We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable but loud stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The New York Palace Hotel

Save Saved
You added The New York Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The New York Palace Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   455 Madison Ave, New York City, NY 10022 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Elevate Your Experience
Ranked #98 of 451 hotels in New York City
Basking Ridge
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Enjoyable but loud stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Excellent location and service. Rooms are nice. However these was construction 30 feet outside our 11th floor room which started at 7am. Hotel did not inform us of that but did give us a small compensation at check out.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nypalace, General Manager at The New York Palace Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Joe M,

Thank you for your feedback. I sincerely apologize for the disturbance you had to experience as we, in many cases, are also unaware of the construction work happening on the other buildings in the area. I am glad however that we were able to turn the situation around and provide you with a most enjoyable stay.

All the best,
David Chase
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    386
    159
    59
    26
    14
See reviews for
170
197
16
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

I absolutely loved this hotel, thoroughly enjoyed my stay and will definitely be back and recommend to others. Location is perfect. The guy at reception was very helpful and friendly. I was super pleased at the room's view too when I got upstairs, it took my breath away after a long and annoying journey. The place is so relaxing. Liked using the Molten Brown products. Housekeeping have this place immaculate, it was better than my stay at the Ritz in that regard and that's very important to me.

There was no free wifi however, which I was very disappointed at. In this day and age and in an establishment like this I would like to take these things for granted. One of the bellhop guys was a little off with me when I left ... maybe there were other customers waiting with more luggage or something, which I understand is important, but just be focused on who is in your care at that moment is key, whether they are waiting on one bag or twenty. And finally I think they should rethink the price points on the in-room snacks. Not only are they absurd, but the hotel would find more people would take more produce if they lowered just slightly - people expect premium, but the hotel is pricing themselves out of a deal in the end I suspect.

Room Tip: Ask for a cathedral view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Let's face it - New York has expensive real estate, most hotel rooms on Manhattan are not very big, and this even applies to hotels where you pay top dollars for. New York Palace hotel is an exception. Yes it is not a cheap hotel to stay in, but then again, it is not the most expensive either. What is very good about this hotel - the large rooms, the great location right behind Saks 5th Avenue, the views from most of the rooms, and the great service from the staff. It is on Madison Avenue between 50th and 51st streets and it has entrances on both of these streets, and with one-way traffic going in either direction, you can save some time in your car depending on whether you want to go Eastwards or Westwards. 5th Avenue and Central Park is just a stone's throw away. They've just recently renovated the rooms so they are lovely and modern. And most of all, the dedication and level of service by the staff is second to none.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

When you spend a great deal of your business life in hotels - and somehow you find yourself forgetting you are actually working - then the hotel more than exceeds my expectations. This is my second work stay at the New York Palace - this time bringing our executive management team and hosting partner meetings. From the warm welcome at the street by the bell men, to the friendly and efficient check-in, to the beautiful and sparkling clean room with the best view of mid-town, nothing was missing! Trouble's Trust was a great late evening stop for creative drinks and lively conversation with exceptional service - and the beautiful pastry / coffee shop is obviously a favorite stop for commuting New Yorkers - not just hotel guests. Four nights later - after very busy meetings I was still enjoying my stay - feeling rested and comfortable. Techies will love all of the new remote systems for lighting and climate, and simple folks will appreciate the most beautiful views of St. Patrick's Cathedral and Rockefeller Center. Worker bees will love that there are outlets integrated right into the work desk for phones and laptops, if you can take your eyes off of that beautiful skyline to get some work accomplished. Room service was delicious and more than efficient. Housekeeping was vigilant and on top of everything. The meeting room and service from that team were among the finest I've experienced in NY or elsewhere in the world. And at the end of the day - lights out - in a perfectly comfortable bed with that beautiful view for a night light. Hate to say such great things - because its already a bit challenging to get a great room for a fair rate - but the New York Palace deserves this review - and my future business!

Room Tip: Anything facing St. Patricks - with or without its scaffolding - and the beautiful Rockefeller Cente...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, New Brunswick, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We just got back from The New York Palace in NYC and loved every moment of it. The location of the hotel could not have been better! Great friendly staff, very clean accommodations, and close to most major attractions in NYC. Just three blocks east from Time Square, one block from Fifth Ave. shopping, and a 30 min walk to the Empire State Building and Central Park. The food was delicious and one can get room service pretty much 24hrs a day! Great restaurants near by as well... Our favorite place for breakfast was The Burger Heaven. For just over $20 one can get breakfast for 2. The bar at the hotel has a great drink selection, we found drinks to be a bit costly at the hotel... Many drinking establishments near by to wet your whistle for the adventurous ones!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We love the Palace, especially booking through our new Platinum Amex card which included a free upgrade (none were available when we stayed there- busy week), spa certificate and, especially the 2 complimentary excellent breakfasts. However, the owners need to wake-up and realize that anyone travelling on business requires the internet and charging for it is a major deterrent to staying at the hotel. Free internet is the world we live in today so please, be fully competitive and we will return.

Room Tip: a view of the church
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Have stayed here a few times and am always happy to stay at a 5-star hotel for a 4-star price, especially in NYC. Is it busy and a little crazy in the lobby, yes. Are a few of the staff members gruff, yes to that too; however, the rooms are huge, clean and comfortable. Love the location and the breakfast, a perk received through Virtuoso, was delicious! Saw Chef Michel Richard in the restaurant which made it just a bit more exciting!

Room Tip: Higher and away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nypalace, General Manager at The New York Palace Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Jeannine1101,

Thank you for your great review and I am thrilled that you had a wonderful stay. I hope to welcome you back to The Palace in the future.

All the best,
David Chase
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The New York Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New York Palace Hotel

Address: 455 Madison Ave, New York City, NY 10022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Family Hotel in New York City
#65 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#77 Business Hotel in New York City
#92 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The New York Palace Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New York Palace stands at the intersection of contemporary luxury and classic elegance, boasting modern accommodations and landmark architecture in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. The hotel’s collection of well-appointed guest rooms, sophisticated suites and luxurious Towers accommodations offers an array of amenities ideal for business travelers and leisure visitors alike. With some of Manhattan’s most spacious hotel rooms and a range of expansive suites, The Palace offers unrivaled New York City accommodations. Each newly renovated Towers suite comes with a stunning view of the Manhattan skyline, a large marble bathroom, and a wide range of upscale amenities, including Molton Brown products. The city’s signature sights sit just steps from the hotel, including Rockefeller Center, St. Patrick’s Cathedral, the upscale shopping of Fifth Avenue, and the theaters of Broadway. Business and leisure travelers enjoy elite amenities in every room or suite, including high-speed Wi-Fi and broadband Internet access, plush bathrobes and linens, a fully stocked refreshment center, as well as access to a modern fitness center and selection of relaxing spa treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Travelocity, Otel, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The New York Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Palace Hotel
New York City Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel New York
Palace Hotel Nyc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The New York Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.