We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbeatable Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The New York Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The New York Palace Hotel to your Saves list
The New York Palace Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   455 Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10022 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Finding Neverland Package
Ranked #111 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
278 reviews 278 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
“Unbeatable Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The hotel is an independent operation I believe, and is situated in a terrific location on the corner of Madison and 50th. The main entrance is off of 50th. Efficient staff and an elegant stairway on the way to the elevators. My room on the 16th floor had a view of the cathedral but even at that height you can still hear the sounds of the city below.
Comfy beds and nice linens in a decent sized room with nice furnishings. The bathroom was normal sized with good quality soaps etc. I would note that one of the bath towels was virtually threadbare but that the other two provided were fluffy and new looking.

The fitness center n the 8th floor is well equipped and popular but I got a treadmill without waiting. I have stayed there before and would do so again.

Room Tip: Face Madison for view of Cathedral ( although it is being renovated at present) and is noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    767
    328
    124
    53
    25
See reviews for
348
402
40
247
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

This incredible character building blends the elegance of the old world with the convenience, effiency and productivity of the new world. The King-sized Cathedral room is more real estate than a standard apartment. With the ability to roam within the room and large windows to view St Patricks and Rockefellar it makes it easy to work within the space. The staff are very helpful and relaxed, a nice transition from the hustle of the street.
I would suggest this room to anyone from my grandmother to my executive colleagues. Reward yourself and gain refreshment with the Palaces fitness and lounge facilities.
The pictures do not do the building or rooms justice. Go book and experience for yourself!!
See you again soon NYP!

Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ma
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I felt like a princess in this Palace. It was amazing to stay at such a wonderful hotel in such a great location. Shopping, restaurants, etc, all closeby. Would definitely go back to be pampered again!

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Upon arrival we were greeted graciously and efficiently. The in-room service was prompt and delicious. The hotel room was gorgeous! My wife and I loved the toiletries. The Palace is conveniently located next to transportation, the Theater District and Central Park. Definitely will come back for another weekend and recommend to others

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murphy, Texas
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

5 star is really stretching it. Spacious corner king room was nice, but carpet was worn. Staff was friendly. Restaurant choices were lacking. No late nite option for food other than room service. Good location but would not look to stay here again

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nypalace, General Manager at The New York Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear heroes4sale,

I am glad you enjoyed your Corner King Guest Room with a gorgeous view of St. Patrick’s Cathedral; we renovated our entire hotel two years ago and continue to improve upon all of the furnishings in our guest rooms. Our ladies and gentlemen are always available to assist in any capacity that you need and our award winning concierge staff are there to assist with access to some of New York’s hardest to get into restaurants and venues in the Big Apple. I hope to welcome you back and please feel free to reach out to me directly when you are looking to come back to New York City.

Best wishes,

John C. Tolbert
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I recently spent 3 nights at the New York Palace Hotel during a business trip to New York. I had not stayed at this hotel for many years and was looking forward to my return. The reasons for choosing this particular hotel were the location and what I remember were sizable rooms. I was not disappointed. The room was spacious and I had a lovely view of St Patrick's Cathedral. The room decor was tastefully done and the bed was extremely comfortable. I was somewhat disappointed by the level of service especially with respect to in-room dining. There seems to be some challenges in the evening. For example, a request for tea one evening took two tries to get it right. Reception on Sunday afternoon was a bit surly. But overall, the stay was pleasant.

Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nypalace, General Manager at The New York Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear C O,

I am very happy to hear that you came back to us after a few years and I hope that you had an enjoyable and productive trip in New York while staying with us on business. We spent a lot of time in recent years redesigning our rooms to make them more comfortable and to give our guests more space and a more relaxing environment when unwinding form a hectic day. I have to agree with you on our beds, they are second to none from any hotel I have ever stayed at. We are regularly working on service enhancements in all of departments and when you are looking to come back to us please let our Guest Experience team know your preference for a Tea Setup to be placed in your room prior to arrival with our compliments; this is available for anyone and everyone that stays with us upon request. I hope to personally welcome you back soon.

Best wishes,

John C. Tolbert
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Lovely hotel, very well located. Molton Brown toiletries stocked up every day. We asked for a room with a nice view as it was our wedding anniversary and wanted a good view. We came back to our room after the first day to discover complimentary champagne and chocolates. Very nice touch. Concierge really helpful but the reception staff less so. Would recommend this hotel without any hesitation.

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nypalace, General Manager at The New York Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear 35JO,

We love celebrating our guests who are celebrating any special occasions. We ask that everyone tell us what brings them to our gorgeous and iconic hotel for every trip so our Guest Experience Team can make sure to recognize everyone's special occasion. Congratulations on your anniversary and I hope to welcome you back to The New York Palace soon.

Best wishes,

John C. Tolbert
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The New York Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New York Palace Hotel

Address: 455 Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in New York City
#69 Family Hotel in New York City
#82 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#88 Business Hotel in New York City
#94 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The New York Palace Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 909
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New York Palace stands at the intersection of contemporary luxury and classic elegance, boasting modern accommodations and landmark architecture in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. The hotel's collection of well-appointed guest rooms, sophisticated suites and luxurious Towers accommodations offers an array of amenities ideal for business travelers and leisure visitors alike. With some of Manhattan's most spacious hotel rooms and a range of expansive suites, The Palace offers unrivaled New York City accommodations. Each newly renovated suite comes with a stunning view of the Manhattan skyline, a large marble bathroom, and a wide range of upscale amenities, including Molton Brown products. The city's signature sights sit just steps from the hotel, including Rockefeller Center, St. Patrick's Cathedral, the upscale shopping of Fifth Avenue, and the theaters of Broadway. Business and leisure travelers enjoy elite amenities in every room or suite, including high-speed Wi-Fi (surcharge) and broadband Internet access, plush bathrobes and linens, a fully stocked refreshment center, as well as access to a modern fitness center and selection of relaxing spa treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The New York Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Palace Hotel
New York City Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel New York
Palace Hotel Nyc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The New York Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.