We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I LOVE the New York Palace Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The New York Palace Hotel

Save Saved
You added The New York Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The New York Palace Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   455 Madison Ave, New York City, NY 10022 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Elevate Your Experience
Ranked #107 of 449 hotels in New York City
1 review
“I LOVE the New York Palace Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I won the Cinderella on Broadway contest which included a 2 night stay at The Palace Hotel and dinner at the Villard Michel Richard Bistro. I truly felt like Cinderella, everything from check-in to check-out was wonderful! Beautiful hotel, room, friendly employees, a view of St. Patrick's Catherdral.....The service at Villard Michel Richard Bistro and food was beyond all my expectations! I would LOVE to have the opportunity to come back again and stay at this beautiful hotel!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    358
    146
    57
    26
    13
See reviews for
159
184
15
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I have stayed at the Palace on two separate occassions - once during the winter of 2012 and recently over the 4th of July weekend. Both stays have been absolutely superb. All of the support staff are fantastic. During my first stay I loved the turndown chocolates. When I checked in I left a note for housekeeping asking if they still had some and was greeted with a huge bag upon my return (and continual throughout the stay).
The rooms are large, spacious and if you have a skyline or cathedral room, have an amazing view of Madison ave and down 51st street. The bathrooms are luxurious with plentiful Molten Brown bath accessories. The a/c was effective and room was very quiet.
Location wise for shopping and sightseeing it is fantastic. There are also plenty of good dining options close by ranging from quick and inexpensive to more refined dining. I will definitely keep this as my go to hotel when visiting NYC! Thank you for two amazing stays.

Room Tip: Try to book a Cathedral or Premier Skyline room - superb views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I can't say enough wonderful things about this hotel. The location was excellent, several blocks from Rockeffeler Center, walking distance to central park,(plaza hotel fountain and FAO Schwarts was a popular place to sit and people watch), one block from 5th ave and high end shops, St. Patricks Cathedral directly across the street and close to Radio City Music Hall, but hotel is in a quiet location. The rooms were bright and large with marble bathrooms and very comfortable beds. The service was superb and we really felt like royalty during our entire stay.

I travel frequently, read trip advisor reviews all the time but rarely write them, however I felt the need to write this one because our experience was so amazing. I took my daughter to celebrate her 10th birthday at American Girl Place and literally spent about two weeks trying to decide which hotel to stay at in Midtown. Even though we were on budget I decided to book the NY Palace because it was the closest to the AG store and 5th ave. The rate I got was not much higher and even better than some of the lower rated hotels in times square and other midtown hotels and I can honestly say if you are wavering over $50.00 or so this hotel is worth every penny all around. The lobby is beautiful with sculptures throughout. There is a beautiful outdoor area in the courtyard with tables for eating or just relaxing. The rooms are really bright and huge and we had a room with double beds which I found hard to find at other hotels we were considering. These things were important as we needed some downtime after sightseeing and walking around the city in the heat.

On a final note if you are celebrating a special occasion make sure you let the concierge or front desk know. Upon arrival they gave my daughter a box of chocolates and had chocolate covered strawberries and a card waiting in the room when we arrived along with a child size robe which made her feel really special. The entire staff everywhere we went interacted with her and truly showed an interest. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Not only is the Palace, as one would expect, five stars in terms of looks, but it deserves six stars for the friendlyness and efficiency of its employees, as well as for the the excellent location. From here we took taxis to out of town places, but walked to nearby attractions and bus routes. Very convenient.

Room Tip: Not sure if one is better than the other. In N Y all buildings are high and block your views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This is by far the best hotel we've ever stayed in and what's more it's location within the city was great! Nice and handy for walking and shopping with great customer service. Recently saw it advertised on ITV and realised how much we want to go back there!

The big apple was a great holiday and the hotel was amazing!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

When we went to check in to our two rooms at the NY Palace at 5:15 pm, only one room was ready. Apparently, there had been an issue with the laundry service that day, and housekeeping was backed up. The second room was not ready until close to 7:00 pm. Instead of this being a horrible situation, the staff made it quite pleasant. They bought us drinks in the bar and then even comped our room for the night. Everyone at this gorgeous hotel, from the bellmen, to the wait staff, to housekeeping, was so pleasant and truly friendly. They were so apologetic and bent over backwards to make it up to us. We had a wonderful stay and are so appreciative that our check-in issues were recognized as major inconveniences and amends were quickly made. What a wonderful hotel. We will be back!!

Room Tip: Check out the family plan - book one full price room and get a second for half price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I really like the location at 50th/madison which is classic midtown near high end shops, the Central park (57th+), yet near Lexington 'real life' NY. Hotel rate was discounted when we stayed, and value was obvious for that reason. Classic lobby, good staff help including concierge who do help find restaurants etc; and clean spacious rooms (not the tiny boutique new style).
Clean rooms and we had view of the Cathedral and 'open sky' which is so rare in NY with all the tall buildings.
Did not stay in the Towers which is 'new' and more costly; but imagine it would be good. Did not use the restaurant since prefer 'non hotel' when travelling.
All in all, fair and while not cheap, it is good for the location

Room Tip: Cathedral view looking West
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The New York Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New York Palace Hotel

Address: 455 Madison Ave, New York City, NY 10022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Family Hotel in New York City
#71 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#85 Business Hotel in New York City
#94 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The New York Palace Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New York Palace stands at the intersection of contemporary luxury and classic elegance, boasting modern accommodations and landmark architecture in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. The hotel’s collection of well-appointed guest rooms, sophisticated suites and luxurious Towers accommodations offers an array of amenities ideal for business travelers and leisure visitors alike. With some of Manhattan’s most spacious hotel rooms and a range of expansive suites, The Palace offers unrivaled New York City accommodations. Each newly renovated Towers suite comes with a stunning view of the Manhattan skyline, a large marble bathroom, and a wide range of upscale amenities, including Molton Brown products. The city’s signature sights sit just steps from the hotel, including Rockefeller Center, St. Patrick’s Cathedral, the upscale shopping of Fifth Avenue, and the theaters of Broadway. Business and leisure travelers enjoy elite amenities in every room or suite, including high-speed Wi-Fi and broadband Internet access, plush bathrobes and linens, a fully stocked refreshment center, as well as access to a modern fitness center and selection of relaxing spa treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Jetsetter and Hotels.com so you can book your The New York Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Palace Hotel
New York City Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel New York
Palace Hotel Nyc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The New York Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.