We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very creative italian restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alloro

Alloro
307 E 77th St, New York City, NY 10075 (Manhattan)
(212) 535-2866
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Alloro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,850 of 11,777 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $25 - $56
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Cross street: Between 1st and 2nd Avenues
Transit: Take the 6 train to 77th Street rand Lexington Avenue. Take the crosstown bus to 79th Street and 2nd Avenue.
Description: Salvatore and Gina opened Alloro on a quiet, tree-lined street of the Upper East Side, just one block from where they live with their children. When you go to Alloro, you'll be greeted by an adventurous decor and innovative culinary fare created by Salvatore who puts a creative spin on Italian classics. With each season comes a new menu. Sit back and let them take you on an exciting culinary journey you'll always remember. This ain't your grandma's spaghetti and meatballs! Visit www.alloronyc.com for information on menus, tastings, and cultural events.
rio de janeiro
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A very creative italian restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

Inasmuch as we were staying in midtown Manhattan, my husband and I decided to have dinner at this restaurant, which is located on second avenue . We did enjoy our dinner. It is a rather small restaurant, with classic italian dishes cooked and presented in a rather 'different' manner. Nothing like the modern cuisine thing that we do not like. The dishes did maintain their basic way of cooking and presentation, but the flavours were quite unique. My husband had as an entree a very nice collection of italian hams and salames, with three samples of cheeses. Then he had a sea bass, which was fantastic, according to him. I ordered pasta , which, again, was quite nice. For desserts we shared a panna cota which was incredible good. Service was polite but, sometimes, perhaps, the waiters should pay more attention to the customers need Prices are OK. In short, if you like italian food and if you are willing to try different tastes, you should visit the Alloro.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    10
    5
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cherry Hill, NJ
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“NOT RECOMMENDED”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

We were VERY Disappointed. We were so looking foward to a nice quiet dinner brfore the crowd, but this place was awful. We made a reservation for 7 people at 6pm on Saturday figuring it would be before the typical late New York dinner hour. Our dinner was so rushed that just as we put down our forks, they brought over our coats!

The food was mediocre at best...cold, bland, overpriced and the pasta was so hard that we needed a knife to cut it. Yuk! There is a VERY limited menu as well. Everything is swimming in thick lumpy sauces.

I get it when there is an automatic 20% gratuity placed on the check for parties of 6 or more....but does that mean just because you already know what the tip will be that you still don't have to work for it? Terrible UNFRIENDLY staff.

There was no reason for this as there are many other restaurants near by.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, MD
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“A small classy place with a chef from Calabria”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

Best way I can describe this is Southern Italian nouveau cuisine. There are the standard dishes done in a bright way but also items such as pumpkin soup done in a southern Italian style (excellent) and zanny (but delicious) items like fig foams. A foodie delight!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Top Contributor
250 reviews 250 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
“Divine food in a romantic setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

This was a little surprise as we just came across this restaurant while actually looking for another one. We were first astonished by the gentle owner or manager of this place: very nice, attentionate, fine and gentleman style,which is more and more difficult to find in NY. We first enjoyed an Apero on the bar as our table was not yet ready. Then we had a very fine and delicate dinner: We had the risotto as a starter followed by the sole filet for some and a Lamb rack for others. Every one of us was more than satisfied with the chosen plate. The food was very delicate and fine, we think that a more appropriate adjective would be divine. Also important to mention would be that we were there on a Monday evening and the place was full, which shows how much this restaurant is appreciated.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011 via mobile

Gnocchi was tasty and light and the fresh fettucine with rabbit ragu was perfectly put together. I will return and bring friends.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alloro also viewed

 

Been to Alloro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alloro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.