We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great anniversary stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The New York Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The New York Palace Hotel to your Saves list
The New York Palace Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   455 Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10022 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Finding Neverland Package
Ranked #110 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
houston
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great anniversary stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

My wife and I celebrated our 25th anniversary here. Very nice hotel. We opted to stay in one of the non-renovated rooms with a cathedral view rather than a renovated room without a view and were very happy with our choice. Bottle of champagne with note from the hotel was an unexpected and nice surprise. Location was perfect for exploring the City. We had a prior credit which Wilda Amestica applied to our bill without issue. We will definitely stay here again and had an amazing time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    765
    328
    122
    53
    25
See reviews for
349
400
40
245
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

This past weekend my family and I stayed at The Palace Hotel. Initially, I had a complicated reservation requirement with several moving pieces. Thankfully I was placed in the hands of the consummate professional, Brian Becker, who simplified and expertly handled all of our requests. His follow through was also sensational. Upon arrival our guest rooms were impeccable and beautifully appointed. The service levels from the front office personnel to the Concierges were also spot on. Cheers for housekeeping for superb cleanliness. Thank you, Brian, and the rest of the Team for making our stay memorable. We look forward to our next visit - hopefully soon!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

There are no words to describe how amazing our wedding weekend was at the New York Palace. From the moment we toured the hotel (pre-renovation) we knew this was the place for us. I'll start by saying that Billy P. is the best in the business. Honest, straight forward, great sense of humor, and made sure every single detail for our big day was taken care of. His staff, Greg, Kaan, Marija...all outstanding. We didn't have a single worry on our wedding day because these wonderful people took care of it all.
We've stayed at the Palace a half dozen times during the planning of our wedding...The concierge in the Towers, George (the doorman with the mustache), Salah the Chauffeur, and all the bellmen...you have become our family. That's what the Palace makes you feel like..family.
On top of that, the renovation is GORGEOUS! We watched the hotel transform over a year and we were blown away with the end product.
As for the wedding itself; the ceremony space is perfect, the cocktail hour and reception were fantastic. Our guests couldn't stop talking about the food and service! Also, walking down that grand staircase in a wedding gown was a dream come true, a total fairy tale!
So thank you New York Palace, for making my husband and I feel like Royals. We just can't wait to get back for a visit!

Room Tip: The towers rooms are beautiful. If you stay on a higher floor, ask for an East side view. Chrysler b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Didn't really like the hotel as we have paid more than 1500$ for 3 nights and it wasn't as great as it supposed to be. The building was on the reconstruction, I hope that the hole hotel will have a fresh new look. But as I noticed there few brand new hotels in NY, I advice you to stay in them =)
Very good view on St.Patrick's Church.

Room Tip: Take upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

My Wife and I stayed here for a week to celebrate our wedding anniversary and I'm afraid to say we were very disappointed.

Being no strangers to New York and having stayed at various other hotels in the same area, we were really looking forward to staying here, especially after the refurb that had taken place, but I'm afraid to say it didn't live up to our expectations.

The rooms, though larger by New York hotel standards are totally devoid of character. They look nice enough, but they don't have any real wow factor, especially for the type of money that they charge you.

The lobby of the hotel is pretty non existent and the bar is like a throw back to a bad 80's movie!

The concierge and the room service were excellent, but the front desk staff were so po-faced it was almost laughable!

I have to say that out of all the hotels I've stayed at in New York, this is the most forgettable of them all and for the sort of money they charge, that shouldn't be the case.

Room Tip: Don't bother, stay in the Waldorf or the Sofitel, you'll have a better stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnaminson, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

beautiful hotel, large room for NY and quiet when requested a quiet room. Bathrobes, slippers, large bathroom and comfortable beds. Very elegant. View from lobby to St. PETErs amazing. very clean and it appears rooms have just been redecorated.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We love the Palace. The director of guest services, Ricky, was sure that our every need was met. The rooms are spacious, luxurious sheets, nice bathrooms, great service. We are traveling with a group of women and think we will always stay here when in NYC. Very convenient to everything we like

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The New York Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New York Palace Hotel

Address: 455 Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in New York City
#70 Family Hotel in New York City
#82 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#89 Business Hotel in New York City
#93 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The New York Palace Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 909
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New York Palace stands at the intersection of contemporary luxury and classic elegance, boasting modern accommodations and landmark architecture in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. The hotel's collection of well-appointed guest rooms, sophisticated suites and luxurious Towers accommodations offers an array of amenities ideal for business travelers and leisure visitors alike. With some of Manhattan's most spacious hotel rooms and a range of expansive suites, The Palace offers unrivaled New York City accommodations. Each newly renovated suite comes with a stunning view of the Manhattan skyline, a large marble bathroom, and a wide range of upscale amenities, including Molton Brown products. The city's signature sights sit just steps from the hotel, including Rockefeller Center, St. Patrick's Cathedral, the upscale shopping of Fifth Avenue, and the theaters of Broadway. Business and leisure travelers enjoy elite amenities in every room or suite, including high-speed Wi-Fi (surcharge) and broadband Internet access, plush bathrobes and linens, a fully stocked refreshment center, as well as access to a modern fitness center and selection of relaxing spa treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The New York Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Palace Hotel
New York City Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel New York
Palace Hotel Nyc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The New York Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.