We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A terrific find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel 31

Save Saved
You added Hotel 31 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel 31
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   120 East 31 Street, New York City, NY 10016 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #232 of 452 hotels in New York City
College Station, Tx
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A terrific find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I never thought I could find a hotel in Mid-town with a private bath and a full size bed for $109/night. It was like many small hotels in Paris except you have to go to the corner for breakfast. The desk clerk was nice and helpful. We had a great room facing the courtyard so it was very quiet. This would not be a good choice for families with small children as there is no place to run around. We would definitely stay here again when we need a place to stay overnight in Manhattan.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,032 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    249
    528
    167
    50
    38
See reviews for
102
389
111
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wilts,England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Like my title says, as long as you don't expect a 5* hotel you'll do fine here. It's a decent location to explore from, 10mins from Empire State and about 20mins from Penn Station. My room had absolutely no view, only a wall of next building as was to the rear of the hotel but it did reduce the street noise, so swings n roundabouts. The air con can be rather loud mind, so try to leave window if poss to circulate some air. The room was small but clean. Not much space for loads of luggage or hanging of clothes but adequate for my 3 nights stay. I shared a bathroom n toilet but again it was kept clean so no issues at all. The front desk are friendly enough, they won't win any awards for their concierge service but then this isn't the Hilton so why would it. It's New York on a budget basically. I would recommend if you didn't want to spend a fortune on accommodation. Perfect for the solo traveller like me or a couple. Though maybe not a honeymoon or romantic getaway. Overall would stay here again without doubt. Best restaurant nearby Bistango (Italian based) & best bar nearby Molly's. Enjoy.

Room Tip: Depends what you want, view but noise or quiet without view, your choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Pa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This hotel was a wonderful deal. It was close in proximity to the places that my boyfriend and I were going, so that was great. The room that we had was small, but generally what I expected, very clean. We had a shared bathroom which I was a little skeptical about at first, but it ended up being completely fine...hardly ever a wait, and always very clean. There were 2 shared bathrooms on my floor, and that was plenty because I think some other people had their own bathrooms...and if that will save me about $100? I wish more hotels offered that option. My boyfriend and I were going to a festival on Sunday and didn't want to carry our luggage around all day, so the hotel kept our luggage in a storage room even after checkout for no extra cost. I'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoylake, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The room was small but very clean. The public parts of the building were cleaned several times per day and so was the shared bathroom. good location close to restaurants and the subway. The price was very good for New York. Best value attractions: the Staten Island Ferry with its view of the Statue of Liberty, ( and its free), Intrepid, which is a retired WW2 aircraft carrier with a collection of planes including a Concorde. The story of their attack by Kamikazes is very moving.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahore, Pakistan
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

1- Small Rooms but great Value for Money! 2- We got a Twin Bed en suite Washroom 3- Room was clean so no issues...3- Near by 24 HR convenience store and Mc Donalds 4- 5th & 6th Avenue is just 5 Mins Walk 5- Times Square is looong walk but thats the fun part as well.... Plan your Central Park by late afternoon and spend the time at Times Square almost the whole time till Mid Night, ppl are great just sit back and watch... 5- JFK is a fixed rate by taxi, ask reception to call for you it is just USD 55-60 La Guardia between 30-35... If you don't have time dont bother going Broklyn Bridge, ask at Times Square to get your professional photo and change background... Dont take the expensive tour watching Statue of Liberty Honestly, there is a restriction to go up there.... Spend time shopping at 5th Avenue, great offs, not at all expensive, great deals...Have Fun and Enjoy NYC by choosing the decent hotel like Hotel 31 (Remember it is SMALL) No American Breakfast as well...6- Lift is not only small but terrible, that is one thing you will notice

Room Tip: Take it away from the Road
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in a great location close to restaurants and the subway. Our room and the shared bathroom were very clean. There was however only one working bathroom on our floor which meant we often had to visit other levels. This also meant no sleeping in passed 8am as our room (712) was right next door to the closed bathroom and they were having fixed. We also had noisy neighbours on the otherside of us having a good old time at all hours of the night (if you get my drift). The hotel was very busy and we don't bother with the tiny elevator as it was always in use. Hotel staff were helpful but not friendly but it is NYC! Overall you get what you pay for and this hotel was priced as a hostel so I didn't have big expectations.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel 31? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 31

Address: 120 East 31 Street, New York City, NY 10016
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#171 Business Hotel in New York City
#229 Family Hotel in New York City
#248 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 31 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Booking.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Hotel 31 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
31 Hotel New York City
Hotel 31 New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel 31, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.