We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“grt hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Martha Washington Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Martha Washington Hotel to your Saves list
Martha Washington Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   29 East 29th Street, New York City, NY 10016 (Formerly King & Grove New York) (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2
Ranked #294 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Runcorn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“grt hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed here when it was the 30 30 just as good this time round nice
Friendly staff rooms excellent best bed I have ever slept in wish I could have fitted it in my case will stay here again had a grtview of the empire state building from the window and close for most shopping

Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    48
    15
    7
    0
See reviews for
8
46
10
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We booked the Martha Washington for a quick visit to NYC. The area is not hip, but it's easy to walk to better areas or to multiple subway lines. My frustration was quality of service as well as rooms/hallways. Despite asking to be on non-construction floor, we were placed on one that smelled of mold on arrival and then of paint fumes as they worked on the hallways. When expressing concerns to front desk, their response was a shrug. A member of the cleaning team saw me in hallway one day and actually asked if I expected her to freshen the room that day. The front desk also dropped the ball on a service I requested-- again, when brought to their attention, the response was a shrug.

The rooms were fine, though cheap-- they carpeted over loose floor boards, which created an adventure walking around at night.

If you are in a pinch and need an affordable place to stay, the MW is adequate, though no better in quality or service than your holiday inn level chains.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarthaWashintongNYC, Manager at Martha Washington Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear NYCTraveller50,

We appreciate your candid feedback about your stay at Martha Washington. As you know we are completing a carpet replacement in our guest room corridors and we apologize that the work affected your experience. We will be meeting with our team regarding your experience to ensure future guests do not have the same perception of service.

John Beck
Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Whenever I am in NYC on business or pleasure I like to stay here. Especially since the remodel, the hotel has a great buzz about it! The staff are great - especially Shelley who always has a smile for early morning check-outs - and I love how they remember who I am and my name!

The rooms are fine - nicely appointed and the usual size you'd expect from a NYC hotel room. Great products in the bathrooms, mini bars, and the usual amenities you'd expect.

I am eagerly anticipating the re-opening of the gym. While the hotel was remodeling they had a temporary one in one of the bedrooms which was a very poor excuse for a fitness center - I am hopeful for great things as whatever they end up with will need to match the rest of the wonderful remodel.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarthaWashintongNYC, Manager at Martha Washington Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear DPDobson-Smith,

Thank you for choosing the Martha Washington. We appreciate the buzz we have created with our remodel and hope we can have you back soon.

John Beck
Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Fab hotel. Not really too sure what to expect when you walk in and have to walk past the restaurant to get to reception, but it really was great. Room was spotless, bathroom was huge for a New York hotel. Staff were really really helpful and the location is just fabulous. No fridge, but they let us use a staff one.
Definitely will stay here again :)

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarthaWashintongNYC, Manager at Martha Washington Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Scubastarlet,

Thank you for staying with us at Martha Washington. Our staff is what sets us apart as a true luxury hotel. We are glad you were able to find them as fabulous as we do.

We would love to have you back again.

John Beck
Director of Front Office Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Visited NYC for a day/night "on the town". Took an early train into Grand Central and was able to drop off bags early in the a.m. so we didn't have to lug the around all day. Martha Washington is right in the heart of mid town. Close to everything. Had a corner room on the 7th floor (fast elevators). Room was huge, clean, and modern. But the bed was so comfortable, much needed after strolling through the city all day. Great staff (Almira, Nomi) + great room + great location = a great stay at the Martha Washington !!

Room Tip: Had a corner room. It was huge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarthaWashintongNYC, Manager at Martha Washington Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Michael C,

Thank you for staying with us. We are glad you were able to enjoy your night on the town at Martha Washington. Our team, Almira and Njomza included, strive to provide the high level of service you experience to all our guests. We hope you can join us again.

John Beck
Director of Front Office Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We enjoyed a few great cocktails and coffee stout while waiting to go to our Christmas Party.

The room was nice, clean and ready when we checked in.
Finding Davines products was a nice surprise.

Loved the fantastic view from the 12th floor, of the old water towers and The Empire State Building.

The evening concierge, Shelley assisted us in getting a New York pizza to "round" out the evening.

The doorman walked quickly, up the road, to hail a taxi to get us on our way in the morning.

Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarthaWashintongNYC, Manager at Martha Washington Hotel, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear IwasHereAndThere,

Thank you for taking the time to review Marta Washington. We are glad you were able to experience our Lounge Veronica's before you went to your Christmas Party. Our Davines Amenities have been a big hit with our guests and we are happy you enjoyed them. Words can not describe how lucky we are to have Shelley on our Team, as you can see from our past reviews our guests enjoy the level of service she provides.

We hope you can come back to enjoy Martha Washington soon.

John Beck
Director of Front Office Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice place in a good location.
Helpful and friendly staff.
Room was fine - great bed and bathroom, no bar fridge is a killer though.
No hot food for breakfast is very disappointing considering the -5°C weather.

Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarthaWashintongNYC, Manager at Martha Washington Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Troy N,

Thank you for your feedback. Our restaurant, Marta, is open 7 days a week for breakfast at 7am and the menu includes 4 unique egg dishes, Woof Fired Semolina Pancakes, various breakfast meats and oatmeal. We are sorry that you were not able to experience our bountiful offerings. For your future stays we do also offer room service starting at 6am and our Concierge Team can recommend local restaurants that start serving breakfast earlier.

We hope we can see you again soon.

John Beck
Director of Front Office Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Martha Washington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martha Washington Hotel

Address: 29 East 29th Street, New York City, NY 10016 (Formerly King & Grove New York)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #294 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Martha Washington Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Martha Washington is located in the heart of one of Manhattan's fastest growing neighborhoods, making it the ideal destination for business and leisure travelers alike. Just blocks from The Empire State Building, Bryant Park and The Fashion District, the area surrounding Madison Square Park is also host to some of New York's trendiest new boutiques, restaurants and bars. The 261 guest rooms offer exceptional comfort with plush bedding, sleek and spacious bathrooms, and lavish amenities along with Marta, the newest restaurant from Danny Meyer and Union Square Hospitality premiering September 2014. Built in 1903 exclusively for women, we have restored the hotel to be exclusively for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Jetsetter, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Amex, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Martha Washington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Martha Washington Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.