We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Broadway Entertainment With Ease” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Don't Tell Mama

Don't Tell Mama
343 W 46th St, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)
(212) 757-0788
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Don't Tell Mama is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,637 of 11,751 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Cross street: 8th and 9th Avenues
Transit: A, B & C trains to 44th Street and 8th Avenue and the Q,R,N,1, 2 & 3 trains to 42nd Street and 7th Avenue.
Addison, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Broadway Entertainment With Ease”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Don't Tell Mama restaurant was good; but the nextdoor Bar was 5 star. Entertainers included waiters and audience, whose talent, was past, present or future, on the Broadway stage. Incredible! If I lived in the area, this bar would be a weekly stop for me.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    50
    26
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Try it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Went there because it was a 1000 point open table restaurant They have a price fixed menu for $24 which my husband ordered but also added a side vegetable

I ordered the veal chop with two steamed vegetables. They came out sautéed so it went back. Second round of drinks and coffee were on the house. Pretty reasonable. Would definitely go back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“This is a review of the piano bar, not the restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We had a fun evening here. The pianist plays all evening, and from time to time different waiters and waitresses take a turn to sing, performing a variety of music. We had intended to go and eat next door at the restaurant, but as we were having such a good time in the bar we decided to stay on and eat from the bar menu, so as not to lose our seats.
The food was fine but nothing special.....that's not really what you are there for. The atmosphere was lively and friendly, we were there with our son and his fiancée so it appealed to a wide age range.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“nice evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

it was great to have a drink listening to good singers
come early to be seated
food not that great but OK

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Terrible service, below average food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I guess we should have known better than to eat around Times Square and expect something special. They had a girl on the street that talked us into eating there, she was a great sales person and we liked the idea of eating at the restaurant and then going next door to their lounge to hear the piano bar music. The restaurant only had three tables. There was one waiter in the whole place which should have been no problem considering there were so few of us. But he was unattentive and seemed terribly bored. The food was below average. We went to the piano bar next door and that was fun. Next time I will just eat somewhere else and then go check out the piano bar.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don't Tell Mama also viewed

 

Been to Don't Tell Mama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Don't Tell Mama, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.