We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The New York Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The New York Palace Hotel to your Saves list
The New York Palace Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   455 Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10022 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Finding Neverland Package
Ranked #107 of 461 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Leeds
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great hotel and great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

This hotel worked perfectly for us. We are a family of 5 with 3 teenagers and the 2 interconnecting rooms that were booked were just perfect. We had so much space with a king bed in our room and 2 queen beds in the kids room, plus seating area and amazing views.
The hotel location is just fantastic - 1 min from 5th Ave, 5-10 mins walk from Times Square, 5 -10 mins from Central Park - it was just great!
Lovely staff, really helpful. Only experienced the cocktail bar in the hotel but it was great.
Also and so importantly when staying in Manhattan - we didn't hear a single thing from our room - it was so quiet!
We would stay nowhere else when we return to NYC.
Thanks to everyone for a fantastic welcome and an amazing New York stay!

Room Tip: Rooms higher are quieter and with amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    711
    306
    113
    49
    24
See reviews for
330
371
36
225
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

Central, high quality rooms, good food, excellent service, sound proof rooms, executive lounge very good and worth the extra. Price a little on the high side but OK if you have only a few nights to spend as we had for a short break and special treat.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Just returned from a weekend in NYC and stayed at The NYC Palace. My wife and 2 daughters joined me at this fabulous hotel and everything was fabulous. Wonderful room overlooking St Patrick's Cathedral and it was breathtaking. Room was Spic & Span clean and the Housekeeping staff was so nice. Had a great chance interaction with Carin Armstrong the GM in waiting and she is on her game. She was all over the property making sure all the guest's were happy and her energy was incredible. Great location with so much to do right outside your door. Family can't wait to get back to this wondful hotel.

Room Tip: Madison Ave or Bust! Can't beat the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yonkers, ny
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

We stayed here for our Anniversary one night and I have nothing but good things to say about my experience here at this hotel. Everything is done with class and exemplary service, my wife loved the décor, and atmosphere. I was helped greatly by Ricky from customer experience, him and his team were amazing. They were able to accommodate my request to leave some items day before check in, they even setup flowers and gave us a free room upgrade upon arrival. The view from our Cathedral corner room was gorgeous, at the 32nd floor, we can see everything. I would gladly recommend this hotel to anyone that wants to stay in NY and wants to have a memorable time.

Maybe we stay at the towers next time and make use of the complimentary limo by Maybach to wherever we would like to go in the city. 5 stars!

Room Tip: ask for a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

I would say this is a 4 star not a 5 star hotel. Check in is slow as there is always a line up. Great big lobby. Lots of doormen always ready to open the door and get you a cab. Room was large for NYC but had cleaning product smell. No coffee or water in room. Wifi is 15.99 and the connection absolutes sucks. No free wifi in lobby. Location is excellent. Close to shopping and Central Park.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

I was blown away by the friendliness, professionalism, and KINDNESS of the staff. This hotel is perfection. The location is wonderful; you can walk to anywhere you need to be or easily access Grand Central Station. The Palace has the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. The rooms , lobby, and exterior of the hotel were very clean. I highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Higher floors have excellent views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

This hotel is by far the best hotel i have stayed in in NYC. The staff are amazing and really do make you feel special. We stayed in the Tower over looking the church and it was great. I have stayed there 4 times now and would never choose anywhere else. The location is great too, right in the middle of town!!!

Room Tip: Choose a suite in the Tower!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The New York Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New York Palace Hotel

Address: 455 Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in New York City
#68 Family Hotel in New York City
#73 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#84 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#88 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The New York Palace Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 909
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New York Palace stands at the intersection of contemporary luxury and classic elegance, boasting modern accommodations and landmark architecture in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. The hotel's collection of well-appointed guest rooms, sophisticated suites and luxurious Towers accommodations offers an array of amenities ideal for business travelers and leisure visitors alike. With some of Manhattan's most spacious hotel rooms and a range of expansive suites, The Palace offers unrivaled New York City accommodations. Each newly renovated suite comes with a stunning view of the Manhattan skyline, a large marble bathroom, and a wide range of upscale amenities, including Molton Brown products. The city's signature sights sit just steps from the hotel, including Rockefeller Center, St. Patrick's Cathedral, the upscale shopping of Fifth Avenue, and the theaters of Broadway. Business and leisure travelers enjoy elite amenities in every room or suite, including high-speed Wi-Fi (surcharge) and broadband Internet access, plush bathrobes and linens, a fully stocked refreshment center, as well as access to a modern fitness center and selection of relaxing spa treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your The New York Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Palace Hotel
New York City Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel New York
Palace Hotel Nyc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The New York Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.