We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not worry about shared bathroom!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel 31

Save Saved
You added Hotel 31 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel 31
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   120 East 31 Street, New York City, NY 10016 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #231 of 446 hotels in New York City
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Do not worry about shared bathroom!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We were anxious about the shared bathroom but this was not a problem! It was cleaned extremely regularly. Our room was small but the storage facilities were good and the sink in the room was very handy. The staff we came across were very friendly and helpful and we would definitely stay here again as the location was so good - close to the subway but also ideal for walking north and south in manhattan.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,291 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    311
    682
    193
    66
    39
See reviews for
84
362
94
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

It is a good, very clean basic hotel in a great location. Nice staff. The man who showed us to our room was about the same age as the hotel with a quirky sense of humour. Great value. Free WIFI. We would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I wanted a cheap comfortable free wifi hotel in close proximity to transport and sites and restrains in NY and I didn't want to have to sell my kidney to afford it.. And that's what I got. Only 4 stars as nobody returned my emails to answer questions after booking this hotel. I did get an email (generic) a few days before I arrived welcoming me to their hotel which set my mind at ease some.
Would definitely stay again.
The room was super small but I was expecting that.
The bathroom down the hall was kept very clean and tidy the entire visit.

Room Tip: Try and get one away from the elevator as it is old and noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Pretty old style hotel in a great location for visiting the sights of New York city. We were there during those hot days of June. The room was small but very clean and cool with air conditionning. The staff was nice. WiFi good (and free). Excellent value for money in an expensive city. Ü

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed at Hotel 31 in March this year. Lovely old style hotel in a fantastic location for visiting the sights of NYC. The weather was bitterly cold, but the rooms were toasty warm. Room wasn't huge but spotlessly clean as was the bathroom (you could see the Empire State Building from the window). At the end of they day you don;t need a large hotel room, you won;t be spending much time in there. Excellent value for money in an expensive city. We will stay here again when we bring the children back. Try Shorty's (on the same street), delicious food, chips and a cheesy sauce to die for!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
united kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Clean and comfortable. Room was small but that i expected. Shared bathroom.never gone this route before and a bit concerned but no worries,only once did i have to wait,two bathrooms on the floor and they were both kept spotless, i am sure they were cleaned on the hour! Staff very polite and helpful Subway 5 minute walk away but buses are the way to go!

Room Tip: When walking at night a couple of blocks away you will see an unbelievable view of the Empire State...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel 31? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 31

Also Known As:
31 Hotel New York City
Hotel 31 New York
Address: 120 East 31 Street, New York City, NY 10016
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#238 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 31 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Venere, HostelBookers, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Otel so you can book your Hotel 31 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel 31, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.