We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Unique Hospitality Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The New York Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The New York Palace Hotel to your Saves list
The New York Palace Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   455 Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10022 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% Off + Comp Internet
Ranked #118 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Athens, Greece
1 review
“A Unique Hospitality Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My family and I had booked three rooms during our brief stay in early February 2015. It was our first stay at the New York Palace Hotel, but most certainly not our last! Any expectations we may have had were met an much surpassed. From the moment of our arrival to the time of our departure all personnel exhibited the highest level of hospitality. Our rooms had impecable views!
The 2015 certificate of excellence TripAdvisor has awarded this hotel is well deserved!
I look forward to my next stay at The New York Palace Hotel.
Thank you for everything,
Lefteris Th. Veniamis

Room Tip: Make a reservation for a Premier Skyline View room with a King Bed - you will be grateful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    674
    289
    110
    48
    24
See reviews for
320
350
35
210
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I recently stayed at the The New York Palace Hotel and found the staff to be excellent in all forms of hospitality. They were enthusiastic, pleasant, helpful, cheerful and most of all accommodating. The rooms were clean, luxurious and elegant.The bed was very comfortable and the room was quiet.
Great hotel, great location, great price, very friendly staff.
Would highly recommend to anyone considering booking!

Mairini Veniami

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed at the New York Palace Hotel with my family in February 2015. All I can say is FANTASTIC! An absolutely marvellous hotel in such an ideal location in NY city.

Found so many positive things during my stay there; the warm atmosphere, the very spacious rooms, the ideal location not to mention the impecable service. Also loved the Molton Brown products offered.

I highly recommend it !

Theodore Veniamis

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I was having a 20 year reunion weekend with my girlfriends, and due to the international UN convention NYC it was impossible to book a room and our reservation was lost. Mrs. Sudha Sharma who I had the pleasure to meet was kind enough to resolve our problem for us and host us at the NYC Palace Hotel in order to make our trip memorable and our stay at the Palace unforgettable. Thank you for your hospitality.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nypalace, General Manager at The New York Palace Hotel, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Raha j,

Thank you for your outstanding review. I am incredibly glad to see that you had such a fabulous experience at The New York Palace. I will be sure to pass your kind remarks on to Sudha and the team and I hope to welcome you back in the near future.

All the best,
David Chase
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I have been a guest at the New York Palace many times, it is an outstanding team and their facilities are world class. But what makes every stay a very warm experience is being welcomed and treated like a friend by the whole team. Susan Jordan and Clara Law at the reception are two unusually professional and warm members that make me feel welcome and make my visit a pleasure. You will never be disappointed.

Room Tip: No need to choose, all rooms are certain to please you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I had the pleasure of staying at the NY Palace Hotel on a business trip and was delighted with my experience. Everything was simply amazing. The service was impeccable, as one would expect from a hotel of this caliber. The suite was absolutely stunning - luxurious, comfortable and spacious - complete with separate entry off the main lobby. The hotel's location is just perfect , convenient to Central Park, MoMA, Grand Central, Times Square, and Columbus Circle. Having stayed during a very cold February, The Palace offered a grand oasis of warmth and luxury. Top notch all the way.

Room Tip: Suites in the Towers are magnificent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nypalace, General Manager at The New York Palace Hotel, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Jeff N,

I am thrilled to hear that you found The New York Palace to be your "Grand oasis of warmth and luxury" in the middle of NYC. This is an incredible compliment and I am so glad you experienced the best we can offer and I truly hope to welcome you back for another fantastic stay.

All the best,
David Chase
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I stayed here for 4 nights and I like it - more than the Plaza, as less fussing around me, but similar quality.

Reception - nice lobby, seating and places to drink. Large reception with plenty of staff, that's important. Staff were friendly enough and polite. Plenty all around. The bar looked nice enough, but personally I would go 5ft left outside of the door to Maloney. Great bourbon/beer/cocktails.

Rooms - this is where the hotel is a 5 out of 5 - the rooms are great, the biggest I stay in, in NY. light, large and lovely. Well decorated. Large TV, usual NY channels (i.e. not as good as out of NY..). Robes, slippers and nice bathroom products. Lots of plug sockets, desk and a safe. A decent size one. The beds and pillows were nice, an essential part of any stay for me - I need to be able to sleep!! Great lighting, again you need this to read and it brightens up the rooms. Lots of wardrobe/closet space, and draws. A mini bar
I've nothing bad to say about the rooms, except the points below generally.

Common areas - the lifts/elevators were fine, decor good and clean.

Location - it's in a good spot for business users, but also for personal travel.

reasons it's not a 5 our of 5….
1. Gym is getting a little dated - most equipment needs updating. Also doesn't open until 5.30am (most are 24 hrs these days)
2. minimal free newspapers - a few NY Times.
3. Paying for wifi, I mean who pays for wit these days. Crazy.
4. No tea or coffee making facilities in the room or ice machines (though they bring it to you).

Overall I will be back, really liked the hotel.

Room Tip: high floor as the views are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The New York Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New York Palace Hotel

Address: 455 Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#80 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#85 Family Hotel in New York City
#88 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#98 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The New York Palace Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 899
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New York Palace stands at the intersection of contemporary luxury and classic elegance, boasting modern accommodations and landmark architecture in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. The hotel's collection of well-appointed guest rooms, sophisticated suites and luxurious Towers accommodations offers an array of amenities ideal for business travelers and leisure visitors alike. With some of Manhattan's most spacious hotel rooms and a range of expansive suites, The Palace offers unrivaled New York City accommodations. Each newly renovated suite comes with a stunning view of the Manhattan skyline, a large marble bathroom, and a wide range of upscale amenities, including Molton Brown products. The city's signature sights sit just steps from the hotel, including Rockefeller Center, St. Patrick's Cathedral, the upscale shopping of Fifth Avenue, and the theaters of Broadway. Business and leisure travelers enjoy elite amenities in every room or suite, including high-speed Wi-Fi (surcharge) and broadband Internet access, plush bathrobes and linens, a fully stocked refreshment center, as well as access to a modern fitness center and selection of relaxing spa treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your The New York Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Palace Hotel
New York City Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel New York
Palace Hotel Nyc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The New York Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.