We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central position” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Martha Washington Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Martha Washington Hotel to your Saves list
Martha Washington Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   29 East 29th Street, New York City, NY 10016 (Formerly King & Grove New York) (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
$50 Food Credit
Ranked #205 of 463 Hotels in New York City
West Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Central position”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Lovely boutique hotel on east 29th street. Difficult to get anything central in new york but this is probably it. 2 blocks from the Empire State building. 1 block from subway. Rooms compact but well equipped. Would have benefitted from in room tea /coffee making facilities.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    128
    32
    12
    4
See reviews for
33
101
30
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My friend and I stayed here while in NYC for four days. My friend is frugal so we settled on this hotel, with a room with two twin beds. The room was #315 or #325 I believe. The good parts was that it was clean, had comfortable beds, and large bathroom. However, our room was in front of the elevator and early in the morning we kept hearing and feeling vibration like the sound and feel of a large dryer. We wondered if we were close to the laundry area. Next time we will upgrade. I still would stay here again because it is a great location. It is close to two subway lines. The staff here were very friendly, especially Renee the Concierge. If we were in Midtown/Times Square it cost us about $10.00 for a taxi ride back to the hotel. This was great especially after an evening Broadway show in cold weather! We went elsewhere for breakfast. We had breakfast once at Marta in the hotel, it had limited breakfast options and found better options at better prices elsewhere.

Room Tip: Don't take rooms by elevator!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Overall another great stay. I called in the morning because I needed to check on early and the Manager was able to have the room ready. Renee made a few dinner reservations for me and Sam at the front desk could not have been more helpful.

The hotel is a little dark but the staff makes up for it.

Stayed April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This is a really lovely boutique hotel in a great location with a fab in house restaurant. I arrived at 1am, feeling frazzled after a delayed flight and huge queues at immigration. Shelley on reception welcomed me like an old friend and made me feel right at home. I will be coming back!

Room Tip: I would ask for a room on the upper floors, just because this is NYC and there is always street nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

This was our first visit to New York. We enjoyed our stay at the Martha Washington. The staff was very professional, helpful and attentive to our needs. One of the bell boys, Stephen, was very helpful and polite!! We would stay here again.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarthaWashintongNYC, Front Office Manager at Martha Washington Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are thrilled you chose Martha Washington for your first visit to New York! We are also thrilled to hear you enjoyed our staff and notably Stephen for his impeccable service.

We hope to see you again in the near future,


Warmest Regards,

Jorge Gamarra
Senior Guest Services Manager
Martha Washington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Got this hotel for a great rate on Hotwire for $115 per night on a weekend in mid December. You walk by a classy restaurant on way to check in desk. Very quick check in. Room was a little small ( = normal for NYC) but was very nicely appointed and clean. I liked that room had a safe and the bed was very comfy. close to good restaurants and bars and subway too.

Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarthaWashintongNYC, Guest Relations Manager at Martha Washington Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Thank you very much for your great review of our hotel.

It is wonderful to hear that our staff provides an expedient service and that you liked our rooms.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope you can come back soon.

Thank you

Jorge Gamarra
Senior Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul Province, Turkey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed in this hote 4 night. The staff is really friendly and helpful (esspecially the guy dancing in reception :)). It is very close to subway stations and 10 minutes walk reaches you time square. Rooms are a bit small but very comfortable. Free wifi was also great; no need to pay for extra speed wifi.They also have a great pizza restaurant at the ground floor. It is very hard to find an available table for dinner. You should either book a table before you arrive New York or go around 5 pm to sit one of the non-reservable tables for an early dinner.

Room Tip: We stayed at 819 and it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarthaWashintongNYC, Guest Relations Manager at Martha Washington Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for your great review of Martha Washington.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay

Sorry to hear about the difficulty to get a table at the restaurant. Our Concierge holds some tables for our hotel guests. Please contact our Concierge during your next stay to make a reservation at the Marta.

Thank You

Jorge Gamarra
Senior Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Martha Washington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martha Washington Hotel

Address: 29 East 29th Street, New York City, NY 10016 (Formerly King & Grove New York)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #205 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Martha Washington Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Martha Washington is located in the heart of one of Manhattan's fastest growing neighborhoods, making it the ideal destination for business and leisure travelers alike. Just blocks from The Empire State Building, Bryant Park and The Fashion District, the area surrounding Madison Square Park is also host to some of New York's trendiest new boutiques, restaurants and bars. The 261 guest rooms offer exceptional comfort with plush bedding, sleek and spacious bathrooms, and lavish amenities along with Marta, the newest restaurant from Danny Meyer and Union Square Hospitality. The hotel also features over 7,000 sq ft of indoor and outdoor meeting and event space. Built in 1903 exclusively for women, we have restored the hotel to be exclusively for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Martha Washington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Martha Washington Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.