We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful late lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Antonucci

Antonucci
170 East 81 Street, New York City, NY 10028 (Upper East Side)
2125705100
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Antonucci is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,751 of 11,180 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $25 - $35
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Upper East Side
Cross street: 3rd Avenue
Transit: 6 Train to 77th Street or 4/5/6 Train to 86th Street
Description: New Italian restaurant in the Upper East Side.
Alaska
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful late lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Walked in with no problem around 2:00pm. Neat and well-appointed. Just as a neighborhood Italian restaurant in supposed to be. The waiter explained several specials but we ate from the menu. What can one say but "delicious!" Just as one likes a first experience to be. I can see why reservations may be needed at dinner.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    13
    5
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Neighborhood Perfection with Great Italian Food and Wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

As Yogi Berra might say, nobody goes to this restaurant because the wait is so long. In fact, with a well-timed reservation in hand, this Upper East Side, small, neighborhood, authentic Italian restaurant is a must. As locals in the neighborhood lament, Antonucci has been ‘discovered” and with good reason; its great. Frequent customer Madonna lives in the neighborhood, but that didn’t impress us. Food, service and atmosphere did impress us! They are excellent. This is the real deal.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Terrific Italian Restaurant in the Upper East Side”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Decorated with a very mixed choice of artworks, Antonucci is a simple and elegant restaurant. A consistently good service and great food make for a great dinning experience. At lunch the frittatta and salads are a must. At dinner any pasta is served al dente and prepared in a delicious and unique way.

The outdoor seating is not very comfortable but that doesn't deter New Yorkers from having a glass (or two) of wine and enjoying a nice lunch.

I've been a customer since it opened an it has never let me down.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich CT
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Wonderful neighborhood place with great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

A wonderful real Italian restaurant! The place is small and you can feel a bit crowded but the food is worth it. We had changed our reservation to a half hour later and were gently reminded that we now had an hour and half to eat vs. the usual 2 hours. The fact that they were willing to still accommodate us was wonderful. The seafood lasagne was very special and appetizer of bread with sauce and cheese was equally great. The noise level does heat up starting around 7-7:30 and this was a Wednesday night!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Real Italian restaurant and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We chose to go to Antonucci because it is a few meters from Madonna's house in New York. She is also dominating the hall of the restaurant with a big mural. Francesco is the owner and stays in the main hall and coordinates everything. Of course, he pays a lot of attention to Italians.
The food is really Italian, we had eggplant parmigiana, the real recipe, very good one, and veal scaloppini, again very adherent to the Italian recipe. We did not have pasta, which would have been the real test, but I can say that pasta is the "real" al dente pasta, looking at other tables with Italians which were locals.
The restaurant is maybe a little small and tables are very very close, so privacy can be a concern. I can tell you the whole story of the people in our neighbors table.
Overall a great place to go in the fantastic Upper East Side of Manhattan. Prices were adequate for the place, 90$ for two people, a bit expensive but you are in the most sophisticated area of NYC

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Antonucci also viewed

 

Been to Antonucci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antonucci, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.