We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful property” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The New York Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The New York Palace Hotel to your Saves list
The New York Palace Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   455 Madison Ave, New York City, NY 10022 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Winter Weekends
Ranked #111 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Beautiful property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Wonderful location, great property, a true NYC experience. Everyone is friendly, and such wonderful places to dine and shop nearby. Can get great deals in the fall for this hotel. Sadly I missed one and ended up at the W hotel, and was so sorely disappointed. If you can stay here then don't hesistate!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

992 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    578
    261
    95
    38
    20
See reviews for
261
306
30
187
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Ideal location if you are going for business and you're looking for a nice place to stay in midtown.
Room was nice and spacious, comfortable bed which is more than appreciated after a long journey. For some reason the restaurant serving breakfast was closed, so I had to go to the restaurant next door to have breakfast (Maloney Porcelli which is renowned in NYC in particular for its dinner menu including the infamous angry lobster). Given the standard of the hotel, I was a bit disappointed to having to walk outside the hotel to get my breakfast.
Other than that ok stay, check-in was efficient, while the check-out was a bit slow but staff apologised and offered to discount the internet from the bill.
That being said in 2014 I still wonder how hotels in particular high standing hotel still charge for internet.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nissequogue, NY
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stay in NYC often (we live just outside the city) and have stayed at most of the 5-star hotels there. We were going this time to a show at Madison Square Garden and to see the tree at Rockefeller Center so - we wanted something fairly close to each.

I often book thru Amex Platinum Travel to get the amenities included in the program. The rep. suggested the Palace Hotel (which I had never been to). Turns out the location couldn't have been better (Madison & 50th). The courtyard (and our room) looked directly across the street to St. Patricks Cathedral and was only 1-2 blocks to the tree. MSG was 15 blocks away but - you can get a cab*.

*Cab - the only negative to this hotel was that the side street it is on (50th Street) is very congested and the line for the valet to get a taxi was insane. We decide to walk a block or 2 to try and get one (in the rain) and ended up walking all the way to MSG. NYC was crazy that weekend due to the tree, various demonstrations (as seen on TV) and a huge police presence.

The room was adequately appointed for a 5-star and room service efficient. The staff at reception was welcoming and efficient as well.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

When you walk in, for the first or 50th time, you feel welcomed. From the doormen to the front desk folks you can feel it instantly. Not sure how the front desk folks keep composure like they do but they do. They never have a false note, no false ring but they maintain a smile in the face of the worst complainer while not being disingenuous. (no, not me but there is one in every crowd) The rooms are comfortable, have never had a bad view. The beds and linens are luxurious but not over the top in any way.

If you want to be near about anything iconic NYC this is the place to stay. The concierge (s) always know the right place to suggest. Doormen are always ready to provide an umbrella on rainy days and manage to get a taxi for you when even the Pope might not be able to do so.

Tired of shopping or exploring? The bar is lovely, bartender accommodating. Want to gather with friends and not stress? The lobby is great! Want to watch people but not venture out? Just sit in the front desk lobby area and have a blast, you will see all the comings and goings.

We have returned many times, year after year. Is it the least expensive place you could choose? Not on your life. Is it a terrific place to stay for a special occasion? You betcha. Of course to me any time I am in Manhattan, it IS a special time no matter the reason for the visit.

It is staying at the best without the snooty. It is like going to visit your incredibly wealthy relative who happens to only hire the best best best staff. Warm and welcoming without being cloying.

Christmas is a grand time to be there! But then again, so is the Spring, the Summer and the Fall.

Was just there...ready to be back!

Room Tip: Have never had a room there without a view. The elevators are not noisy at all but folks coming out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroeville, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Wife and I stayed at The New York Palace for three nights in December. We found the hotel to be very nice and well located for shopping and shows. Check in was very good and efficient. Received a very comfortable room on the 39th floor looking out over St. Patrick's. Room and bathroom seemed to have been recently renovated and was quite cozy. Room was also very quiet. Two negatives, outrageous fee for use of wireless internet, seemed most unreasonable considering the room rates charged.......and the lack of a restaurant on property to have a real breakfast.....only option was pastry shop. Room was serviced nicely each day and checkout was easy and efficient. Would absolutely consider returning to The New York Palace for our next New York visit.

Room Tip: Higher is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Ma
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The only real problem we had while staying at The Palace was during check in. The reception staff member I dealt with was not warm or eager to make our stay welcoming. It was very crowded and there was quite a wait to checkin as well, maybe too stressful for the staff? Other than that, the other members of the lobby staff and especially housekeeping were exceptionally pleasant.

We stayed in a Cathedral Corner room and it was very large and had a wonderful view (on a high floor). Unfortunately, the Cathedral is under construction and is covered in scaffolding, but the view of the GE building is still very nice, especially at night. The room, while nice, is showing its age. All of the brass electrical plates are either dented or scratched. The television integration with hotel information, guide, and channels is very nice. The bathroom was clean and adequate. The bed was very comfortable.

The hotel is conveniently located to the tourist attractions. There is no actual restaurant in the hotel, but there are plenty nearby. The hotel is decorated beautifully for the holidays. Valet parking was a bit confusing as it is a small entrance next to the hotel and very expensive.

Overall, we thought the hotel was reasonably priced for the location, size, and visual appeal and would stay again.

Room Tip: The corner cathedral room is a nice size and far away from the elevator. Try to get a high floor fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metairie, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed in the Palace towers. The room was large and very comfortable. We had a great view of St Patricks also. But...there is nothing extra! For the tower rooms there are no perks. The staff was friendly but again nothing extra. Location is good for shopping and radio city.

Stayed December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The New York Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New York Palace Hotel

Address: 455 Madison Ave, New York City, NY 10022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#73 Family Hotel in New York City
#77 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#97 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The New York Palace Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 899
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New York Palace stands at the intersection of contemporary luxury and classic elegance, boasting modern accommodations and landmark architecture in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. The hotel's collection of well-appointed guest rooms, sophisticated suites and luxurious Towers accommodations offers an array of amenities ideal for business travelers and leisure visitors alike. With some of Manhattan's most spacious hotel rooms and a range of expansive suites, The Palace offers unrivaled New York City accommodations. Each newly renovated suite comes with a stunning view of the Manhattan skyline, a large marble bathroom, and a wide range of upscale amenities, including Molton Brown products. The city's signature sights sit just steps from the hotel, including Rockefeller Center, St. Patrick's Cathedral, the upscale shopping of Fifth Avenue, and the theaters of Broadway. Business and leisure travelers enjoy elite amenities in every room or suite, including high-speed Wi-Fi (surcharge) and broadband Internet access, plush bathrobes and linens, a fully stocked refreshment center, as well as access to a modern fitness center and selection of relaxing spa treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The New York Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Palace Hotel
New York City Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel New York
Palace Hotel Nyc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The New York Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.