We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would come back in a heartbeat...exactly as we hoped.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of King & Grove New York

Save Saved
You added King & Grove New York to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
King & Grove New York
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   29 East 29 Street, New York City, NY 10016 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 20%
Ranked #292 of 446 hotels in New York City
Penrith, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Would come back in a heartbeat...exactly as we hoped.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Me and a friend have recently returned from an 8 night stay at the king and grove. We had read reviews before we went and as always there was the odd bad review ( you can't please everyone) but they couldnt be more wrong.
We booked through thomsonworldwide and travelled from london to jfk after a smooth transfer from supershuttle we were greeted by friendly reception staff who checked us in promptly and the porter showed us to our room on the 8th floor and helped us with our bags. Our twin room was gorgeous, decor was modern with flt screen tv not that we had time to watch tv, included safe (very impressed as most places in europe charge extra for this) hairdryer, iron all in the room. Beds extremely comfortable, extremely clean and maids visited daily making beds, changing towels and squaring up of the room, One day they forgot to leave toilet paper but after a call to reception it was delivered to our room within 10 minutes. Not much of a view from our window but who cares when empire state building is less than 3 blocks away! :) some people said about noise but we found it to be quite quiet, the odd siren and person coming in at night not exactly a midnight rave. some people also said about the temperature and that their rooms were too hot/cold, we found it to be cosy and warm and if it got too hot we opened the window a jar while we were in. the only fault i could possibly agree with is when we had been shopping our room started to fill up with bags and it was hard to get around the room for the two suitcases and bags we had the room was a bit on the small side but we managed and it didnt take away from the quality of the room. we were really happy with everything. The hotel is in the perfect location on 29th street east between madison and 5th a short walk from rockerfella center, nyc public library and flat iron building, subway is on the next street so you could get to anywhere easily, the perfect midtown location! 29 dollars we paid for a 7 day pass and a short ride to 42nd street and shuttle to times square was excellent. If your looking for breakfast that isnt take out, head north on lexington towards 33rd street and youll find murray hill diner, perfect all american breakfast pancakes waffles and eggs set us up for our busy days. I would definately return to king and grove. Dont believe the bad reviews we loved it and if we return to new york we would definately stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingAndGrove, Front Office Manager at King & Grove New York, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
We are thrilled that you and your friends enjoyed your trip to NYC! We are extremely grateful for the near-perfect review. The points you have made about our location, our guest rooms, our service culture, and much more couldn’t be more accurate. It is simply what we do and who we strive to be at King & Grove New York. We truly look forward to your return in the very near future and wish all of you the best this New Year!

Sincerely,

Michael Hillier
Assistant Front Office Manager
King & Grove New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    183
    259
    112
    36
    16
See reviews for
71
245
48
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here one night during market week. The lobby, the bar and the whole atmosphere was great. The room was small but really clean. The bed was very comfortable...they've really maximized the space. My main and only issue is the bathroom. Only a shower which is not that bad but the sink is soooo tiny! Im a 5'3" small frame woman and could barely move my arms when brushing my teeth. I will stay here again but in a room with a larger bathroom.

PS - a million different places to eat around here..try Wine 30, it was amazing!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingAndGrove, Front Office Manager at King & Grove New York, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such an excellent review. Our lobby and its bar are great for a casual, relaxed cocktail after a long day and the beds are REALLY comfortable! We recommend that upon your return you book a larger room category such as our Premier Queen or King rooms. We look forward to your return!

Warm regards,

Michael Hillier
Assistant Front Office Manager
King & Grove New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

My partner and I left an Australian summer and stayed here for 14 nights from Dec 26 2012 - Jan 9 2013, during the busy winter New Year period. Upon our very late night arrival Shelley the night manager was the first to greet us, and honestly she should be the face of the hotel!! She made our stay at the King and Grove all the more special and magical. She was always extremely professional, helpful and always greeted you with a smile on a first name basis. She genuinely cared and loves her job. That kind of personalized service you don't get everywhere, let alone in New York. This was my fourth visit to NYC and my partners first. I've only ever stayed in the Theater District and now will definitely come back to this hotel. It is close to everything, and we walked everywhere..to The Freedom tower (Downtown) and also to Central Park (Uptown). The Empire State building is around the corner, the Flatiron Building, Eataly, Madison Square Park two blocks down...great wine bars, 24 hour hairdressers and restaurants just around the corner...I honestly was pleasantly surprised. There are subway entrances close by and Duane Reade around the corner for all your snacks. The room was spotlessly clean, the bed comfortable, the bathroom was perfect for a New York hotel and it had the best shower head. The air conditioning worked perfectly for a New York winter and the Crooked Knife bar across the road was a good drinking hole (I highly recommend it). The hotel lobby is very elegant and was always clean. There is free WiFi in the lobby and even though there is no tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms, I do know that they will be updating this in 2013. All in all...I have already recommended this hotel to friends and look forward to returning with my partner again...hopefully later this year! To the hotel management...Shelley your night manager should be commended for her exceptional service and representing your hotel with the utmost level of professionalism, knowledge and always with a smile.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingAndGrove, Front Office Manager at King & Grove New York, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
We are thrilled that you two enjoyed your stay with us during your trip to the Big Apple! Shelly is wonderful and our Housekeeping team is second-to-none in NYC. Our location is just right and the nearby restaurants are fantastic! With all of the things you can find online these days, there is still nothing better than a good old-fashioned recommendation. We look forward to your return in the very near future!

All the best,

Michael Hillier
Assistant Front Office Manager
King & Grove New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW YORK
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We are New Yorkers and had given our apartment to friends from out of town for the holiday week.
We happened upon King and Grove. Booked sight unseen (who cares-one night, right?) When we taxied to the front of the building we were pleased, when we entered the lobby impressed and the room was nice with two sets of windows (and a different view from our own uptown-fun) Very quiet, comfortable-excellent service.
Two thoughts. The sink was tinier than it needed to be for the bathroom-though I guess you need to accomodate big people too..I laughed at myself when rinsing toothpaste - the unexpected dimension made me accidentally spit on the floor twice.
The bar/lobby looks GREAT! I will keep it in mind for when we need a quiet tete a tete. The suggestion here is to dim the chandelier over the large couches. GREAT look and space, but I would never sit there. It looks like interrogation lighting. Beyond that-unflattering! How about candlelight on the table and a dimmer for the chandelier. Generally, really like everything and the other reviews are right. CLOSE to everything. Nice surprise. Thanks!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingAndGrove, Front Office Manager at King & Grove New York, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
We appreciate the kind comments and suggestions and are thrilled that the two of you enjoyed your stay with us! Our lobby is gorgeous and most of our rooms offer plenty of natural light. Our staff, however, is second-to-none and so is the service standard they provide. We look forward to your return in the very near future!

All the best,

Michael Hillier
Assistant Front Office Manager
King & Grove New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed for ten nights in New York on our honeymoon and booked the King and Grove hotel based on the good reviews it had received. We stayed in a king room. The room was spacious, spotlessly clean with a modern contemporary feel and was well equipped with a large flat screen telly and on suite bathroom, The bed was really comfortable and the perfect place to retreat after a long day sight seeing. The rest of the hotel had a nice clean and cosy feel to it too and is in a great location.

All the staff were extremely helpful, professional and friendly. Due to the standard of service the hotel provided contributed to a wonderful trip to New York with some great memories.
If we visit New York in the future we would not hesitate in staying there again and would highly recommend to anyone..

Thanks King and Grove...............

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingAndGrove, Front Office Manager at King & Grove New York, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
We are thrilled that the two of you enjoyed your Honeymoon here in NYC! Our King rooms are extremely spacious and the beds are REALLY comfortable. Our staff is simply fantastic and we all thank you very much for taking the time to write such a kind review! We look forward to your return in the very near future.

Best wishes,

Michael Hillier
Assistant Front Office Manage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Four of us stayed in this hotel for 5 days at the beginning of December. As usual I had read reviews on it and I must say we were not disappointed. The hotel is spotlessly clean, the beds are so comfortable which is really good after long days shopping and sightseeing. The location is excellent within walking distance of most places and the subway is also quite close 29dollars for a weekly ticket so if your not keen on walking or not able to, it is money well spent. There are plenty of bars and restaurant nearby but if you are having a drink in the hotel just note that I suppose like most hotels it is much more expensive. The hotel is very reasonable we thought and we would definitely recommend and would have no hesitation returning to it when back hopefully in New York again. New York City we loved so much to see and do, make sure you go to see a show, we went to the Lion King and it was excellent, Time Square, Bryant Park, skating in Central Park, Top of the rock, walk Brooklyn Bridge were all some of the thing we did and would recommend. Also as we went in December the Christmas lights were beautiful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingAndGrove, Front Office Manager at King & Grove New York, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you so very much for the kind review! We are thrilled that you and your friends enjoyed the trip together in NYC. Our rooms are gorgeous and our beds are REALLY comfortable! Our proximity to the Subway, great restaurants and bars, and attractions give our guests the best that Manhattan has to offer. We look forward to your return in the very near future.

All the best,

Michael Hillier
Assistant Front Office Manager
King & Grove New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We took a last minute trip to NYC and serendipitously found the King and Grove ~ Lovely bed and linens, two rooms, two flat screen TVs, elegant lobby and gracious welcome. Bathroom is all tile and there was a make-up mirror that was not lit and there was no light above the mirror and sink. A mixed blessing was windows that open, although they did not lock and there was a fire escape outside the windows:-0 There is no restaurant in the hotel but several within walking distance but $$$$! Fabulous location and we were very happy with our stay~

Room Tip: We chose the superior queen room so it was larger than the average room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingAndGrove, Front Office Manager at King & Grove New York, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
We are thrilled that you two enjoyed your last minute trip to NYC and we are glad "serendipity" bought you to us! Our beds are REALLY comfortable and the room decor/TV's are fantastic. We appreciate the kind review and look forward to your return in the very near future!

All the best,

Michael Hillier
Assistant Front Office Manager
King & Grove New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to King & Grove New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King & Grove New York

Address: 29 East 29 Street, New York City, NY 10016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #292 of 446 hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — King & Grove New York 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
King and Grove New York in the heart of New York's fashion and design district. Located in the heart of one of Manhattan's fastest growing neighborhoods, making it the ideal destination for business and leisure travelers alike. Just blocks from The Empire State Building, Bryant Park and The Fashion District, the area surrounding Madison Square Park is also host to some of New York's trendiest new boutiques, restaurants and bars.The 276 recently restored guest rooms offer exceptional comfort with plush bedding, sleek and spacious bathrooms, and luxury amenities. King and Grove New York is a great base to explore iconic neighborhoods, such as The Flatiron District, Gramercy Park, NoMad, Union Square, and The Village. All 276 bedrooms and suites are freshly renovated and feature beautiful sleek and spacious bathrooms. King and Grove New York offers complimentary WiFi and every room has plush down duvets, and 300 thread-count bedding as well as HD flat-screen TV's, and iPod docking stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, BookIt.com, Amex, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your King & Grove New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King & Grove New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.