We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Accommodations, Amazing Staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The New York Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The New York Palace Hotel to your Saves list
The New York Palace Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   455 Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10022 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Finding Neverland Package
Ranked #107 of 461 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Amazing Accommodations, Amazing Staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Amazing, luxurious hotel. My stay couldn't have been greater in accommodations like this. The staff is also tremendous and very professional. Erin from the Guest Experience department helped me in the lobby when I needed a few recommendations, and she did it with a smile on her face. From the atmosphere to the service, I can't recommend this place enough. I'll be returning, and I'll be sure to tell all of my friends and associates about this place.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    720
    312
    114
    49
    24
See reviews for
332
377
37
227
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We spent one night in a cathedral view corner room. The room had a lot of natural light and a nice view of the back of St. Patrick's Cathedral (that is still undergoing restoration). The room appears to have been recently refurbished. The Madison Avenue lobby is beautiful. There is a nice (although expensive) French style cafe in the lobby.

Now for the negatives: Although we had 5 suitcases with us, we received no assistance from the bellman at the front door until we had successfully struggled through the doors ourselves. The king bed had only two pillows (every other hotel I have stayed in has had four). The mattress was very soft and has seen better days. Finally there was hair and crumbs on a room chair when we arrived requiring a special housekeeping visit.

Although we did not stay have the chance to stay here when Leona Helmsley owned the hotel, I do not think the "Queen" would have provided a true royal experience.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Top Contributor
501 reviews 501 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 176 cities Reviews in 176 cities
248 helpful votes 248 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

location is super, next to theaters, restaurants, Times Square, steps from MoMa. Just there. Look carefully when reserve as you can get high floor package at the same price. We had 32nd floor above St. Patrick Cathedral. Great. Rooms are spacious but a bit dated. Bathrooms are large and clean. TV selection is so so and minibar is really expensive. Breakfast is available downstairs at signature pastry level. Ok but not really spacious. The restaurant next door, recommended by the hotel for business breakfast is NY style. expensive and just ok. But in NY you don't spend time inside the hotel room. Overall,posh, plush and comfy.oh, wifi is 16 for up to 5 devices but speed is low.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Great location, large bright rooms (we had cathedral view which was worth the small extra you pay), comfortable bed. Staff helpful and obliging, . concierge great with restaurant bookings and assistance. We will definitely use again mainly due to the room quality AND SPACE.
On the downside
WIFI in rooms is not good, No tea coffee in room (Travelling from UK you tend to want that 4am cup) Shower over bath is a modern design but not the most effective (its not bad, but its not the high powered shower you hope for in USA) but despite this would still use again

Room Tip: we asked for high so as to be quieter and cathedral vie was worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blythewood, South Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

From the moment we walked in until the moment we left the entire staff was amazing! We truly felt at home and there was consistent concern that all our needs were met. Maurice from security is an amazing person. I was traveling with my teenage daughter and he saw her taking pictures in the hotel. Her asked her if she was a Gossip Girl fan and when she said yes he took her on a tour of a lifetime! She felt like royalty! A once in a life time experience provided by Maurice? I cannot thank him enough!

Room Tip: All the rooms are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed there for a couple of nights and it was a very nice stay. We were greeted by a guy who was a little rude. The room was clean, nice, comfy and spacious. We traveled with our baby and they were very accommodating and helpful by bringing a microwave to the room so I could sterilize her bottles.

We ordered dinner from Room service and it was very very expensive! For breakfast, you can go to the small caffe on the lobby, they have a great selection of pastries. I went to the spa for a massage and the installations were very nice. The massage itself was good.

The location is great and I would definitely stay there again.

Stayed March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed at the Palace for three nights and the service was exceptional. All of the workers had wonderful attitudes and were very helpful. On our last day, Maurice (with hotel security), gave us a once and a lifetime your of where the famous show, Gossip Girl, was filmed throughout the hotel. A priceless expericence. Maurice is one of the nicest men that we encountered during our trip! We will definitely be back at the Palace for our next stay!

Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nypalace, General Manager at The New York Palace Hotel, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Kenzie R,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience at The New York Palace. I am glad you experienced exceptional service and also got to walk through the exciting spots were Gossip Girl was filmed. Did you have a chance to enjoy some of Serena and Blair's signature cocktails at our Trouble's Trust lounge located in the main lobby? I am sure you would enjoy tremendously!

I hope to welcome you back soon.

Best,
John C. Tolbert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The New York Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New York Palace Hotel

Address: 455 Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in New York City
#67 Family Hotel in New York City
#73 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#89 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#89 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The New York Palace Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 909
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New York Palace stands at the intersection of contemporary luxury and classic elegance, boasting modern accommodations and landmark architecture in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. The hotel's collection of well-appointed guest rooms, sophisticated suites and luxurious Towers accommodations offers an array of amenities ideal for business travelers and leisure visitors alike. With some of Manhattan's most spacious hotel rooms and a range of expansive suites, The Palace offers unrivaled New York City accommodations. Each newly renovated suite comes with a stunning view of the Manhattan skyline, a large marble bathroom, and a wide range of upscale amenities, including Molton Brown products. The city's signature sights sit just steps from the hotel, including Rockefeller Center, St. Patrick's Cathedral, the upscale shopping of Fifth Avenue, and the theaters of Broadway. Business and leisure travelers enjoy elite amenities in every room or suite, including high-speed Wi-Fi (surcharge) and broadband Internet access, plush bathrobes and linens, a fully stocked refreshment center, as well as access to a modern fitness center and selection of relaxing spa treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The New York Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Palace Hotel
New York City Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel New York
Palace Hotel Nyc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The New York Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.