We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The magnificent Shelly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Martha Washington Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Martha Washington Hotel to your Saves list
Martha Washington Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   29 East 29th Street, New York City, NY 10016 (Formerly King & Grove New York) (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2
Ranked #299 of 455 Hotels in New York City
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The magnificent Shelly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We booked for 5 nights at this hotel. We'd stayed before when it was the 30/30 and again when it was the King and Grove.
Both previous stays were pleasant, but this visit was even better - much to do with the lovely Shelly - the receptionist supreme. I had seen her name checked on previous Trip Advisor reviews for this hotel and made a point of seeing if she was as delightful as others had stated.
I was not disappointed!
She was efficiency and helpfulness personified and could not have done more to make our stay more pleasant. We were in NY for thanksgiving and she went out of her way to provide us with local insider information so that we knew the best places to view the Macy's parade and where the best places to dine out were. All in all, a great trip.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    30
    12
    3
    0
See reviews for
8
31
8
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Conyers, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We loved the Martha Washington Hotel in NYC. It was extremely clean, the room was spacious, the employees were very helpful and kind! We had a corner room and it was really much larger than we were expecting. MARTA, the restaurant in this hotel, was AWESOME! We loved it!

The only thing that was a little unusual was the bathroom. It does not have a regular shower area so the water from the shower gets the whole bathroom wet.

We would definitely stay at this hotel again and we would totally recommend it!

It is just a few minutes walk to The Empire State Building. :)

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor due to traffic from street below. Corner rooms are larger and sunny...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarthaWashintongNYC, Manager at Martha Washington Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear MandR13,

Thank you for taking the time to review Martha Washington. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Our room layouts are unique and we can arrange for a different style bathroom for your next visit.

We hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,
John Beck
Director of Front Office Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

After having moved out of another Manhattan Hotel halfway through my trip (see my review of the Hudson Hotel), I found the Martha Washington to be just what I needed. The hotel and its rooms were light, airy and there was a nice buzz about the place. The restaurant was always busy and clearly popular with residents and non-residents alike. The room was small, but not pokey, and had everything I needed. The staff were great. I have to mention, in particular, Eric, one of the doormen who helped me get a cab at the worst time of the day, when I had all my luggage with me, even though I had only just enough money left for my fare and wasn't able to tip him at all. He was brilliant...thanks Eric! I felt really welcome here and would highly recommend this hotel - particularly to people travelling solo.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarthaWashintongNYC, Manager at Martha Washington Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Deb_101_deb,

Thank you for taking the time to review Martha Washington. We are proud of the service our staff deliveries especially Eric, we are happy to hear he was able to get you a taxi to the airport.

We hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,
John Beck
Director of Front Office Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Recently stayed at the Martha Washington. The scene was awesome, service was great - the bellman - Buddy Rubino was super helpful.

Only concern was super tiny rooms and bathrooms... if this doesn't bother you, would highly recommend staying here.

Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarthaWashintongNYC, Manager at Martha Washington Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Ravi B,

We appreciate you taking the time to review Martha Washington. We are proud of the service our staff deliveries especially Buddy, we are happy to hear he was ‘super helpful’.

We hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,
John Beck
Director of Front Office Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I arrived VERY early in the morning (6 AM) after a 12 hours inter-continental flight. I already got used to the idea that I will only get my room after few hours as the check-in time in my reservation said 3 PM. Yet Shelly, the excellent and lovely night-shift receptionist worked hard to find a room for me - that saved my stay!!!
The room was cozy - not big (it is NYC) but well equipped. The location is really good, and the downstairs chic restaurant also adds to the charm of the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarthaWashintongNYC, Manager at Martha Washington Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Sassonandesty,

Thank you for your review of the hotel, we are glad you keep choosing to stay with us. We are proud of the service our staff deliveries especially Shelley our Night Auditor, we are happy to hear she brightened your stay.

We hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,
John Beck
Director of Front Office Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

While this hotel may not be for everyone, I absolutely loved it. As a woman traveling alone, and one who loves small hotels, it was perfect! It had a great vibe and felt very intimate and welcoming. I had a room with a twin bed. It was small, but it was cozy and very well done -- perfect set up for a single person. The staff was super friendly and accommodating. I felt very safe staying alone there. The location was fantastic -- great part of town. I have traveled to NYC more times than I can count (even lived there) and have stayed in many different hotels. This one is at the top of my list. I will definitely consider staying at the Martha Washington the next time I'm in the city.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarthaWashintongNYC, Manager at Martha Washington Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Jennifer M,

Thank you for reviewing Martha Washington. We are pleased you enjoyed our hotel. We believe that a friendly staff leads to happy guests and we are glad you found our staff to be friendly and helpful. We are also glad you found our location convenient, the hotel is in an excellent location in Manhattan steps away from great restaurants and landmarks.

We hope to see you back soon.

Sincerely,
John Beck
Director of Front Office Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We used a second party website to book our stay at the Martha Washington Hotel. Our stay lasted 3 nights. The room was on the small sized but expected for NYC. The renovations had just finished when we got there so that was a nice surprise. The restaurant in the lobby was packed every night and smelled delicious. I have recommended this hotel to friends and family to stay at during their NYC trips. It's central location is pretty great too - easily walkable to Times Square, Central Park and many more attractions. The concierge was not able to recommend a good restaurant when we asked him one night which was suprising, so we found a spot on our own.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarthaWashintongNYC, Manager at Martha Washington Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear TheBirdsView,

Thank you for reviewing Martha Washington. We are pleased you enjoyed our hotel and appreciate that you have recommend your friends and family. We are glad you found our location convenient, the hotel is in an excellent location in Manhattan steps away from great restaurants and landmarks.

We hope to see you back soon.

Sincerely,
John Beck
Director of Front Office Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Martha Washington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martha Washington Hotel

Address: 29 East 29th Street, New York City, NY 10016 (Formerly King & Grove New York)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #299 of 455 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Martha Washington Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Martha Washington is located in the heart of one of Manhattan's fastest growing neighborhoods, making it the ideal destination for business and leisure travelers alike. Just blocks from The Empire State Building, Bryant Park and The Fashion District, the area surrounding Madison Square Park is also host to some of New York's trendiest new boutiques, restaurants and bars. The 261 guest rooms offer exceptional comfort with plush bedding, sleek and spacious bathrooms, and lavish amenities along with Marta, the newest restaurant from Danny Meyer and Union Square Hospitality premiering September 2014. Built in 1903 exclusively for women, we have restored the hotel to be exclusively for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Martha Washington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Martha Washington Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.