will be far less charming and sophisticated. Yesterday I went to see the play "Monkey: Journey to the West." It is a fabulous show, but may be bit exotic for many who are used to Western classics. Some find it lack a good story line, but all praise its eye-catching set and acrobatic stunts. The plot is simple: one naughty and powerful monkey king decided to do good by escorting a monk to seek scriptures in India. The group has encountered all kinds of difficulties and dangers, and finally reached the paradise.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“I Love This Venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

If you can time your visit to catch a show at Lincoln, DO IT! This is a pretty theatre "campus" with a lovely and welcoming fountain in the center. We caught a show as part of the Center's summer Festival -- different from your usual Broadway fare -- and it was the highlight of our last visit.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very informative”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

My family did this tour using the NYC Explorer Pass and although it was interesting, I think your enjoyment depends on how interested you are in the arts. It was definitley nice to be able to go into some of the theatres that you hear about, especially if you know you won't be going to any of the concerts/recitals, but I recommend this tour to those that are highly into the fine arts.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts also viewed

 

Been to Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.