We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice weekend with kids” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The New York Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The New York Palace Hotel to your Saves list
The New York Palace Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   455 Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10022 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #125 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice weekend with kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Very nice hotel. Had a king room for the adults with adjoining double for my daughter's friends, who were along for an American Girl weekend. Rooms were extremely clean and the king especially was incredibly spacious by NYC standards. Beds super comfy. Our view from the 34th floor was amazing. Location is great, staff were very, very pleasant.

Only caveat was that, despite having ordered the American Girl package, which includes amenities for the girls and their dolls, none were in the room when we checked in. Upon inquiry, a very lovely staff member brought two amenities to the room, however I had ordered three and it took close to 90m to get all three. Also, a birthday cake was supposed to be present in the room for my daughter when we arrived, this also was missing. The biggest hassle was not that the amenities were missing, but that we had to change our plans for the evening based on the long wait for the items.

Also, it's not the worst thing ever, but about three different people came to the room to bring the missing items piecemeal, which meant tipping them all separately for things that should've been there in the first place. However, the hotel did the right thing by not charging me for the AG package, taking it off the bill without any question when I described the problem. This, rather than the mix-up, is what I will remember about the service. I would absolutely stay again and recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,086 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    629
    279
    107
    47
    24
See reviews for
302
335
32
197
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
State of Sao Paulo
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I had been in NyPalace from January 3 to 10, 2015. On January 4, my two shopping bags, a new and expensive purse and a poster from the MET were stolen from my room. So bad as this trauma was the manager's attitudes. He kept saying that probably my bags were lost. Lost inside my room??? Obviously he doubt of my word. My daughter and I were so distressed that this awful experience ruined our vacations. There was not a single word of empathy or concern. This hotel has 3 entrances, just one with a doorman. Anybody can get to the apartments and there are not cameras in the corridor. Up to now, more than 20 days, there are still investigating. The security says that they have to interview the employees. I am sure that this is not my problem!
We came back home without our shops or money.
Denise G. Ramos

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed in the New York Palace over the New Year. The room with a view over the Cathedral, was excellent. The concierge staff were very helpful and went out of their way to help.
The only downside was the ridiculously overpriced bar on the ground floor

Room Tip: Ask for a Cathedral view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltcoats, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Just spent 5 nights in the New York Palace and could not fault it we stayed in a cathedral view room and as it said we had an amazing room with great views of the cathedral and the Rockefeller tower looking west towards the Hudson River. Check in was excellent even given the opportunity to upgrade to a suite on the 36th floor which after seeing the room we stuck with our original room as the suite was far too big for two people. Reception staff wrre more than helpful including the concierge, the doorman and bell hop. Overall a great experience and would definitely stay there again, the central location was excellent close to Times Square and a short walk to Central Park. Cannot say anything bad room was spotless and bed extremely comfortable. From the minute we arrived we knew we were in a top hotel

Room Tip: Book a cathedral view room as the view is amazing !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Overall beautiful property. My im-laws' rooms were beautiful but unfortunately ours smelled like vomit in the bathroom. the housekeeping staff tried to clean it a couple of times but the smell never went away. I would have thought they would have changed our room but they never even offered it. Not sure why I didn't demand it! I guess because we were mostly out of the room. If I had the opportunity I would stay there again, with the assumption that my experience was an anomaly!

Room Tip: Make sure it doesn't smell like puke
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nypalace, General Manager at The New York Palace Hotel, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear hockeysoccermom,

I am saddened to hear that we failed to exceed your expectations. I completely agree with you that this experience was an anomaly as this most certainly does not happen at The New York Palace. Nevertheless we would have been more than happy to move you to a different room and turn this experience around.

Next time you decide to visit us please feel free to contact the Guest Experience Department directly at guestexperience@nypalace.com and the team will be thrilled to make your stay a most memorable one for all the right reasons.

All the best,
David Chase
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I stayed at the New York Palace after a cruise that docked in New Jersey in early January. The hotel itself is extremely beautiful and the rooms are spacious. The room wasn't so clean when we entered needing a good vacuum. We arrived at 10am already paying for the previous night. Checking in Bitman upgraded our room which was kind of him and we paid for another night but were to leave at 5pm. (check in is 3pm, check out is 12pm) had to pay for 2 nights to have somewhere to stay until flight back to London. Unfortunately we had some issues with our flight as it was delayed and then cancelled. Upon leaving we knew the flight was delayed and we called the front desk asking them if we could continue to stay in the room as we had paid for the night and check out the next morning. The person on the phone said yes it's yours for the night even though you had planned to leave at 5pm. We left for the airport at 7:30pm to drop our luggage. Coming back we rang the hotel confirming our room was still there and they had said we would have to pay for another night that they could not find the reservation. Eventually after some arguing a manager said he would give us a new room. We decided that this hotel and their service was not worth it at all. Also around 3pm while I was getting changed a few women waked into the room with keys stating it was their own room that the front desk had given them. To my disappointment and shock I rang the front desk to ask what was this about. They had no apology or anything and brushed it off saying we did not book this room. The money had already been taken from the card used so this room was definitely hours. I would say I would never stay here again but I made two bookings for this hotel before for another separate stay so I will be going back let's just hope better service from management.

Unfortunately I've tried to make a formal complaint regarding my experience at the New York Palace with no luck to finding a complaints email address where I can reach a resolution of this matter.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nypalace, General Manager at The New York Palace Hotel, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Vanessa W,

I am incredibly sorry to hear about the situation you went through. I am glad to hear that Bitan was able to provide you with wonderful service and a room upgrade. I can assure you that the issues you have described do not reflect the world class service that we so proudly provide at The New York Palace as we are constantly working to offer the most memorable experiences to our beloved guests.

I hope that after all you were able to make it home safely.

All the best,
David Chase
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, New Jersey, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We found The Palace online. We were coming into the city to celebrate an anniversary and needed 3 rooms. I was pleasantly surprised at the reasonable rate and booked the rooms immediately. We upgraded each room to include a view of St. Pat's...it was a wonderful experience from the moment we pulled up. All of the rooms were ready (early) which was a nice surprise. The rooms were spacious, especially for NY, and were clean with lovely large towels and a comfortable bed. The view was spectacular both during the day and night. The location is perfect. Right next door, literally 10 steps, is a great steakhouse (Maloneys?) where we had drinks and snacks and waited for the rest of our party to arrive.
All contact with hotel staff was positive. After dinner on the UES, we came back to the hotel and had drinks at the hotel lounge; good service, good drinks and a fun place to people-watch at that hour:) When checking out, the maid was pleasant and smiling and told us not to rush. If the price were right, I'd definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nypalace, General Manager at The New York Palace Hotel, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Diane H,

Thank you for sharing your fantastic experience at The New York Palace. I am thrilled that we exceeded your expectations and that you had a memorable anniversary celebration with family and friends.

I hope to welcome you back for another great stay.

All the best,
David Chase
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The New York Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New York Palace Hotel

Address: 455 Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10022
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#86 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#89 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#90 Family Hotel in New York City
#111 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The New York Palace Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 899
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New York Palace stands at the intersection of contemporary luxury and classic elegance, boasting modern accommodations and landmark architecture in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. The hotel's collection of well-appointed guest rooms, sophisticated suites and luxurious Towers accommodations offers an array of amenities ideal for business travelers and leisure visitors alike. With some of Manhattan's most spacious hotel rooms and a range of expansive suites, The Palace offers unrivaled New York City accommodations. Each newly renovated suite comes with a stunning view of the Manhattan skyline, a large marble bathroom, and a wide range of upscale amenities, including Molton Brown products. The city's signature sights sit just steps from the hotel, including Rockefeller Center, St. Patrick's Cathedral, the upscale shopping of Fifth Avenue, and the theaters of Broadway. Business and leisure travelers enjoy elite amenities in every room or suite, including high-speed Wi-Fi (surcharge) and broadband Internet access, plush bathrobes and linens, a fully stocked refreshment center, as well as access to a modern fitness center and selection of relaxing spa treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Tingo, Despegar.com, Otel, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The New York Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Palace Hotel
New York City Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel New York
Palace Hotel Nyc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The New York Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.