We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun night out” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sinigual

Sinigual
640 Third Ave, New York City, NY 10017 (Midtown)
(212) 286-0250
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Sinigual is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,413 of 11,186 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: 41st and 3rd Ave
Transit: Conveniently located on 41st and 3rd ave. One block from Grand Central Station.
Description: Sinigual celebrates a fusion of contemporary and native flavors of Mexico. Even the name itself is a fusion of words, meaning without equal, above the rest and unique. Sinigual artfully blends the traditional and the unexpected. A pleasing palette of colors, textures and tastes that brings to life the very essence of all that Mexico celebrates. Rich culture. Delicious cuisine. Festive gatherings of family and friends. At Sinigual, you will receive unparalleled service and taste creative interpretations of nuevo classics prepared with only the freshest and finest ingredients. Dishes are designed to satisfy and surprise. Our flour tortillas are handmade, prepared fresh throughout the day and served with our fresh salsa quemada, salsa roja and signature honey butter. We invite you on a culinary journey through Mexico's past. And it's future.
Englewood, New Jersey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fun night out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We went here Friday after work for happy hour. The bar scene was pretty crowded but still able to get seats. The only draw back is the bar area tends to be very noisy. The food was good and I would say the service was better. Not the best Mexican cuisine in NYC but overall it was very good and the bartender with her great personality and service really made for an enjoyable night out.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    62
    17
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Mexican”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We were looking for something close to the Westin and came across this gem. Our food was great and the servers were friendly. My only complaint was that it was really really hot - I don't think the air conditioner was working.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“wonderful slsa and appetizers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We went twice to this mexican restaurant for appetizers and drinks. On the first time, the service was mediocre, but the food was so good, we gave it a second chance. We were rewarded with good service on the second trip, that I feel was probably the norm. We had beef sliders with a wonderful sauce, nachos on blue corn tortillas that were fabulous, and queso. The margaritas and mojitos were standard, nothing out of the ordinary, but ok for price. Atmosphere is upbeat, and fun....

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Excellent upscale Mexican food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Friendly service, busy atmosphere but not terribly noisy. The chips (and also warm unfried tortillas) and salsas that they bring automatically are really good. I had a mojito and my brother had a margarita, both were large and good. We had the guacamole prepared at the table - excellent. I wasn’t super hungry at that point so I had the tequila-cured salmon appetizer - delicious! Cured raw salmon sliced thin, with lots of yummy garnishes. My bro had a cheese quesadilla which was good but contained a HUGE quantity of cheese. One minor complaint - when they bring the entrees, they take away the tortillas and salsa. (I’m sure they would have brought them back if I’d asked.)

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
427 reviews 427 reviews
317 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

They bill themselves as contemporary cuisine, so I was itching to try it. Cocktails were great. Guacamole was reasonable, once we got it, and the cerviche starter was good too. But the mains were the bog standard food you'd get in any Mexican restaurant. Flat undefined flavours, one texture, and dull. I expected a whole lot more. There's much better in NYC.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sinigual also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Sinigual? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sinigual, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.