We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Time!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The New York Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The New York Palace Hotel to your Saves list
The New York Palace Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   455 Madison Ave, New York City, NY 10022 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Winter Weekends
Ranked #108 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Hopkinton, Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful Time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

The hotel was beautiful upon arrival. When we checked in our Guest Service Agent, Bitan was extremely accommodating. We stayed one night and Bitan continued to make sure that everything was superb. The room was clean and lovely. The views were amazing! Also, the location was excellent. We had a wonderful time in NYC thanks to the Palace. We hope to return soon!

Room Tip: The corner room that looks over St. Patrick's Cathedral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nypalace, General Manager at The New York Palace Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear happyendings143,

I am glad to hear that you had an amazing stay. I will be sure to pass your comments to our wonderful Bitan and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back for another lovely stay.

All the best,
David Chase
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

998 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    580
    262
    96
    40
    20
See reviews for
262
309
30
187
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Despite it's name, the NY Palace Hotel is a large and very crowded hotel that does not offer that same customer service as some of the large 5-Star NYC big boys such as the Ritz Carlton, St Regis or Four Seasons. Its just not that type of hotel. You will likely wait in a short line at the front desk, the staff, although friendly, are just too busy with the number of guests to pay detailed personal attention. And, despite its recent renovations, the lobby is not at all impressive and lacks a sufficient amount of seating area given the number of guests and visitors. HOWEVER, with this understanding, and given its daily rate, location, as well the cleanliness of its rooms (most recently renovated), I would not hesitated to recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: the tower suites have a separate and more personal check-in staff. Also, get a room overlooking SP C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nypalace, General Manager at The New York Palace Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear snowman321,

Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed our recently renovated rooms and will most certainly take your constructive feedback into consideration as this is the best way to improve our services.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

All the best,
David Chase
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypool
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Now that we are 'old and married' (35) we decided to venture away from the hustle and bustle of Times Square and seek a new hotel of choice and the New York Palace certainly did not disappoint. From the courteous staff on the front desk, to Don the porter, the wonderful housekeeping staff and the vibrant and friendly welcome in the Pomme Palais (hotel bakery) I cannot fault the reception we received. It was a late honeymoon trip and we were greeted with a bottle of bubbly upon our arrival in the room. A nice little touch that makes all the difference.

The refurbishments we saw had been carried out to an extremely high standard. I cannot say for definite that we were in a refurbished room (12th floor) but the decor and bed linens were of a high standard, certainly matching and often exceeding the four and five star hotels we usually stay in on our travels. Towels were plentiful and the Molten Brown toiletries were restocked every day. Take note, Westin. I appreciate Westin is attempting to save the environment with minimal towel changing and minimal toiletries but while I am paying top dollar for it I would like to have my room at the same standard as when I checked in every day. Westin should visit the New York Palace if they would like to see how it should be done! The bed was extremely comfortable and pillows plump and plentiful. If you want slick super-modern white minimalism, this may not be to your taste but for classic style and elegance you certainly won't go wrong. The fact that lights and temperature could be controlled from the comfort of your bed with a bedside unit was certainly a bonus. Apart from the Aria in Las Vegas, this is the only hotel of its class we have visited where this has been the case. You can also control the curtains from the Aria's bedside unit but, hey, let's not be greedy! Rooms are also certainly spacious by New York standards.

I read a review where somebody was complaining that the was no coffee machine in the room at a hotel of this standard. Here's an idea. Just ask! In a four star plus hotel, of course they will provide you with one! Our request was met immediately and stocks were replenished whenever I left a note.

The location really cannot be beaten for an easy walk to Fifth Avenue, the Rockefeller Plaza and Central Park. We came looking for a new hotel of choice for whenever we visit New York and our quest has been successful. Well done, New York Palace! We look forward to our future stays with you.

Room Tip: We had no complaints with the 12th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nypalace, General Manager at The New York Palace Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Beth J,

Thank you for your great extensive review. I am so glad that you have chosen our hotel as your choice when in NYC and had such a fabulous stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the New York Palace.

All the best,
David Chase
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Had the pleasure of staying at the New York Palace on a recent trip to NY. We chose the hotel because of it's fantastic location, steps from 5th Avenue, Rockefeller Center and Radio City and a short walk from Times Square, and the Subway.
All staff that we came in contact with were very helpful and always greeted us with a warm smile.
But it was after we left the hotel that we really experienced the best of the New York Palace . After arriving at the airport to return home, we realized that our daughters long time travel companion, her stuffed koala bear, had been inadvertently left in the hotel room. With no other option, we continued home with the intention of calling the hotel from there. When we arrived home, I called the hotel and was transferred to the security desk. Hotel security checked the lost and found as well as our still vacant room with no luck. Security suggested that we call Housekeeping in the morning. The next day we called Housekeeping and got in touch with Erica. She could not have been more helpful. After checking again for our furry friend without any luck, she suggested that perhaps he had been caught up in the linens when the bedding was stripped and that he was in the laundry. She informed us that the hotel uses an off-site laundry service and that she would have to contact them to see they had the bear. Erica called back shortly thereafter to inform us that our friend had been located at the laundry and they were sending him back to the hotel. We were contacted the next day by the Director of Housekeeping who stated that they had the koala bear at the hotel and would be sending him home to us by FedEx Express and that the hotel would look after the cost of shipping!! Our friend arrived home in time for Christmas.
Now I know that there are a lot of parents that can relate to this story. Most of our kids have a favorite stuffy that they couldn't survive without. The hotel staff we dealt with also understood this and could not have been more helpful. We will be forever grateful to them for their all their efforts!!
The New York Palace will be our "home away from home" whenever we travel to New York.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nypalace, General Manager at The New York Palace Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Dennis H,

Thank you for your great review. I am incredibly happy that we were able to retrieve you daughter's belove stuffed koala bear and honored that you have chosen our hotel to be your home away from home. I will most certainly pass your compliments on to Erica and on behalf of the entire New York Palace team we look forward to welcoming you and your family back sometime in the future.

All the best
David Chase
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

I usually stay at four seasons when i travel but in New York the New York Palace is my home. It is not as luxurious as the FS but feels like home, has a great atmosphere and is perfectly located. This was my first stay post the rennovations and they have done some nice things particularly with the restaurants. Rooms are large and very comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nypalace, General Manager at The New York Palace Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear paul f,

Thank you for your kind review. We are honored that you have chosen The New York Palace to be your home when you are in town.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

All the best,
David Chase
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellesley, MA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We are very experienced travelers originally from New York. We had previously enjoyed a stay at The Palace and selected The Palace for a 50th Birthday celebration. When we arrived at 5 p.m. we waited on line over 25 minutes to check in. Our room was not ready and would not be ready for hours. We spent the better part of an hour trying to resolve the room situation. We had dinner reservations and theater tickets for that evening. We had no place to change for dinner and would no longer be able to get to the restaurant that we had looked forward to dining at for months in advance. We were told that we could dine at the hotel and our bags would be delivered to our room when the room was ready. When we returned from the theater (around 11 p.m.) our room was ready but the bags were not in our room. We were told the hotel was very busy and we would need to wait for our bags. We had two adults and two children in the room. Three pillows were provided. At 11 p.m. we requested an additional pillow. At 11:45 we called again for the pillow and were told that the hotel was very busy and they would get the pillow to us as soon as they could. The pillow arrived at 1 a.m. .

This began our three night stay of the WORST service we have ever experienced. The chaos in the lobby at all times felt more like an airport than a luxury hotel. There was NOTHING welcoming about the lobby. We never felt like the hotel was our oasis in the middle of the city. In fact, we didn't want to go back to the hotel except to sleep. We went to other hotels for breakfast and afternoon tea/cocktails.

This should not be considered a luxury property. Aside from the location, there is nothing that distinguishes The Palace from a Westin or Marriott.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nypalace, General Manager at The New York Palace Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Lisa_Family,

Thank you for your candid feedback. I am truly sorry that we did not meet your expectations and would love to have a chance to discuss your recent stay. Kindly contact the Guest Experience department at your convenience. We look forward to speaking with you.

All the best,
David Chase
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We had a great stay at the Palace. Rooms were clean and very comfortable and our view was spectacular!! We had two rooms for our family of 5. The hotel is conveniently located and my teenage girls loved the fact that the hotel was featured in their favorite show, "Gossip Girl"
The only reason I gave it four stars and not five was beause of the elevators. There is one set of elevators dedicated to 32 floors so you have to endure many stops before you get to your floor. Although it didn't really bother me, it bothered others in my family. Overall a great time at the Palace!

Room Tip: Ask for a room faxing the Catherdral
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nypalace, General Manager at The New York Palace Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Teamspeciale,

Thank you for staying at the New York Palace. I am thrilled to hear that you and your family had a great stay with us. Thank you also for your feedback in regards to the elevators. We will most certainly address the issue and have it corrected as we pride ourselves in making our guest's comfort our main priority.

I hope to welcome you back next time you visit New York City.

All the best,
David Chase
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The New York Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New York Palace Hotel

Address: 455 Madison Ave, New York City, NY 10022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#70 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#72 Family Hotel in New York City
#76 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#100 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The New York Palace Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 899
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New York Palace stands at the intersection of contemporary luxury and classic elegance, boasting modern accommodations and landmark architecture in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. The hotel's collection of well-appointed guest rooms, sophisticated suites and luxurious Towers accommodations offers an array of amenities ideal for business travelers and leisure visitors alike. With some of Manhattan's most spacious hotel rooms and a range of expansive suites, The Palace offers unrivaled New York City accommodations. Each newly renovated suite comes with a stunning view of the Manhattan skyline, a large marble bathroom, and a wide range of upscale amenities, including Molton Brown products. The city's signature sights sit just steps from the hotel, including Rockefeller Center, St. Patrick's Cathedral, the upscale shopping of Fifth Avenue, and the theaters of Broadway. Business and leisure travelers enjoy elite amenities in every room or suite, including high-speed Wi-Fi (surcharge) and broadband Internet access, plush bathrobes and linens, a fully stocked refreshment center, as well as access to a modern fitness center and selection of relaxing spa treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Despegar.com, Otel, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The New York Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Palace Hotel
New York City Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel New York
Palace Hotel Nyc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The New York Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.