We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gets an extra star for value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel 31

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel 31 to your Saves list
Hotel 31
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   120 East 31 Street, New York City, NY 10016 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #229 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Souderton, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Gets an extra star for value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Don't get me wrong, this is not typically the kind of hotel I would rate 4 stars. It's a very basic landing spot for tired travelers. What is exceptional is this: We're talking about New York- where many a dive hotel will charge an arm and a leg for a room unfit for habitation. By contrast, this little place offers exceptionally clean rooms, comfortable beds, and at an extremely reasonable price (again, by New York standards). The old elevator is worth the price of admission- as an amusement ride. It's fun, though the stairs are faster by far.

Room Tip: If you're hesitant about the shared bath, then opt for a private one- the price is still a barga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,086 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    553
    177
    51
    38
See reviews for
108
413
116
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
frenchy39
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

This hotel is very nice with nice furniture. Rooms are comfortable and well equipped. The staff is friendly. A good quality to price ratio in Manhattan! Location in downtown Manhattan is very appreciable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We booked Hotel 31 for our New York Trip. Our room in double bed with sharing bathroom. The room is quite small only bed, table+TV and basin. The location is very good! near subway 32st station. The sharing bathroom is always clean and also always available. The free wifi in the room is OK. The elevator is quite old and slow and you need to close and open the door by yourself which may not convenient if you have a huge luggage. Overall, we satisfied this hotel because is value to our money

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

great hotel. great location. this hotel is very close to most of manhatton great attractions. subway is a street away. Taxi's are easy to flag down. you dont need to walk far just wait outside hotel

very well maintained. shared bathrooms always cleaned after use. they have cleaners working 24 hour making sure its clean

i will defintely be coming back to hotel 31 when i visit this great city once again in the very near future

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We were anxious about the shared bathroom but this was not a problem! It was cleaned extremely regularly. Our room was small but the storage facilities were good and the sink in the room was very handy. The staff we came across were very friendly and helpful and we would definitely stay here again as the location was so good - close to the subway but also ideal for walking north and south in manhattan.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

It is a good, very clean basic hotel in a great location. Nice staff. The man who showed us to our room was about the same age as the hotel with a quirky sense of humour. Great value. Free WIFI. We would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I wanted a cheap comfortable free wifi hotel in close proximity to transport and sites and restrains in NY and I didn't want to have to sell my kidney to afford it.. And that's what I got. Only 4 stars as nobody returned my emails to answer questions after booking this hotel. I did get an email (generic) a few days before I arrived welcoming me to their hotel which set my mind at ease some.
Would definitely stay again.
The room was super small but I was expecting that.
The bathroom down the hall was kept very clean and tidy the entire visit.

Room Tip: Try and get one away from the elevator as it is old and noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel 31? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 31

Address: 120 East 31 Street, New York City, NY 10016
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#22 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#191 Business Hotel in New York City
#226 Family Hotel in New York City
#244 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 31 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel 31 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
31 Hotel New York City
Hotel 31 New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel 31, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.