We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel 31

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel 31 to your Saves list
Hotel 31
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   120 East 31 Street, New York City, NY 10016 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #229 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Write a Review

1,086 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    553
    177
    51
    38
See reviews for
108
413
116
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, UK
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I was so happy to find this small hotel in NY - with a distinctive old-world cham ! Although no fancy service, the room and the shared bathroom were very clean. The staff was very friendly and professional.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Loved the location, which makes is easy to get around Manhattan no matter what the weather. Older style hotel, with lots of charming potential and older style potential. Not living up to its potential at the moment, but still a good place to stay. No service as such, but we felt safe.
Rooms desperately overheated, but we could open all the windows to make it OK. Very over-scented, which was also OK as long as you left the windows open for an hour or so. Wifi not free, but there's a great Starbucks just around the corner for that.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I chose to stay in this hotel as it was the cheapest hotel near to where my friends were staying. The Hotel is located very well, not to far from the empire state building. It was cheap and nothing to fancy. The receptionist was very friendly on arrival and was very helpful when asking for directions and nearest food shops. I had a single room on the 8th floor, i didnt have a the greatest view but it was still worth it for the price i was paying for the room. The room itself was spacious for one person, the sink in the room was handy as the bathrooms are located down the hallway. The shared bathroom situation wasnt a problem, there was nobody in there at the times i needed to use the bathroom - it was also kept very tidy and clean. I had one tiny problem with my hotel room and that was the fact that it got too hot. The heating was on a constant setting with no way of turning it down, which meant opening the window in the middle of the night to cool the room. My Room also had various sound effects, the heating hissed and the room creaked throughout the night.
The Wifi in the hotel is good, not the greatest or fast and struggles at peak times but it was free and did its job.
The resturants and shops located near the hotel are good, the nice pizza place called Vezzo just on the corner of the street is very nice, the deliver to the hotel or you can just order and pick up. I found the starbucks on lexington avenue on 24th Street very handy as it was situated between this hotel and my friends hotel.
Overall, i would stay in this hotel again if i ever plan a trip to New York.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

The hotel looked old but it was really decent. Room was clean and tidy. Despite no priviate washroom in room, the shared washroom was clean and was almost always vacant. It would be better if hand soap was provided in the washroom. The location of the hotel was good, the nearest subway station was only 1 block away. I am very satisfied with the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

i chose to stay here on price alone,i come to New york alot,and know how steep the price can get,i stayed in a single room 402,wow very small,but hey its new york,very clean room,no view,but who wants to stay inside all day,great wallpaper some would say dated,id say kookie!the only downsides to the room were,i kept getting static shocks of metal objects,and at times it was way too warm in the room,even when it was 25f outside,the adjoined door from the elevator nearly touched my door,the tv only came with 10 channels,no cbs?? no dave!??i was at the back,no street noise,i didnt feel it was a happy place,let me explain,ive stay at their sister hotel,Hotel 17,about 9/8 times,and there you get the sense its a fun place,maybee its me,Location Location Location,is excellent! if you want to see the iconic sights of Manhattan,i usually dont,i prefer the more bar/club life,i found the area dotted with restaurants and bars that were pricey,swanky neighbourhood tho,great little deli on the corner of the street,all in all i wouldnt stay here again,the price did it for me $60 a night! great budget place,be good for couples,not a george costanza type like me ;-)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel 31? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 31

Address: 120 East 31 Street, New York City, NY 10016
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#192 Business Hotel in New York City
#226 Family Hotel in New York City
#241 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 31 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel 31 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
31 Hotel New York City
Hotel 31 New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel 31, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.