We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The New York Palace Hotel

Save Saved
You added The New York Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com
and 9 more sites!
The New York Palace Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   455 Madison Ave, New York City, NY 10022 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Kips Bay Package
Ranked #94 of 447 hotels in New York City
San Pedro Sula, Honduras
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I stayed at this hotel for business reasons. We where having an industry event and they could not have chosen a better place to do it. Great location in the Midtown East. Close to shopping, the trains, broadway shows etc. Very knowledgeable staff. They offered to place us at a higher floor to get a better view to the city. The in house restaurant is Superb and considered one of the best in the city. If you are a gym freak like myself then you will definitely enjoy the stay because this hotel has one of the most complete gyms you can find at a hotel. The room felt kind of small but I guess thats how they are in this big city because we also spent a couple nights at a nearby hotel and the same feeling. The overall experience was Excellent!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    261
    107
    42
    17
    9
See reviews for
110
140
10
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Booked a room for 2 nights at the Palace. Like many New York hotels, they charge ridiculous prices for Internet usage ($14.99 per night) and a $50 fee per night for rooms with a view on higher floors. Since I used points to book the hotel, I opted to pay the $50. The Internet charge was waived, I think because I paid the $50. The room was spacious for N.Y, and the view from the 37th floor of St. Patricks Cathedral was quite nice.

The Palace has recently finished a major renovation, and it shows. Everything in the room was in tip top shape, and the service was excellent. The location is good for midtown, and I wouldn't hesitate to stay again. But the pricepoint for a room can be steep, but it is New York.

Room Tip: Views overlooking St Patricks Cathedral is very nice, even at additional cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

I have come here for years. The recent renovation looks good. One of our rooms was not ready when we arrived at 8:00pm, but they upgraded us to the towers and gave us a $200 credit, which was a good gesture. The rooms in the Towers were quite large and had nice views towards the east river. Rooms were in great condition. Common areas of the hotel now look quite nice. The service in the Vilard restaurant however was slow and not consistent. Had to wait 15 min for a table for breakfast, when in fact the dinning room was half empty. Also, the OJ is meant to be "freshly squeezed", but I witnessed a bussboy pouring a carton of Tropicana with juicy bits into one of the serving jugs. Hmmm, and the OJ is advertised at $10 on the menu! You can draw your own conclusions. Everything else about the hotel is of a high standard...I would just suggest avoiding the restaurant.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Our first visit to New York to celebrate My wife's 40th birthday.amazing views,was upgraded to a cathedral room. Complimentary chocolate birthday cake,nice touch,Was in a high up room facing the cathedral and as this was our first time in New York we was blown away by the view. Manhattan felt safer than I expected. I was anxious about visiting such busy city as I don't like crowds much but was surprised by how the whole experience which made me feel very at ease.
Super comfy beds and Would visit this hotel again .

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

First time in New York - what a great place to stay! Prime location near to Grand Central station / Broadway / 5th Avenue. Good knowledgable friendly staff. Quality rooms. Drinks very expensive in bar but this is NYC after all! If you like pastries you must visit the in house bakery - quality cakes!
Overall a great place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Last minute decision to stay in Manhattan overnight. We found a great rate and decided to treat ourselves to this "luxury" hotel. Arrived around 4PM. Unfortunately they had a problem at the hotel and rooms were not ready. The staff, who were very kind and apologetic, gave out a generous credit to use hotel services and gave us vouchers for a drink at one of their bars Our room was not ready until 6PM. Not the best way to start out in what we expected from a top notch hotel. Our room was clean and neat and extremely large for a NYC hotel room but, the room was not as special as we expected. It felt like we were staying at a Hilton. Don't get me wrong, I like Hiltons and have stayed in many lovely ones, but when you are staying in what you expect to be one of the nicest hotels in NYC you just expect more. The room just felt worn and tired. Not sure I would spend the extra money to stay here again. I was hoping for more.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The hotel is in a very good location - within a short walking distance to Rockefeller Center, Grand Central Terminal, and a few subway lines, and within a bit longer walking distance to Times Square and Empire State Building.

If you come with a car it is very convenient to park in the hotel (although expensive).

The Palace has two sections - the regular one where we stayed and The Towers. I assume, the Towers are more desirable as they were fully booked when we made reservations a week before our trip.

The hotel looks impressive in the public areas but the rooms have simple decor. The bathrooms are also basic and while the room looked clean and new, the bathroom was on par with Holiday Inn (plus the grime around the tub and the used-to-be-white towels).

We booked regular room but got a corner king bed room with views of the St. Patrick Cathedral. Would have been great if the Cathedral was not enclosed almost completely in scaffolding (which is inside it as well).

Finally, don't expect any extras at this hotel. Not even evening chocolates. Everything you use comes with additional charges.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The New York Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New York Palace Hotel

Also Known As:
New York Palace Hotel
New York City Palace Hotel
New York Palace
Palace Hotel New York
Palace Hotel Nyc
Address: 455 Madison Ave, New York City, NY 10022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#74 Family Hotel in New York City
#77 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#86 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The New York Palace Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New York Palace stands at the intersection of contemporary luxury and classic elegance, boasting modern accommodations and landmark architecture in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. The hotel’s collection of well-appointed guest rooms, sophisticated suites and luxurious Towers accommodations offers an array of amenities ideal for business travelers and leisure visitors alike. With some of Manhattan’s most spacious hotel rooms and a range of expansive suites, The Palace offers unrivaled New York City accommodations. Each newly renovated Towers suite comes with a stunning view of the Manhattan skyline, a large marble bathroom, and a wide range of upscale amenities, including Molton Brown products. The city’s signature sights sit just steps from the hotel, including Rockefeller Center, St. Patrick’s Cathedral, the upscale shopping of Fifth Avenue, and the theaters of Broadway. Business and leisure travelers enjoy elite amenities in every room or suite, including high-speed Wi-Fi and broadband Internet access, plush bathrobes and linens, a fully stocked refreshment center, as well as access to a modern fitness center and selection of relaxing spa treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Otel, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your The New York Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The New York Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.