We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location; hit-or-miss experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The New York Palace Hotel

Save Saved
You added The New York Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The New York Palace Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   455 Madison Ave, New York City, NY 10022 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Elevate Your Experience
Ranked #98 of 452 hotels in New York City
Portland, Oregon, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location; hit-or-miss experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Imagine yourself staying in one of the most expensive hotels in New York City and spending the night sleeping on the floor. Well, that's what I did.

My wife, son and I spent one night in a spacious room on the 21st floor with an unobstructed view of a skyscraper under construction. We didn't care about the view. Our room was clean and spacious. However, it was anything but a "wow" experience.

First, I noticed that the time on the clock radio was off by several hours. There weren't instructions on the clock that described how to change the time. The concierge on duty told me that someone would "take care of it." That didn't happen, later, we discovered that the television remote was partially inoperable. Oh, and then there is the exorbitant daily charge for WIFI access. Seriously, that is the kind of cheesy gambit I'd expect at a one-star hotel. These were cumulatively minor inconveniences. It was the quality of our mattress that degraded the experience. It was anything but firm; the floor was frankly more comfortable.

The hotel's location can't be beat; it is in close proximity to Rockefeller Center, Central Park, MOMA, and the epicenter of New York's most extravagant shopping district. We had fantastic dinner at Chola on East 58th and a quintessential NYC breakfast at Ess-a-Bagel. (Following the suggestion of a friendly staff member at Ess-a-Bagel, my wife and I dined al fresco at the outstanding Greenacre pocket park on East 51st Street.)

We found the hotel staff, other than the underwhelming crew manning the registration desk, to be worthy of The Palace Hotel's heritage.

Room Tip: Ask for room with new mattresses and view of St. Patrick's Cathedral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

721 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    429
    184
    65
    29
    14
See reviews for
196
216
18
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
home
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

this was a nice surprise. the rooms were large for NYC standards and the room was relatively quite for NYC. Everything was clean and well appointed. Bell staff quick and helpful with all questions. Location was good for a couple of days with the spouse and no kids. Only complaint was the WiFi was spotty and $15.99 a day. It really should be free with a hotel of this caliber. the front desk was kind enough to remove the charge when we voiced our problems though. all in all a nice quite big hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My girlfriends and I travelled to NY last year and stayed at the New York Palace. We were pleasantly surprised as we normally stay at smaller boutique hotels. We were very well looked after and Jorge Cruz in guest services in particular was incredible and made sure we had everything we needed, he was a huge help. I would highly recommend this hotel travelling to NY.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wantagh, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My Boyfriend and I were looking to spend a long weekend in the city to celebrate our anniversary and decided to stay at The New York Palace Hotel. After checking in we were approached by a guest services coordinator named Julie Embley. She was so nice and friendly, and told us anything she could do to make our experience better to let her know. We told her we were there for our anniversary and we wanted to go to a nice italian restaurant near central park. She gave us list of restaurants within walking distance and what each restaurant was known for, which was extremely helpful. When we returned from lunch their was a bottle of champagne in our room with a card wishing us a happy anniversary! It was such a nice gesture and really showed that this hotel is committed to their customers. Julie really did go out of her way to make sure we had the best anniversary weekend. The next time we decided to spend a night in the city we are 100% staying at The New York Palace. If you're looking for a hotel that focuses on making your experience the best it could be, this is the place to be!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed one night for a wedding at the New York Palace Hotel. There is no question the hotel is beauitful but has certain service flaws that it needs to correct. I also emphasize the positive as well as the negative and since I stayed in multiple hotels in many countries, my opinion is of high value and should be used as a way for the hotel to improve itself.

Check-In: No long lines and multiple staff were taking in people. Major problem was our party was scattered all over the hotel. Request were made many months ago for us to have our rooms kept on the same floor. However, the hotel intentionally scattered us. So while the check-in was easy, where we were placed was not acceptable.

Room: Very clean and the beds are more than comfortable. Size of the room is also large for NYC hotels for that matter. However, the garbage containers in our room did not have any plastic bags in them so basically if you had food or even some residue liquids it would then stick inside the container. With the high amount paid for the room, it should have been there. Other than that, the rooms get an A-.


Location: Excellent. You are right in Midtown within 5 to 15 min walking to Grand Central Terminal, Empire State Buidling, Saks, St. Patrick's Cathedral, Central Park, United Nations, Rockefeller Center, Penn Station, and many subway stations.

Wedding: This was where the hotel lost major points and could have at least maintaned a 4/5. Hotel managment was requested many times to place a sign in the lobby and to have staff direct guests invited to the wedding towards the appropriate ballroom. We had many instances of staff telling guests that "there is no wedding" and guests left only for them to call us and tell them to return. When a wedding or a major event takes place in a hotel, every staff member from the General Manager to the Janitor must know where it is taking place. In this day and age of the internet, there is no excuse for them not to know. Both the groom and bride's parents did complain for the incompetance, and the situation was improved, however it should not come down to them raising their voices in order to get the hotel management's attention. Once the wedding ceremony started, then everything went well.

Food: The food at the wedding was provided by the hotel since outside vendors are banned from catering. They claimed their French chef had lots of experience and would do well. The appetizers and cocktails were A+ and presented in a very sophisticated way. Bartenders were friendly and eager to serve. So was the waiters and waitresses. However, the main course fell short. Niether the lamb or chicken entree was seasoned or had any marination done. Hotel should consider hiring Gordon Ramsay to consult them for entres. Another problem was many vegetarians were present and the vegetarian item was left off the menu. Hotel's excuse was there is a limited amount of vegetarian but when making an menu, you have to plan for worst or most. What would have happened if everyone requested vegetarian and only 50 veg items are made? Also, nearly everyone was liked the veg item.

Wi-Fi: It should be free. Not everyone can or should run downstairs to the business center. They should just include it in the rate. If Holiday Inn can give free-wi, then so should a hotel that claims to be 5 stars. All you have to do is provide a security code and that is it.

Staff: There were many staff members who were knowledgeable and made great recommendations. They should be commended for their efforts. One of them was a person in Sunday morning in the Towers check-in desk that recommended us to eat breakfast at New York Lunchennette. Breakfast there was great and it was fairly quick.

If the hotel makes the above improvements, then it will be a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My mom and I are currently staying at the hotel. We paid 15 nights already. The wifi is not complementary, it's16$ per day, and it's the most horrible connection ever. In the room, we have to stay either in the bathroom or next to the door or else it doesn't work.
When we first arrived, there was no one to welcome us, I had to go search for a doorman to pick up our luggages. And we're talking about supposedly a 5 star hotel.
Next, for the housekeeping, it can be better. For instance, I ate a chocolate croissant in the room in the morning and some crumbs fell on the floor; when I came back after they cleaned the room, the crumbs were still on the floor. There were two bathroom rugs when we arrived, the next day there was only one, 2 days after another appeared. I mean the housekeeping is not constant, there is always something missing.
We received one message saying that they need to take money from the card to cover our expenses. I went to the front office and they tell me that everything is okay And that they don't need the credit card. The next day, we receive the same exact message, we went to see the front desk and they tell us that we need to put 400$ deposit because we are staying for 15 days. Well, why didn't you ask us for this when we first arrived? So we went to bring the credit card, and go to the front desk and then they tell us that we don't need to swipe the card. I mean okay, do you need money or not?
It's freezing in the hotel, it's colder than outside, you need jackets and sweatshirts.

Anyway, I wouldn't recommend it. You could go to a cheaper hotel with better service and amenities.

Ciao!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This was our first time in New York my wife and I decided we wanted a classic and beautiful centrally-located hotel. The Palace was just the place.

The entire staff was friendly and helpful. Doormen, housekeeping, concierge. There was a guest experience guy named Ricky that gave us a great recommendation for a couple of different restaurants and also informed us of a great travel app. We felt very taken care of in this hotel.

The room itself was fully loaded and had a great view over St. Patrick's cathedral down to Rockefeller Plaza. We had a big screen TV, large and comfortable bed and a really nice bathroom. My wife loved all the Molton Brown toiletries that were provided. There is also a great candy and coffee shop downstairs.

But the main point to drive home was how nice everyone was and just how close you are to everything important.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The New York Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New York Palace Hotel

Address: 455 Madison Ave, New York City, NY 10022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Family Hotel in New York City
#68 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#85 Business Hotel in New York City
#87 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The New York Palace Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New York Palace stands at the intersection of contemporary luxury and classic elegance, boasting modern accommodations and landmark architecture in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. The hotel’s collection of well-appointed guest rooms, sophisticated suites and luxurious Towers accommodations offers an array of amenities ideal for business travelers and leisure visitors alike. With some of Manhattan’s most spacious hotel rooms and a range of expansive suites, The Palace offers unrivaled New York City accommodations. Each newly renovated Towers suite comes with a stunning view of the Manhattan skyline, a large marble bathroom, and a wide range of upscale amenities, including Molton Brown products. The city’s signature sights sit just steps from the hotel, including Rockefeller Center, St. Patrick’s Cathedral, the upscale shopping of Fifth Avenue, and the theaters of Broadway. Business and leisure travelers enjoy elite amenities in every room or suite, including high-speed Wi-Fi and broadband Internet access, plush bathrobes and linens, a fully stocked refreshment center, as well as access to a modern fitness center and selection of relaxing spa treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The New York Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Palace Hotel
New York City Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel New York
Palace Hotel Nyc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The New York Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.