We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Night at the Palace” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The New York Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The New York Palace Hotel to your Saves list
The New York Palace Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   455 Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10022 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Finding Neverland Package
Ranked #109 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Binghamton, New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A Night at the Palace”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Booked this hotel through HotelsTonight. The price was reasonable. The room was large compared to many NYC hotels and it was clean. Room was fairly quiet; could hear a bit from the hallways on occasion but nothing much. Could also hear some construction on one weekday morning, but did not hear street noise. Bath products were lovely and the shower was nice with good water pressure. Elevators were fast and always available. Hotel staff was courteous. My only complaint would be the pillows - they were not great. But everything else was quite nice. Location was great for shopping, catching the subway and finding places to eat. Would recommend if you can get a good price.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nypalace, General Manager at The New York Palace Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear LKNY,

Thank you for your review and for your nice comments. I am glad you enjoyed your stay at the New York Palace and I hope to welcome you back in the future.

All the best,
David Chase
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    765
    329
    123
    53
    25
See reviews for
349
400
40
246
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Spent MLK Weekend at hotel. The hotel has recently gone a makeover and looks very nice. Our room was nicely appointed. The employees come off as polite but cold. As if they are not really engaged even though the hotel wants to rate itself as 4 stars. Also avoid the hotel restaurant for breakfast. Very overpriced even for NYC. I have always been of the opinion that your people are what make a hotel great. The Palace is off to a good start with the physical renovation, now they need to work on the staff.

Room Tip: If possible, try for a room with a view of St. Patricks cathedral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nypalace, General Manager at The New York Palace Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Jian 1019,

Thank you for staying with us and for your sincere feedback. I am glad you approve of our renovations and enjoyed your room. We also do believe that what makes great hotels are genuine people who love to serve and that is what we expect from all ladies and gentlemen working at The New York Palace.

We will be sure to discuss your comments internally and we hope that you visit us again so that we can extend you a very warm welcome back.

All the best,
David Chase
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Recently spent 5 nights at The Palace Hotel on Madison Ave in New York. This hotel came highly recommended and I was very keen to stay there with my husband and 3 children plus a friend. The rooms are beautifully appointed and the views from all 3 bedrooms were stunning. The bathrooms were small and the shower is in the bath, so always negotiating the wet shower curtain - not quite 5 star. I also had a vent above my shower that on one occasion whilst showering I got a really awful blast of cigarette smoke from.
There are no tea and coffee making facilities in the room and Wifi is an extra expense
having said that the staff are lovely, theres a great bar downstairs and the location is brilliant. If you are not worried about the dollars its worth a visit

Room Tip: ASk for a room overlooking St Pattricks cathedral as you then look straight at the Rock too. I think...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nypalace, General Manager at The New York Palace Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Jenny B,

Thank for staying with your family at The New York Palace. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your rooms, our location and the service we provided you with as well as our newly opened Trouble's Trust bar.

We would love to have the pleasure to welcoming you back in the future and would be more than happy to send a coffee maker to your room as we do have it available to all our guests upon request.

All the best,
David Chase
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

The hotel was fine. We had a Nice corner room. It was quiet and had a nice view of Rockefeller Center. Comfy bed.

The noteworthy experience was the restaurant, Villard, where we only had breakfast. Two people - each with OJ, one coffee, a muffin, a bagel, and a fruit side. Over $105, and the bagel was horrible and the juice clearly concentrated. Unbelievable. The worst breakfast.

There's a number of fine breakfast places nearby. I heard Villard was also outrageously expensive and not great for dinner. I will go elsewhere next time. Recommend you do the same.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nypalace, General Manager at The New York Palace Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear jakklein,

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your corner room and I am sorry that your breakfast experience did not meet your expectations. We very much appreciate your candid feedback and will be sure to discuss further so that we can improve our guests overall satisfaction.

All the best,
David Chase
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

This hotel was wonderful. It was reasonably priced and the staff and amenities were exceptional. I wish they had a closet in the room we stayed, but other than that the room was spacious and comfortable. The staff was kind, knowledgeable and courteous. Villard is a must for lunch or dinner. The food was exceptional as was the service. The location is superb as well. Shoppers paradise. I will stay here again!

Room Tip: Stayed in the main hotel, not the Towers, and it was quite nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nypalace, General Manager at The New York Palace Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Mbopera,

Thank you for this very kind review. I am thrilled to hear that you had such a wonderful stay and is so appreciative of our service and location.

I look forward to welcoming you back for another great stay.

All the best,
David Chase
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin Lakes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

The epitome of luxury, the comfort of home and the superb service put you at ease as you stroll around the Palace. The minute you enter the hotel's newly renovated lobby you know you've arrived at a pretty special place! Check in was a breeze thanks to our wonderful guest service agent, Bitan. He couldn't have been kinder or more accommodating. Our room was a vision of beauty and comfort.The beds are extremely comfortable with fluffy white comforters that make you feel as though you're sleeping on a cloud. You will not be disappointed as a guest at this hotel. If I can sum it up with one word, it would be, OUTSTANDING!!! Go for it, you've got nothing to lose but the worries that ale you!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nypalace, General Manager at The New York Palace Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Mary G,

I am thrilled to hear that you had such a fantastic stay. I will be sure to pass your comments on to our wonderful Bitan and look very much forward to welcoming you and your family back to The New York Palace.

All the best,
David Chase
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

I stayed here recently during the renovation, glad to see the before and after. Beautiful hotel. Rooms are very spacious and updated. Service is excellent. Location is perfect for business or pleasure. Quick cab ride from LGA. The lobby, bar and public areas are very elegant. Multiple entry/exit points. Banquet facilities and the food service were outstanding.

Room Tip: High Floor, close to elevator or corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nypalace, General Manager at The New York Palace Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Rball,

Thank you for your great review. I am glad that you had a wonderful stay and were able to enjoy our service. I look very much forward to welcome you back for another outstanding stay.

All the best,
David Chase
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The New York Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New York Palace Hotel

Address: 455 Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in New York City
#68 Family Hotel in New York City
#81 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#88 Business Hotel in New York City
#93 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The New York Palace Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 909
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New York Palace stands at the intersection of contemporary luxury and classic elegance, boasting modern accommodations and landmark architecture in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. The hotel's collection of well-appointed guest rooms, sophisticated suites and luxurious Towers accommodations offers an array of amenities ideal for business travelers and leisure visitors alike. With some of Manhattan's most spacious hotel rooms and a range of expansive suites, The Palace offers unrivaled New York City accommodations. Each newly renovated suite comes with a stunning view of the Manhattan skyline, a large marble bathroom, and a wide range of upscale amenities, including Molton Brown products. The city's signature sights sit just steps from the hotel, including Rockefeller Center, St. Patrick's Cathedral, the upscale shopping of Fifth Avenue, and the theaters of Broadway. Business and leisure travelers enjoy elite amenities in every room or suite, including high-speed Wi-Fi (surcharge) and broadband Internet access, plush bathrobes and linens, a fully stocked refreshment center, as well as access to a modern fitness center and selection of relaxing spa treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The New York Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Palace Hotel
New York City Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel New York
Palace Hotel Nyc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The New York Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.