We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location and Great Hotel- all depends on what price you pay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The New York Palace Hotel

Save Saved
You added The New York Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The New York Palace Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   455 Madison Ave, New York City, NY 10022 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Elevate Your Experience
Ranked #102 of 451 hotels in New York City
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Perfect Location and Great Hotel- all depends on what price you pay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Just stayed here as an extension to a business conference and got the conference rate of $250 a night to extend for two nights. For that price, this hotel is impossible to beat. Yet, I have read many other TA reviews where people are paying $500+ a night, even $1000 a night and for those prices this hotel is not 5 stars and it is simply not worth it. The location alone is worth a hefty premium. For a trip to Manhattan, work or business you cannot get a better location. The hotel itself, however, is a bit dated. The lobby is poorly designed and not well laid out. Checking in was fairly slow and the service was nothing to write home about it. The Pros and Cons:

Pros:

1. Location, Location, Location- You can walk just about anywhere from this location. You are blocks away from the best shopping in the world. There are subway stations within two blocks. You are a 5 minute walk from Grand Central Station. It is a ten to fifteen minute walk to any place in Times Square. Also, there are terrific restaurants very close. One of the better steakhouses in the city is literally next door.
2. The Rooms and Views- We had a lovely view of Park Avenue and surroundings from a high floor. One of the better views at any hotel we have stayed. The bed was fabulous. The room was well appointment and large. As others have commented, the light controls for the rooms seem about 20 years outdated and the bathroom was nothing to write home about. The room itself was huge and spacious, but the bathroom was tiny in comparison. Oh, I guess I am still on the Pros of the hotel here!

Cons:

1. Nothing special service- Except for the maid, most of the hotel employees were not very cheerful or helpful for that matter. The level of service did not match the other aspects of the hotel. The check-in process was not fast or easy.
2.Very expensive and so-so breakfast- the breakfast cost $60 and was nothing great. We took a look at it and went elsewhere. That is not a huge issue because there are many places to eat breakfast close by.
3. Price- Seems like the price of this hotel is all over the place and this makes sense for a NYC hotel based on supply/demand. This is a great hotel for less than $400 a night, but it is not worth more than that.

Overall, the location is great and depending upon what you pay, the hotel could be a great place to base your visit to NYC.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    377
    156
    58
    26
    13
See reviews for
166
192
15
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Stayed as part of our honeymoon.... It was perfect....staff friendly & helpful, room was nice and clean... Very very good location.. I would certainly come back again... We got ill on our trip last time, so when we come back in Sept 14, we will get to see more of the city

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, PA
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The Palace just received a face lift and the room and bed were wonderful. Nice furnishings, quick check in. Our room wasn't ready, but the staff was prompt to handle our luggage, and called as soon as our room was ready.
Bathroom is on the smaller side, but room is very spacious. As mentioned by another reviewer the windows could be cleaner, but the views are not from every room and every floor, and at $225 this was a very good value for me.
Room service is very pricey, but there are many food options nearby. Location is great, near shopping, central park, etc...for those traveling with a car, valet is pretty much directly in the hotel. Again pricey, but it's NY! Overall great hotel!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agra, India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I have travelled to New York many times before and stayed in other Hotel's with a higher class but what makes this hotel different is its hotels staff. Good staff can make or break your holiday. All the staff were 5* at the Palace, the people who stood out the most were the concierge and door team, they were the best staff I had ever encountered in NYC, a concierge can make or break your holiday, this team went above and beyond the call of duty with their contacts,knowledge, experience and friendliness, they were simply 'World Class' The hotel is ideally located for exploration of Upper and Lower Manhattan. The hotel has very generous size bedrooms that are well equipped, bathrooms with Molton Brown consumables, a large well equipped Gym, great bars, fast lifts and restaurants. The Palace has just undergone a major facelift to make this hotel -NYC FINEST GEM- we will return.......


  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trivandrum
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Our stay at the New York Palace Hotel was exceptionally good - in fact it was excellent. From the time we checked in till we checked out, the accommodation, the service, the friendliness and assistance of all the staff made us feel very comfortable and wanted. The location was excellent - three main entrances! I strongly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting New York City.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking St. Patrick's Cathedral - above 21st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This hotel is a landmark in NYC. Staff is efficient and friendly, bedrooms are spacious and have all the facilities you might need and location is just perfect!
I have stayed on the 24th floor facing St Patricks Cathedral and the Rockfeller Centre, the view is simply breathtaking! I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting New York.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms facing St Patricks Cathedral and the Rockfeller Centre - amazing view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Hotel was run impeccably. Check in took minutes and no lines! Beds and pillows were unbelievably comfortable. There was no noise coming from surrounding rooms and sleep was never interrupted by the chaos of NYC. Many amenities including the outside garden, breakfast restaurant, cafe and nighttime bar. Entire staff was professional and courteous. Fast and easy getting cabs to Javitz Center.

Will be coming back next year!!!

Room Tip: Room with view of Church is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The New York Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New York Palace Hotel

Address: 455 Madison Ave, New York City, NY 10022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Family Hotel in New York City
#68 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#77 Business Hotel in New York City
#96 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The New York Palace Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New York Palace stands at the intersection of contemporary luxury and classic elegance, boasting modern accommodations and landmark architecture in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. The hotel’s collection of well-appointed guest rooms, sophisticated suites and luxurious Towers accommodations offers an array of amenities ideal for business travelers and leisure visitors alike. With some of Manhattan’s most spacious hotel rooms and a range of expansive suites, The Palace offers unrivaled New York City accommodations. Each newly renovated Towers suite comes with a stunning view of the Manhattan skyline, a large marble bathroom, and a wide range of upscale amenities, including Molton Brown products. The city’s signature sights sit just steps from the hotel, including Rockefeller Center, St. Patrick’s Cathedral, the upscale shopping of Fifth Avenue, and the theaters of Broadway. Business and leisure travelers enjoy elite amenities in every room or suite, including high-speed Wi-Fi and broadband Internet access, plush bathrobes and linens, a fully stocked refreshment center, as well as access to a modern fitness center and selection of relaxing spa treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Venere, Otel, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The New York Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Palace Hotel
New York City Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel New York
Palace Hotel Nyc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The New York Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.