We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The New York Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The New York Palace Hotel to your Saves list
The New York Palace Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   455 Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10022 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Finding Neverland Package
Ranked #109 of 461 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Best location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The Palace is very beautiful. It is in a great location. I would definitely stay there again. that being said the one fault I found was that you do not get an automatic turn down service or you can't even call house keeping for it. We were informed since we didn't request it at check in (which no one ever mentioned to us) then we couldn't have it. So next time I will know. I thought that was a little strange though. I stay at many hotels and I have never come across this before.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    712
    309
    113
    49
    24
See reviews for
330
372
36
225
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Just returned from a two night stay at the NYP. The location was perfect. We walked to all of the major attractions. The hotel itself was stunning. Lots of character and charm. The staff was friendly and very helpful with providing directions and transportation. I will be staying at the Palace every time I visit NYC!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Good, but not perfect. Nice big room; clean; warm and reasonably quiet.

Good speed on the wifi, but honestly: charging extra for it?

But no reading lights, and a shower that covered the entire bathroom in water. And the reception staff would help enhance the stay by showing a modicum of interest in guests and their needs. An then I just hate it when the hotel tries to protect itself against guests' over consumption of toiletries by removing all full toiletries the day before departure so one has to ask for enough body wash to leave the hotel in a reasonably clear state.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Rebuilt formerly highclass hotel , now no restaurant in hotel and to sove extent very poor service expcally among female receptionists . No complementary free wifi availale. Forgot our wakeup Call on night of departure

Room Tip: Good view available to horrible extra Price
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Just returned from a 5 night stay at the NYP, the location can't be beat, we walked to the theaters, Central Park, restaurants! Subway station just a five minute walk.
Booked a Cathedral View room and although St Patrick's is under renovations the view was ok.
Large room in good condition, ok bathroom with one vanity and shower/tub combination with shower curtain, would have liked a shower only with glass enclosed doors but it was ok.
Everybody greeted you when you eere heading out or back to the hotel, the lobby area was busy all the time.
My complaint is Wifi connection, slow, it kept disconnecting all the time and for $16 a day + tax one expects more.
Would stay there if the rate was right next time.

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I visited New York for the first time last week and was beyond happy with my decision to stay at the New York Palace hotel. I was surprising my husband with the trip for his birthday and the hotel went beyond my expectations to make this day perfect for him. Prior to our trip, I reached out to the hotel to find out how I could arrange certain amenities for our arrival. They had their guest experience coordinator reach out to me, who was an absolute pleasure to work with, and she sent me over their amenity list. I selected a bottle of wine and requested they had a card of some sort to say Happy Birthday to go along with it. When we did arrive to our hotel, I found they went way beyond that. They had everything situated so pretty and a delicious mini cake for my husband. It has been years since I have received that level of personal attention at a hotel and I will always remember that. In addition to our amazing level of service, we had a beautiful king room on the 37th floor overlooking St. Patrick's Cathedral. The views were absolutely stunning. I am so happy with our decision to pick this hotel. The service, rooms, views and location cannot be beat. Will definitely be recommending all my friends and family to this hotel. Thanks for such a memorable weekend!!

On a side note - a great hidden gem nearby for breakfast or lunch (per the recommendation at concierge) is Burger Heaven. Best buffalo chicken sandwich ever!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsville, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I arrived in town early and my room was ready for me to check in. As usual everything was immaculate. It was large enough and had a nice space for entertaining. My mini-bar was well stocked. Room service provided delicious food in a timely manner. The staff was extremely helpful and pleasant. All in all a great visit.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The New York Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New York Palace Hotel

Address: 455 Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in New York City
#67 Family Hotel in New York City
#75 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#89 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#89 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The New York Palace Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 909
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New York Palace stands at the intersection of contemporary luxury and classic elegance, boasting modern accommodations and landmark architecture in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. The hotel's collection of well-appointed guest rooms, sophisticated suites and luxurious Towers accommodations offers an array of amenities ideal for business travelers and leisure visitors alike. With some of Manhattan's most spacious hotel rooms and a range of expansive suites, The Palace offers unrivaled New York City accommodations. Each newly renovated suite comes with a stunning view of the Manhattan skyline, a large marble bathroom, and a wide range of upscale amenities, including Molton Brown products. The city's signature sights sit just steps from the hotel, including Rockefeller Center, St. Patrick's Cathedral, the upscale shopping of Fifth Avenue, and the theaters of Broadway. Business and leisure travelers enjoy elite amenities in every room or suite, including high-speed Wi-Fi (surcharge) and broadband Internet access, plush bathrobes and linens, a fully stocked refreshment center, as well as access to a modern fitness center and selection of relaxing spa treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your The New York Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Palace Hotel
New York City Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel New York
Palace Hotel Nyc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The New York Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.