We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful dinner and service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fishtail by David Burke

Fishtail by David Burke
135 E 62nd St, New York City, NY 10065-7301 (Manhattan)
+1 212-754-1300
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Fishtail by David Burke is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,629 of 11,751 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Cross street: Between Park and Lexington Avenues
Transit: F train to 63rd Street/Lexington Avenue, N, R, 4, 5 & 6 trains to 59th Street/Lexington Avenue.
NYC
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Wonderful dinner and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Went to dinner for a birthday and used the groupon for the prix fixed menu. First I would like to say the service was excellent and no one made you feel bad about having a groupon (apparently many patrons were using them). The waiter even remarked "so smart" when I gave him the groupon. The prix fixed menu was excellent with great choices including David Burkes signature dishes I.e pretzel crusted crab cake and lolly pop cheesecake tower. The dinner stared with a cold seafood tower for two. This included two complete lobsters, shrimp and oysters (yum) and worth the price of the groupon by itself. This was followed by a choice of four appetizers including the amazing pretzel crusted crabcake ($5 up charge). This was also quite large , next I had the filet mignon and lobster dumpling and my husband had the tuna planchard($12 up charge ). Both were excellent. The steak was cooked perfectly, though I was not really impressed ny the lobster dumplings. My husband liked the tuna. Other choices included lobster, swordfish, pasta dish etc. I want to mention we ordered the only items on the menu with supplemental charges. For dessert there were three choices one of which was the cheesecake lollipop tree. If you choose this it was for two. We did choose it and it was more than enough for two and it was delicious. Though I must Agee that the bubble gum whipped cream was too sweet to put on the cheesecake and unnecessary. As for drinks we each had a cocktail. I tried one of there special drinks called Bad Pear and it was delicious. My daughter had pre- ordered us a bottle of wine as a surprise for my birthday If I had any complaints it would be that the wines by the bottle were VERY expensive even for NYC restaurant. The dinner was excellent, the restaurant was attractive though tables were very close together (sit in second floor dining room) service was attentive. The wine prices were the only reason for a four star vs. five star rating. Also I would like to thank the staff for recognizing my birthday without embarrassing me by singing.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    56
    31
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boston MA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Downstream”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Sadly, Fishtiail seems to have gone downhill (downstream?) We had our first sub-par dinner during restaurant week but went back because of so many good dinners in the past. Tonight, the crabcakes were cold and the famous angry loblster was not a whole lobster, just its lesser parts - a significant limitation that was not revealed on the menu. Moreover, there's "read the fine print carefully" problem, as some oysters are excluded from the special prices, as is at least one desert, maybe other items too. If you are careful about finding exclustions and don't mind compromised (room temperature, less-than-promised, extra charge) dishes, Fishtail may be OK, but it does seem to be slipping.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Lovely setting simple well presented delicous fish offerings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This casual fish restaurant manages to procuce excellent sea food dishes, beautifully presented and served by a very profesional staff. Try their lobster rolls! They are delicious and plentiful.
This place is very popular and invariably crowded and noisy, try to get a table next to the windows, they are very cherie and quieter than the rest of the place. Try it, is a fun place, with good food and reasonable prices.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
711 reviews 711 reviews
284 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
395 helpful votes 395 helpful votes
“The taco sampler, ah yes! And there's more!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I've been to Fishtail twice and had an amazing meal both times. The taco sampler all by itself is almost enough for me to give the restaurant the highest marks. But there are many other dishes that are similarly extraordinary, and make me salivate just thinking about going there!

The dining rooms are designed in a whimsical and fun way with lampshades in the shape of waves and fish art and motives everywhere.

The only possible drawback I can imagine is that the restaurant's prices are rather high. But they do have specials of all kinds, like dollar oysters for happy hour during the week. And we've been there for brunch, and found that fairly reasonable. It's hard to be too critical of the prices, though, since they are in step with the neighborhood - Upper Eastside prices are going to be high. Now, if Burke were to open a restaurant in the East Village, it might be a different story!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Fishy combinations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Like David Burke´s Townhouse although almost exclusively fish here, the combinations and recipes are almost shocking in their innovation. It offers an interesting and exciting menu that enlivens the palate. Definitely worth it for fish lovers who can venture beyond grilled sole. The raw bar is also extremely good offering a variety of oysters.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fishtail by David Burke also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Fishtail by David Burke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fishtail by David Burke, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.