We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and staff; noisy A/C” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Martha Washington Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Martha Washington Hotel to your Saves list
Martha Washington Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   29 East 29th Street, New York City, NY 10016 (Formerly King & Grove New York) (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
$50 Food Credit
Ranked #210 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Boise, Idaho
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great location and staff; noisy A/C”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We love staying at boutique hotels like the Chelsea Hotels and booked a night for a layover in NYC. The check-in was easy and the room was nice (great bed, small room, everything clean). I fell asleep but was awoken by the loud air conditioner around 2. Maybe our room (428) was too close to the central A/C source, but it kept waking me up most of the night. I would stay at the Martha Washington in the future but will make sure to ask for a quieter room.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    145
    37
    14
    4
See reviews for
39
116
30
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed two nights over the Easter/Passover weekend, booking through Jetsetter, which claims that its editors have approved every listing. Based on our experience, we won't be returning to the Martha Washington and we won't be trusting Jetsetter's judgment in the future.

Trendy? They sure try. The ground floor is dominated by its large, crowded, noisy restaurant -- all hard surfaces and sharp edges. Breakfast $25 a head -- you'll pay half that at several places in a 2 block radius. The reception desk is tucked in a back corner, in the traffic pattern on the way to the large bar. The swirl of suitcases, guests, and bar patrons would be entertaining if you weren't part of it.

We arrived at 2:45 p.m. but were told our room wouldn't be ready until 3:00. OK, technically it wasn't supposed to be, but the room we were given was clearly one of their "emergency rooms" which hadn't been occupied for days. Telltale signs: A/C was off, so it was stuffy; bathroom was tiny with a ⅓-sized sink (roughly the size of the ones on an airplane); bathroom mirror was a miniature version of the designer-intended model (the radius was so small my 5'-3" wife could only see her forehead); two holes had been spackled where the over-sink shelf used to be; there was no shower door; there were imprints in the carpet where furniture (i.e. chest of drawers) used to be. Front desk response was "We're full, we'll try to move you tomorrow." Oh, and the missing shower door? "It's supposed to be that way." Really? Then why were there hinges on the wall?

So the next morning we repacked our suitcases in the hope of being moved, and we were (though that was a maybe when we went out at 11:00). The new room was larger, but most of that additional space was wasted -- space for space's sake, with largely pointless duplicative furnishings. Picture two squares pushed together so the common edge is only 50% overlapped. One square has a queen bed, a desk, wall-mounted TV, and bed tables; the other square has another desk, another wall-mounted TV (literally 3 feet from the first TV), and a wardrobe. No couch or reading chair. The bathroom was a vast improvement over the first, which means it had what you'd expect for $250+ (full-size sink, tub/shower, etc.).

To be sure, the female front desk staff was pleasant (and I had the sense they were embarrassed by the room problem); the one male was indifferent at best. The bellman/doorman was also most helpful, and desperately needs assistance. The front doors are heavy and unwieldy, which would fully occupy a doorman (and help overcome the uncertainty when walking into what amounts to the restaurant when coming off the street).

Overall, there are better values within a couple of blocks.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The Lobby restaurant / bar is great - high ceilings and very hip, we only had drinks there but it was packed every night and food smelled amazing. Drink selection was great.
The rooms are very modern, stylish and comfortable.
Loved this hotel and cannot wait to go back.
Also the staff were extremely friendly and helpful.
Location is great and 1 block from the subway so very easy to get around.
Bonus the windows opened - which I love!

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Enjoyed everything about this boutique hotel. Good location with restaurants easy walking distance. We walked to Times Square - no problem. The staff were excellent The rooms clean and very nicely decorated. My only 'complaints' would be no coffee maker and the AC is loud but very efficient. Other than that it was a very quiet room. No traffic noise at all.
The restaurant in the hotel is VERY popular.Busy every night. The pizza is killer!
For the price- excellent.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed here back in December during the holidays. Got a really great price on this at a discount hotel site, considering the excellent location and nice layout. Our room was pretty big for midtown Manhattan - decently spacious. The main floor is nice, didn't eat at the restaurant there but it looked very sleek and modern. Service was good and responsive. Definitely would highly recommend the place.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarthaWashintongNYC, Front Office Manager at Martha Washington Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you so much for your review. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your time at Martha Washington and felt there was real value. We also thank you for your kind comments regarding our layout, service from our reception team and location. We will continue to strive for excellence and we hope to see you in the near future.


Kind Regards,


Jorge Gamarra
Senior Guest Services Manager
Martha Washington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed here for 2 nights to visit NYC with my in laws who are visiting from abroad. I found a good deal on a discount booking website and the hotel looked nice and the location seems good so I decided to go for it. It didn't disappoint. The hotel is very sleek and modern, with a trendy restaurant and bar area as soon as you walk in. The rooms are also sleek and modern and clean. The bathroom is spacious with a nice shower. The bed is ridiculously comfortable! The hotel staff was all very accommodating and helped immediately provide a crib for our baby, and accommodate our rooms on the same floor as my inlaws as well as making sure our reservations were seamless despite booking the two nights separately. The location was great too... off the hustle and bustle of Time Square but still an easy walk from it as well as all the other midtown tourist attractions, close to subway, and plenty of nice restaurants nearby. Would definitely stay again in the future.

Stayed May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarthaWashintongNYC, Front Office Manager at Martha Washington Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you for your review of Martha Washington! We are elated to hear you felt the hotel was sleek and modern and that our beds were quite comfortable. It is also great to hear you felt our staff were welcoming and accommodated all of your requests. We will continue to strive for excellence and we hope to see you in the near future!!!

Warmest Regards,


Jorge Gamarra
Senior Guest Services Manager
Martha Washington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chinchilla, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

First time to USA for my daughters 21st. Rooms are small but super clean, great decor & good size bathroom. Perfect location with 28St subway just around the corner. Book for restaurant Marta as it is very popular & delicious food. Renee the concierge is fantastic - ask her anything! She gave us wonderful wet weather alternatives that we loved & wouldn't have found ourselves. Eat at "Bread & Butter" for quick reasonable meals. Loved every minute of our stay here.

Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarthaWashintongNYC, Front Office Manager at Martha Washington Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you so much for your review. We are thrilled you had a chance to try Marta and enjoyed their amazing menu! We also wanted to thank you for your kind comments regarding our hotel location and staff. Renee and our team thank you for your invaluable input and we hope to see you in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Jorge Gamarra
Senior Guest Services Manager
Martha Washington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Martha Washington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martha Washington Hotel

Address: 29 East 29th Street, New York City, NY 10016 (Formerly King & Grove New York)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #210 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Martha Washington Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Martha Washington is located in the heart of one of Manhattan's fastest growing neighborhoods, making it the ideal destination for business and leisure travelers alike. Just blocks from The Empire State Building, Bryant Park and The Fashion District, the area surrounding Madison Square Park is also host to some of New York's trendiest new boutiques, restaurants and bars. The 261 guest rooms offer exceptional comfort with plush bedding, sleek and spacious bathrooms, and lavish amenities along with Marta, the newest restaurant from Danny Meyer and Union Square Hospitality. The hotel also features over 7,000 sq ft of indoor and outdoor meeting and event space. Built in 1903 exclusively for women, we have restored the hotel to be exclusively for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Agoda, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Martha Washington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Martha Washington Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.