We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love New York” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Martha Washington Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Martha Washington Hotel to your Saves list
Martha Washington Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   29 East 29th Street, New York City, NY 10016 (Formerly King & Grove New York) (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
10% off + $50 Food Credit
Ranked #226 of 460 Hotels in New York City
Leeds
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Love New York”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Lovely hotel with great staff and ideally placed for getting around New York, I would have rated it higher had it not been for the building work that was being done for the whole of our visit which should have been done before we got there. Hopefully they have finished now for other visitors to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    99
    27
    10
    3
See reviews for
24
79
26
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

So the good:
-Very decently priced for its location. You will be hard pressed to find a more reasonably priced room in Chelsea.
-Location is ideal, its in Chelsea and its close to both the train (R) and the duane reade.
-The room was clean.

The inconveniences:
-I pre-paid for my room but upon checkout was charged $174. I called and was told it was a glitch in the system and would be removed in 3-5 days. It was removed, but shouldn't have been there in the first place.
-Cleaning supplies were left in our room after it was cleaned.
-Room service attendant could not tell us anything about what was on the menu and the food took a bit too long to arrive.
-Rooms were tiny, which I assumed they would be but just be aware of the almost complete lack of counter space. (I was in a standard room)
-The heating didn't work, so an engineer had to come and fix it.
-The wifi is free for the "slow" internet, and $10 a day for highspeed internet. They suggest highspeed for streaming. I had no issue with YouTube on the free internet but did not attempt Netflix. Overall, I would have liked that the differential be disclosed in advance.

Overall, the hotel was good. It was well priced for Manhattan and clean which are two big selling points, but it could be much better if the staff just paid a little more attention to small issues.

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I stayed here with my husband for 4 nights while on a work visit to NYC. When we arrived on Saturday night, the place was buzzing - there's a very busy restaurant on the first floor. But our room, on the 12th floor, was well away from the noise and bustle. The girl on reception helpfully pointed us to a little place up the street where we could get something quick and fresh to eat.
The room was small, as mentioned by other reviewers, but this is Manhattan. We had enough space for two of us, with two large bags, and the storage was pretty good. The bathroom was lovely, with a roomy and powerful shower.
During our stay we ate breakfast at the hotel just once, and had a couple of drinks and some pizza one night. It was all good, and the service was excellent.
The best thing about the hotel is the location. We were able to walk everywhere, and there is a subway station nearby, if you need to go a little further.

Room Tip: A high floor, away from the bustle at street level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This was my birthday treat from my wife, and it was fantastic. I have not been to NYC since 1982 and wow it has changed but mostly for the best.
Our base was the Martha Washington Hotel on 29th Street between Madison and Park Ave. It is well situated and has a nice feel. The bus boy's Steve and ???? where very helpful, unlike the non smiling grumpy receptionists(bar one and I can't remember her name), cheer up girls and SMILE!! The room is small but we did not spend allot of time in there so that's ok. We did have one issue and that was with the seating in the hotel, if your not eating in the hotel there is no where to sit and we where "hotel guests". We bought a drink and then found we could not sit and wait for the table as the seating was reserved. I have a bad hip and need to sit down, so I sat at a table with a reserved sign on only to be told that I could not sit there as someone (not a guest) had booked a table.Well I politely said I would move if and when they arrived.... They never did!!
You need to address that as it just annoys paying hotel guests!!
The restaurant was really popular and very busy so you do need to book, we did eat in there but to be honest I was not overly impressed, the lamb was dry and the pizza very salty. There are millions of great restaurants in the NYC so get out and try as many as you can! My favorite was Keen and that is walking distance, for breakfast get down to Eisenburgs, (a short walk) a real nice old fashioned dinner.

Room Tip: Support the Yellow Cabs or they will disappear!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Reasonably priced, perfectly clean and neat, wonderful people, quieter than I thought possible in the center of NYC. Concierge gave us a great hint with a local restaurant. We even got to see 5 inches of a blowing snow storm. Nice walk to Penn Station.

Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gresham, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

A co-worker and I stayed at the Martha Washington (then the King and Grove) on a business trip to the city. The service was tremendous even though the property was under construction at the time. The rooms were a bit cramped but nothing we couldn't deal with. I loved that mine had a view of the Empire State Building out the window. Pretty decent way to go to sleep each night. The location was great too. It was easy to get to lots of great spots in the city. No matter if I was on business or leisure travel, I'd stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Great location, friendly helpful staff . Concierge outstanding . Clean, compact room with every amenity and good sized bathroom. I particularly liked the high quality bathroom products. Housekeeping staff could not have been more cooperative. I so enjoyed staying here and I have recommended it to others who also have been pleased with the standard of room and service. The restaurant serves excellent food and the bar has a good atmosphere. The quality of the champagne served was excellent and contributed to my celebration. I look forward to staying at the MW again.

Room Tip: You will get a good sleep as the hotel is quiet. View not necessary. Nice atmosphere and vibe from r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarthaWashintongNYC, Manager at Martha Washington Hotel, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Rose1828,

Thank you for your wonderful review of Martha Washington. Our Concierge team is at the top of their game and we are glad you were able to enjoy their services. We hope you can join us again soon.

John Beck
Director of Front Office Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Martha Washington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martha Washington Hotel

Address: 29 East 29th Street, New York City, NY 10016 (Formerly King & Grove New York)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #226 of 460 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Martha Washington Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Martha Washington is located in the heart of one of Manhattan's fastest growing neighborhoods, making it the ideal destination for business and leisure travelers alike. Just blocks from The Empire State Building, Bryant Park and The Fashion District, the area surrounding Madison Square Park is also host to some of New York's trendiest new boutiques, restaurants and bars. The 261 guest rooms offer exceptional comfort with plush bedding, sleek and spacious bathrooms, and lavish amenities along with Marta, the newest restaurant from Danny Meyer and Union Square Hospitality. The hotel also features over 7,000 sq ft of indoor and outdoor meeting and event space. Built in 1903 exclusively for women, we have restored the hotel to be exclusively for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Martha Washington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Martha Washington Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.