We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel,” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel 31

Save Saved
You added Hotel 31 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel 31
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   120 East 31 Street, New York City, NY 10016 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #232 of 452 hotels in New York City
Falmouth, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“lovely hotel,”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Firstly, brilliant location, central to everything. The staff were very helpful, & very friendly. Also loved using the old fashioned lift!!, very clean, would most definitely stay here again, not a problem sharing the bathroom, not use to having to do that, but soon got used to it.

Room Tip: Maybe request a room with a view of the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,031 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    249
    527
    167
    50
    38
See reviews for
102
389
110
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bologna, Italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

I do recomend 31 Hotel for a nice staying in NY. It's located in a good area, close to many interesting sites, also the metro. I enjoyed a lot the tiny ramen place on the right at the corner and the breakfast place on the opposite corner on the left. The price is worth the quality that I'd give a grade of 8/10. Good memories at all! The bathrooms were always cleaned. Only the staff at the floor weren't helpful and seemed didn't speak english. Good job!

Room Tip: una doppia può essere veramente piccola, io ne ho provate due quindi è auspicabile specificare nel c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We had a small room on the eigth floor. Every day the maid cleaned our room and changed towels and also bathrooms/WC in the hall were clean. Location was great there is Chipotle and subway 2mins away. Only the wi-fi was driving me crazy. Weak or no connection and only on some "special" spots in the room. At night there was some noice from the AC but I´m a light sleeper. Location was great there is Chipotle and subway 2mins away. Other than that I enjoyed the stay :)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Overall I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Hotel 31 and I would book again on a return trip.

The cost is as good as you will find, the beds are comfortable - great pillows - and the shower (we had a private bathroom but not all rooms do) was good.

The 33rd St subway station on line 6 (one stop from Grand Central) is just around the corner and the smart Cosi Cafe a few metres away does a great breakfast.

The main moan would be that the hotel WiFi (which is freely available) is painfully slow and secondly, the receptionist advised us to hail a cab on the street rather than book us a taxi to Penn Station. It's a short walk but we wanted it because rain was torrential - unfortunately after waiting in the rain a while we found no cab would take us so we had to walk anyway. I assume the receptionist knew this but didn't advise which was a shame.

But all in all, the good value and comfort you get make this well worth the stay.

Room Tip: We had one with two double beds and a private bathroom facing the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Stayed here for a week in April and we got we expected: a no frills hotel in a convenient location.

I'm not one to complain at all but we did have a few gripes: thin walls, a box room, pigeons landing on our air conditioning vent at all hours and the radiator making random creaking noises from time to time. That said, it was good value, the location was amazing (5 mins to Empire State), there is an AMAZING pizzeria about 50 yards away and it's a super-safe part of town.

We had a shared bathroom and it was free the majority of the time (always clean and tidy).

This hotel is perfect for people who don't need or expect luxury.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel if you want something to look at! The small rooms are tiny...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

I've never had a room that i paid for where i actually had to share the bathroom with others. After staying there, it really wasn't a big deal. I was only sharing with 1-2 other rooms. When you think about it, how often is someone really in the bathroom or shower? I didn't have any issues whatsoever with it.

The room was pretty much a room with a bed. I'd say the room was the size of a large walk-in closet. This made me realize that size doesn't really matter. I was in and out of the room all day and slept on a nice bed at night.

The building is as old-school as you can get from the cranky 2-person elevator to the decor, etc. But it was kind of refreshing to be in a super old building that was kept in pretty goods shape.

Location is awesome and it was the best priced hotel room i could find.

The manager was so kind as to let me use a vacant room to change out of my stuffy suit after i had checked out. Thank you!

I would recommend but not for an extended stay or for anyone searching for a cool or romantic atmosphere.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Enjoyed the stay. A friend and I shared the room. I really liked all the old woodwork in the building and the room. It is very reasonably priced and the location is a block from the subway, cabs were easy to catch and many restaurants nearby. Staff was very nice and always helpful, Housekeeping was wonderful. I would very definitely stay here again. Its not fancy like the big boys but very cozy and comfy.

Room Tip: we had a room with a bathroom. some rooms share one. we also had a wall of windows facing 31st. 8t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel 31? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 31

Address: 120 East 31 Street, New York City, NY 10016
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#172 Business Hotel in New York City
#230 Family Hotel in New York City
#245 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 31 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Booking.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Hotel 31 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
31 Hotel New York City
Hotel 31 New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel 31, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.