We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but pretty busy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel 31

Save Saved
You added Hotel 31 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel 31
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   120 East 31 Street, New York City, NY 10016 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #231 of 446 hotels in New York City
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location but pretty busy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in a great location close to restaurants and the subway. Our room and the shared bathroom were very clean. There was however only one working bathroom on our floor which meant we often had to visit other levels. This also meant no sleeping in passed 8am as our room (712) was right next door to the closed bathroom and they were having fixed. We also had noisy neighbours on the otherside of us having a good old time at all hours of the night (if you get my drift). The hotel was very busy and we don't bother with the tiny elevator as it was always in use. Hotel staff were helpful but not friendly but it is NYC! Overall you get what you pay for and this hotel was priced as a hostel so I didn't have big expectations.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,291 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    311
    682
    193
    66
    39
See reviews for
84
362
94
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Given the price we paid (and this being NYC, everything's relative), this was good value for money and a perfectly nice hotel, without going the extra mile.
We had a shared toilet/shower, but they were perfectly clean and never had a wait so it was not an issue. Room was tiny, but again was clean and had everything we needed (TV, wash basin, electrics etc). You don't go to New York to stay in the room anyways, so I would definitely stay here again. Good location too, 5 mins from Empire State.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
As, Norway
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

If you dont want to spend too much money on a hotel in New York, but still want your own room. This is perfect. It is very close to the empire state building og has some cosy breakfast places right by.

The rooms were small and if you want the cheapest room you have to share bathrooms with the other rooms on the same floor. But in NY you dont want to spend your time in the hotel room, so this was perfect. It was clean, and the bed was ok.

It has a tv, air condition and the staff are very nice. They can also watch your luggage after checkout the last day. We even stored our extra luggage we didnt need while there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gees ( Holland)
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We had a room with two beds and a private bathroom on the eighth floor. Adequate, clean, excellent double beds and pillows, friendly and helpful staff. Presence of coffee options. Bit noisy air conditioning, Little space in the room for suitcases. Only one chair. We missed a fridge. Great location with many restaurants and opportunities to use takeaway meals. The hotel is situated next to a small but excellent sushi restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosario, Argentina
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

True it has no lobby, and no breakfast included. But it's cosy, the rooms are nice and clean and comfortable. And its location is excellent, being near all central spots in Manhattan. Compared to the price of other hotels this one is worth the money, I'd come back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel 31? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 31

Also Known As:
31 Hotel New York City
Hotel 31 New York
Address: 120 East 31 Street, New York City, NY 10016
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#238 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 31 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Venere, HostelBookers, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Otel so you can book your Hotel 31 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel 31, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.