We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The New York Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The New York Palace Hotel to your Saves list
The New York Palace Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   455 Madison Ave, New York City, NY 10022 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$995 (USD)
Ranked #102 of 455 Hotels in New York City
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“loved this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Very smart and modern hotel. 2min walk from 5th av, 10min from time sq and central park. we arrived early at about 11 and were able to use their facilties until we had a phone call shortly after to say our room was ready. great veiws of saint Patricks from room 2621. tv in room had all the channels you could want.
would not hesitate to book again.

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    509
    228
    78
    33
    17
See reviews for
234
264
25
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The entrance alone will knock you off your feet. If you can afford, stay in mansion section of the hotel. They do have a tower . Rooms are nice, but the main hotel/mansion is spectacular. Location is great to 30 Rock and 5th Ave shopping. Classy high-end audience typically stay and visit this hotel. Worth a drink at the bar if not eve staying here.

Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Overall this is a great hotel - we stayed for 2 nights and enjoyed its central location - walking distance to a lot of the great spots in Manhattan - lobby is very impressive and it is obvious a desirable hotel as a visiting ML baseball team stayed there while we were there. My only disappointment was our view was not very nice - although I will say we did get a very good rate when we booked.

Room Tip: ask for an upper floor that may have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I spent 5 nights here to celebrate my birthday in New York.

On arrival check in was slow and reception staff did not appear to have any sense of urgency with a long queue formed behind us.

However, once checked in, the room was lovely, clean and large enough for two. Location was excellent and I would stay again when I return to NY.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

We went to NY for my birthday & stayed at this beautiful hotel. The location is superb & it is everything you would expect of a 5 star hotel. Our room had everything & was so well furnished. We ate twice at the restaurant belonging to the Hotel next door. Steaks are awesome. Can't rate the hotel any higher

Stayed October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed for five days at the beginning of October 2014. The hotel was under very high security because of VIP guests. This required limited entrance points to the hotel and airport type security and bag checks. Our taxi was initially not permitted to pull up outside so that we could book in.
Our room was not ready but we were telephoned about an hour later and given a 9th floor Cathedral view room next door to a function room which was continually noisy,
Our room had no bathrobes and the bathroom scales did not work as the batteries were badly deteriorated. While this normally would not concern me, I think it demonstrated the standard of room service and attention to detail at an expesive hotel.
Our package supposedly included free internet and daily continental breakfast for two.
The breakfast was actually an $80 allowance for two people for 5 days.Our first breakfast of two omlettes, two juices, fruit bowl and one tea was $109, so we over spent our allowance on one breakfast.
The internet was included on our account on check out and we had been charged for a four day package plus a daily charge for a second device.
These charges were removed following my complaint at check out.
The hotel is very conveniently situated and we were allowed a late checkout, complicated by having our door key inoperative after 12 noon. On leaving our room the staff were waiting to convert it to a function room for meetings.
My advice is to check the package when you register on arrival and certainly check the account on check out.
Our room was seldom serviced before 3pm and there was no turn down service.
We were disappointed with the hotel service and it did not compare with our stay at the Ritz Carlton in Chicago a week or so before.
I found the reception staff very impersonal but the concierge desk was efficient.
Because of its position I would recommend for convenience.

Room Tip: avoid room on 9th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My delayed review does not reflect my enthusiasm for the New York Palace Hotel. After living in New York City for a number of years, this was my first time staying in hotel in the city. The New York Palace Hotel will continue to be my first port of call from now on.
Our room in the Towers offered stunning views as well as luxurious appointments and lots of space, something I know which lacks in other NYC hotels. And nothing beats a glass of champagne offered to you as you walk into the lobby after a hard days shopping!
The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Location is great; close to museums and shopping. You don't feel you are stuck in a particular part of town. Easy to navigate around the city from this central location. Overall, we enjoyed our stay immensely. The hotel exceeded all of our expectations. We look forward to returning to the New York Palace Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The New York Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New York Palace Hotel

Address: 455 Madison Ave, New York City, NY 10022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#71 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#73 Family Hotel in New York City
#74 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#82 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The New York Palace Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 899
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New York Palace stands at the intersection of contemporary luxury and classic elegance, boasting modern accommodations and landmark architecture in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. The hotel’s collection of well-appointed guest rooms, sophisticated suites and luxurious Towers accommodations offers an array of amenities ideal for business travelers and leisure visitors alike. With some of Manhattan’s most spacious hotel rooms and a range of expansive suites, The Palace offers unrivaled New York City accommodations. Each newly renovated Towers suite comes with a stunning view of the Manhattan skyline, a large marble bathroom, and a wide range of upscale amenities, including Molton Brown products. The city’s signature sights sit just steps from the hotel, including Rockefeller Center, St. Patrick’s Cathedral, the upscale shopping of Fifth Avenue, and the theaters of Broadway. Business and leisure travelers enjoy elite amenities in every room or suite, including high-speed Wi-Fi and broadband Internet access, plush bathrobes and linens, a fully stocked refreshment center, as well as access to a modern fitness center and selection of relaxing spa treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Loews Hotels, Hotels.com, Jetsetter, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your The New York Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Palace Hotel
New York City Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel New York
Palace Hotel Nyc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The New York Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.