We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced... Even for Manhattan” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel 31

Save Saved
You added Hotel 31 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel 31
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   120 East 31 Street, New York City, NY 10016 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #232 of 452 hotels in New York City
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Overpriced... Even for Manhattan”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

BAD: Tiny room window looked out to a brick wall, NOISY airconditioner, no fridge or even tea/coffee facilities, not really that close to tourist attractions, 8min walk from Penn station is a lie- 8 min sprint maybe...

GOOD: Shared bathroom was clean and available most of the time, did have air conditioning, good maid service

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,032 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    249
    528
    167
    50
    38
See reviews for
102
389
111
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights in August, and then actually returned for 2 more nights in September when we returned to NYC and needed some unexpected accommodation. It really is a great little hotel, good location, 2 minutes from subway (the 6). You can walk a lot of places in Manhattan from here too if you fancy. We had a cosy room, and found the shared bathrooms always clean and available. This was all for an excellent price. Reminded us of a small old-school hotel in Paris. Really is a great place to stay if you are looking for budget accommodation in a central location, which is clean, cosy and safe. We'd go back again definitely.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The hotel has a good location. I could walk to Penn Station. And it was easy to get to Metropolitan museum on subway from there (no train change). The hotel is pretty basic, although it is clean. There was no view in the window - this is normal for the budget Manhattan hotels. The air conditioner is very loud. I had a room with a shared bathroom. I was on my own, without a family, so I didn't mind. But since I usually don't stay in rooms with shared bathrooms, I forgot to bring soap and shampoo with me to the bathroom. I kind of assumed it is available right in the bathroom.

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qingdao, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Hotel 31 is a cozy, clean, convenient and safe place to stay in. I will definitely go back again next time. The shared bathroom is well kept and tidy. The elevator is like those in old movies that you have to pull the steel door before opening the outside door. Most staff are warm and helpful, but one is indifferent.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cordoba, Argentina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The location of the hotel is perfect. The rooms are a bit small, but if you are just looking for a place to sleep, take a showe and visit the city it is a very good option according to the price. There is a metro station just around the corner, so that was really useful. In general terms, the service was good and the hotel met our expectations.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odense, Denmark
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Very good location in Midtown. The room and the common ares are clean which is especially important when you share bath room with the rest of the floor. Sharing the bath room was nonetheless not a problem because it was clean and always free when we wanted to use it. We would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel 31? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 31

Address: 120 East 31 Street, New York City, NY 10016
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#171 Business Hotel in New York City
#229 Family Hotel in New York City
#248 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 31 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Booking.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Hotel 31 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
31 Hotel New York City
Hotel 31 New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel 31, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.