We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The New York Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The New York Palace Hotel to your Saves list
The New York Palace Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   455 Madison Ave, New York City, NY 10022 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Winter Weekends
Ranked #115 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

I usually stay at the Ny Palace for my NYC business trips. Good value, and good location. It gets crowded and is a big hotel. But its centrally located and offers big rooms. Good if you need a place to crash at the end of the day.

Stayed November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,007 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    586
    263
    96
    41
    21
See reviews for
268
308
30
189
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

i normally like this hotel very much...however on a recent stay dec 16-19 i went to take a shower after working out to prepare for a meeting and there was absolutely no water pressure. not a drop of water in the bathroom faucet or shower. it finally resumed spewing brown goo sometime later but i had to attend a meeting sweaty and with hair on end. management told me the city had shut off the water for some reason but i dont know about that. the water pressure never really resumed and remained just a trickle through the next day when i checked out :( :( :(. never had this experience in any hotel never mind one of this level. im afraid to go back. management completely unapologetic. SHOCKING.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This is my family's second time staying at the Palace and our experience was much better than the last time we were here a few years ago. It has always been a beautiful hotel, especially around Christmas time, but it seems the rooms have been updated and the staff seem friendlier. Honestly, it was a 180 degree difference. The location is perfect, the cost is reasonable for New York, and it seems to the hotel has just moved back up that last step to being a great hotel again.

Room Tip: I would suggest rooms on the higher floors especially if you are checking out on weekends since catc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We have stayed at this hotel 3 times and each time has been awesome. It is in a great location close to Times Square, theatre district, Rockefeller center and walking distance to Central Park. The hotel is luxurious and well maintained. Rooms have been recently renovated and are modern and decent in size and ours was very quiet. Staff friendly and knowledgeable. Great family hotel. Would definitely recommend and will stay here again when in town. Thanks palace for helping to make our Christmas holiday vacation so special!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darien, Ct
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

During a recent stay at the Palace for my brother’s wedding, my mom’s room was burglarized WHILE SHE SLEPT. She woke up to find her door unlatched, her purse in the bathroom and her money, credit card and watch gone. Instead of spending the morning preparing for the wedding, she spent it with hotel security and finally the NYPD. The hotel’s response was shockingly minimal and they kept insisting it had never happened before. They offered little assistance (when she asked for coffee they told her it was reasonably priced downstairs) and finally suggested she just call NYPD, which she did. The NYPD were wonderful and have stayed in contact with her to give her updates and advise her on what to do. The Palace Hotel has done nothing and never followed up with my mom in anyway (except to send the form email of “How was your stay?” Really!). Unbelievably poor service. Too many other wonderful choices in NYC. Skip the “Palace.”

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The staff could not have been more helpful and friendly. The entire hotel really did feel like a palace - a very exciting place to stay on a very exciting trip.
The concierge were always on hand to answer any questions and insightfully recommend the best restaurants and diners for whatever your budget may be.
The hotel was spotless and as an avid Gossip Girl fan, it was amazing being able to stay in the place where many of the scenes were filmed!
The location was brilliant, a short walk from a lot of key places.
We booked our room via last minute.com secret rooms and that meant the cost was a lot lower too. So try seeing if you can find rooms on there too!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Having used the Palace for 15 Years, I was appalled to discover last week upon arrival that the restaurant is closed for good. How can you have a five star hotel with no restaurant ? It is ridiculous. The least they could have done was told me before I booked so that I did not arrange breakfast meeting with clients in the now non-existant restaurant. Had to go next door ! I will never stay there again. The poor staff, who have always been marvellous are clearly all distraught at this idicoy.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The New York Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New York Palace Hotel

Address: 455 Madison Ave, New York City, NY 10022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#73 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#74 Family Hotel in New York City
#79 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#107 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The New York Palace Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 899
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New York Palace stands at the intersection of contemporary luxury and classic elegance, boasting modern accommodations and landmark architecture in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. The hotel's collection of well-appointed guest rooms, sophisticated suites and luxurious Towers accommodations offers an array of amenities ideal for business travelers and leisure visitors alike. With some of Manhattan's most spacious hotel rooms and a range of expansive suites, The Palace offers unrivaled New York City accommodations. Each newly renovated suite comes with a stunning view of the Manhattan skyline, a large marble bathroom, and a wide range of upscale amenities, including Molton Brown products. The city's signature sights sit just steps from the hotel, including Rockefeller Center, St. Patrick's Cathedral, the upscale shopping of Fifth Avenue, and the theaters of Broadway. Business and leisure travelers enjoy elite amenities in every room or suite, including high-speed Wi-Fi (surcharge) and broadband Internet access, plush bathrobes and linens, a fully stocked refreshment center, as well as access to a modern fitness center and selection of relaxing spa treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Tingo, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The New York Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Palace Hotel
New York City Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel New York
Palace Hotel Nyc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The New York Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.