We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The New York Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The New York Palace Hotel to your Saves list
The New York Palace Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   455 Madison Ave, New York City, NY 10022 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Winter Weekends
Ranked #113 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

Central, high quality rooms, good food, excellent service, sound proof rooms, executive lounge very good and worth the extra. Price a little on the high side but OK if you have only a few nights to spend as we had for a short break and special treat.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,006 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    586
    262
    96
    41
    21
See reviews for
268
308
30
189
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Just returned from a weekend in NYC and stayed at The NYC Palace. My wife and 2 daughters joined me at this fabulous hotel and everything was fabulous. Wonderful room overlooking St Patrick's Cathedral and it was breathtaking. Room was Spic & Span clean and the Housekeeping staff was so nice. Had a great chance interaction with Carin Armstrong the GM in waiting and she is on her game. She was all over the property making sure all the guest's were happy and her energy was incredible. Great location with so much to do right outside your door. Family can't wait to get back to this wondful hotel.

Room Tip: Madison Ave or Bust! Can't beat the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yonkers, ny
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

We stayed here for our Anniversary one night and I have nothing but good things to say about my experience here at this hotel. Everything is done with class and exemplary service, my wife loved the décor, and atmosphere. I was helped greatly by Ricky from customer experience, him and his team were amazing. They were able to accommodate my request to leave some items day before check in, they even setup flowers and gave us a free room upgrade upon arrival. The view from our Cathedral corner room was gorgeous, at the 32nd floor, we can see everything. I would gladly recommend this hotel to anyone that wants to stay in NY and wants to have a memorable time.

Maybe we stay at the towers next time and make use of the complimentary limo by Maybach to wherever we would like to go in the city. 5 stars!

Room Tip: ask for a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

I would say this is a 4 star not a 5 star hotel. Check in is slow as there is always a line up. Great big lobby. Lots of doormen always ready to open the door and get you a cab. Room was large for NYC but had cleaning product smell. No coffee or water in room. Wifi is 15.99 and the connection absolutes sucks. No free wifi in lobby. Location is excellent. Close to shopping and Central Park.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

I was blown away by the friendliness, professionalism, and KINDNESS of the staff. This hotel is perfection. The location is wonderful; you can walk to anywhere you need to be or easily access Grand Central Station. The Palace has the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. The rooms , lobby, and exterior of the hotel were very clean. I highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Higher floors have excellent views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

This hotel is by far the best hotel i have stayed in in NYC. The staff are amazing and really do make you feel special. We stayed in the Tower over looking the church and it was great. I have stayed there 4 times now and would never choose anywhere else. The location is great too, right in the middle of town!!!

Room Tip: Choose a suite in the Tower!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

I have just stayed for 10 amazing nights at this wonderful Hotel with my wife and 2 children both under 10.
We stayed in a double/double room on the 35th floor with the most sublime views of the city.
The service and attention to detail that we received from the hotel staff was incredible , everyone was just so helpful they made myself and my family feel extra special. This extended right the way through from Victor the Doorman who just went above and beyond to help us , Angel who helped us up to our room and was always on hand and Bill the concierge with his lovely manner and Encyclopaedic knowledge of New York there were so many great staff I am sorry I cant name them all but even the way our room was made up was above and beyond what I have experienced in other 5 star hotels these guys go the extra mile.
The food at the hotel was amazing especially Breakfast which was the best Eggs Benedict I have ever had and we were really touched by being invited to meet the head chef and his team which my family loved.
The location could not have been better slap bang in the middle of everything.
In short we have no complaints or criticism about the New York Palace apart from the paid for Wifi. Highly recommended and great for families cant wait to return.
10/10 A+ Gold Star

Room Tip: Having only stayed here the once I would say rooms on the 35th are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The New York Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New York Palace Hotel

Address: 455 Madison Ave, New York City, NY 10022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#70 Family Hotel in New York City
#72 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#77 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#101 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The New York Palace Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 899
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New York Palace stands at the intersection of contemporary luxury and classic elegance, boasting modern accommodations and landmark architecture in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. The hotel's collection of well-appointed guest rooms, sophisticated suites and luxurious Towers accommodations offers an array of amenities ideal for business travelers and leisure visitors alike. With some of Manhattan's most spacious hotel rooms and a range of expansive suites, The Palace offers unrivaled New York City accommodations. Each newly renovated suite comes with a stunning view of the Manhattan skyline, a large marble bathroom, and a wide range of upscale amenities, including Molton Brown products. The city's signature sights sit just steps from the hotel, including Rockefeller Center, St. Patrick's Cathedral, the upscale shopping of Fifth Avenue, and the theaters of Broadway. Business and leisure travelers enjoy elite amenities in every room or suite, including high-speed Wi-Fi (surcharge) and broadband Internet access, plush bathrobes and linens, a fully stocked refreshment center, as well as access to a modern fitness center and selection of relaxing spa treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Tingo, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The New York Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Palace Hotel
New York City Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel New York
Palace Hotel Nyc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The New York Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.