We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top hotel, start saving” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The New York Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The New York Palace Hotel to your Saves list
The New York Palace Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   455 Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10022 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Elevate Your Experience
Ranked #109 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Derbyshire
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Top hotel, start saving”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Not very much to say about the quality of this hotel, it's just quality. The only other thing is that it is, in my book, expensive. My wife and I stayed there for three nights at the end of a touring holiday. Those three nights cost us about £875.
My wife booked it as a treat and it was certainly that.
Our room was on the 34th floor and looked down towards the East River where we could just see Roosevelt Island.
For New York our room was a great size with elegant decor. The bathroom was lovely, there were robes and slippers provided and the entire experience was luxurious.
Location wise it was excellent Maddison and 51st doesn't get much better. Really helpful Reception, concierge and bell hop staff.
Would love to go back.

Room Tip: Any room is a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    790
    336
    130
    54
    25
See reviews for
354
415
42
258
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (409)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sharon, Massachusetts
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My guests and I had a mediocre stay at the New York Palace Hotel. We rented a Tower Corner Suite over Memorial Day weekend to host a small gathering of friends. In summary, the room was great, but the consensus is that service was sub-par to such an extent that we got an unexpected "Guest Inconvenience" credit on the bill without ever asking. Below is a summary of the highlights:

The Good:

1. Fantastic room with spectacular views. We stood on the 48th floor and had a spectacular view of the East River and Midtown skyline. I fell asleep staring at the lights on the Chrysler Building. The room was very spacious- 1-bedroom complete with guest powder room and wet bar.

2. Very friendly staff. Within a few minutes of arriving, one of the staff gave my daughter a teddy bear.

3. Bed was super comfortable.

4. Everything was clean and pristine.

5. Staff came through on some important requests (e.g. a refrigerator to store milk for my daughter).

The Bad:

1. No help at lobby door. When I first arrived at the hotel with stroller in-tow, no one helped me as I struggled through the front lobby door. There was plenty of staff nearby, but the staff members were talking to each other and didn't notice. Only after I was partially through the 2nd door did staff notice me and come by to help.

2. We waited over 4 hours to get a coffee machine for the room despite being told it would be right up. One of my guests went down about 2 hours in to ask about the request, to which he was assured that it was on its way. 2 hours later, he went down again and reported the staff looked frustrated. The inconvenience credit was for this issue.

3. Couldn't get a glass of beer for dinner. After dinner arrived at my room (friends ordered in), I asked 2 members of staff and the Towers concierge where I could get a cold glass of beer to have alongside my waiting dinner. I was told by concierge that the bars/lounges on-property wouldn't permit me to take drinks out of the bar to my room and that in-room service would be a while. I was therefore directed by concierge to an off-site bodega several blocks away. By the time I got back, my food was cold. I feel like there should have been a better solution.

4. No linens for 2nd bed. Our reservation was for 4 guests, but linens were only supplied for 1 bed. By the time we noticed, it was fairly late and we were too frustrated from the 5 hour coffee wait to be bothered calling service again. We searched through all the closets to no avail. We ended up sleeping on a towel covering the bare sofa mattress.

Overall, the stay rates a solid 3 bubbles for me. The room and view were stunning- a sure 5-bubbles. However, the service issues were a drag on the overall experience. The inconvenience credit was a nice gesture, but didn't weigh much on my rating, especially since we had additional issues after the credit was given.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This hotel is 1st class, very good for Central Park and time square, staff first class and rooms very nice. 10 of us stayed and all had different rooms, facing, North, South, West & East. they will book trips for you, get taxis etc.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I am a frequent traveler with Platinum status at Marriott and I would say I was treated better here than I have been treated at some JW Marriott properties.

Booking:
I booked this hotel on Hotwire using the 5-star filter for a hotel in Midtown East. Checking in was quite simple; however, there was an issue with the Hotwire booking interface with their hotel - hotwire supposedly interfaced my check-in date to be a day later but the front desk was really helpful and easy going about fixing this.

Check In:
We got upgraded to a Superior Cathedral view room. This room turned out to be super spacious and comfortable.

Pros:
- Clean and Spacious rooms
- Comfortable bedding
- Fast Elevators
- Friendly staff (Reception / Bell desk)
- Clean / Spacious bathroom
- Hotel has been updated and maintained very well

Cons:
- No free wifi
- We didn't take advantage of the bar or room service so I can't say anything else about this hotel

Room Tip: Request an upgrade for a higher floor and a Cathedral View
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Great hotel!! The restored mansion part was like stepping back in time and yet modern at the same time. Hotel staff was very courteous and they kept our baggage safe after we checked out so we could get in a little more sight seeing and shopping before we had to catch our flight home.
Perfect location to shopping and theater . The only drawback was no free wifi.

Room Tip: Get a room with cathedral view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights. The staff were very nice and were very helpful with bookings. The rooms are nothing to write home about. We requested a high floor as we were informed that there were refurbishing the hotel so some sections were closed off. Nevertheless its an old but good hotel and is in an excellent location.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

If you're a meeting planner, treat yourself to a meeting at The New York Palace where seasoned professionals will assist in every step along the way. Not all luxury properties are created equal and they really do pay attention to detail - music to my ears!

Room Tip: Ask for views of St. Patricks Cathedral
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The New York Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New York Palace Hotel

Address: 455 Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in New York City
#65 Family Hotel in New York City
#81 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#89 Business Hotel in New York City
#93 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The New York Palace Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 909
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New York Palace stands at the intersection of contemporary luxury and classic elegance, boasting modern accommodations and landmark architecture in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. The hotel's collection of well-appointed guest rooms, sophisticated suites and luxurious Towers accommodations offers an array of amenities ideal for business travelers and leisure visitors alike. With some of Manhattan's most spacious hotel rooms and a range of expansive suites, The Palace offers unrivaled New York City accommodations. Each newly renovated suite comes with a stunning view of the Manhattan skyline, a large marble bathroom, and a wide range of upscale amenities, including Molton Brown products. The city's signature sights sit just steps from the hotel, including Rockefeller Center, St. Patrick's Cathedral, the upscale shopping of Fifth Avenue, and the theaters of Broadway. Business and leisure travelers enjoy elite amenities in every room or suite, including high-speed Wi-Fi (surcharge) and broadband Internet access, plush bathrobes and linens, a fully stocked refreshment center, as well as access to a modern fitness center and selection of relaxing spa treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The New York Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Palace Hotel
New York City Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel New York
Palace Hotel Nyc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The New York Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.