We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great customer service, centrally location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea to your Saves list
Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   127 West 28th Street, Restaurant and Rooftop Now Open, New York City, NY 10001 (Chelsea)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #194 of 457 Hotels in New York City
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great customer service, centrally location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

The staff at the front desk were very friendly and helpful, going above and beyond expectations. I loved the central location of this hotel, it was perfect for my first trip to New York and I was able to explore the city by foot and subway.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear 778YVRTraveller,

Thank you for your review on your hotel experience. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us here at our hotel! The staff at the front desk always put sincere efforts in giving their own personal recommendations when going about the city. We are close to many of the major subway lines here on our street and a quick walk over to the Highline Park, Heralds Square, Madison Square Park or Empire State Building to name a few. We all hope you come back soon!

Mariam Dar
646-484-4343
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

935 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    361
    101
    34
    23
See reviews for
118
345
100
194
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunny Isles Beach, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The location not so good, but the rooms are good size!
Renovation in the lobby irritated !
By the right side major construction didn't allow us to sleep ! Hard to get a cab . On the flower district !
Very different them others Indigo We stayed, still if the price is right you should go for!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Izabela7,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your experience at our hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our guestrooms as we take great pride in our product and have high standards for cleanliness and service. I would like to apologize for the renovation noises in the lobby area during that day. I would like to happily let you know that all the flooring's have been finished and our restaurant is back up and running! In regards to hailing a cab, we have our bellman standing by to assist you with cabs you may need. However, during the hours between 5-6:30pm, there is the changing of the cabs where all cabs are turning over for their next shift. I have left my contact information if you would like to further discuss your stay. We hope to see you back!

Mariam Dar
646-484-4338
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Our stay didn't get off to a great start as we arrived to check in at approximately 2pm and the guy at check in had to check with housekeeping which rooms were ready. They were also slightly pushy about where we had parked that it wasn't affiliated with the hotel. However our room was much bigger than the Sheraton that we had previously stayed at and our safe worked. Yes there is construction works going on next door but this did not hamper our stay in any way.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Jaclyn N,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your experience at our hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our guestrooms as we take great pride in our product and have high standards for cleanliness and service. In regards to your check in, I would just like to remind you that our check in time is at 3pm. Our front office agents try their best to give early check ins to guest's arriving before 3pm and usually communicate with our housekeeping staff to make sure to get you into a room as quickly as possible. As for parking, being there so many parking regulations, there are many guests who park either on the road in the wrong zones and get ticketed or with other parking lots not affiliated with the hotel that are charged more. We always try to make sure that our guests, as well as their vehicles, are being taken care of. I will be sure to communicate to the staff to communicate this in a different manner. I apologize if they may have offended you in any way. If you would like to talk further about your stay, I am more than happy to listen to your suggestions. My number is below and please do not hesitate to contact me if you are back in the city!

Best,
Mariam Dar
646-484-4338
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We booked a stay at this 4 star hotel for a special occasion. When we arrived the lobby was covered in plastic for construction. The restaurant was under construction and not available. We were not informed of this prior to our reservation. The pipes rattled every time someone flushed a toilet. The hotel could even give us wake up calls after we requested them on two consecutive nights. They promised us the second night that we would get one the next morning - NONE. The mattress was hard. The hotel is not worth the money for the place and service and should be listed as a 2 stars tops.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Chad R,

Thank you for your review on your hotel experience. I sincerely apologize for the issues you encountered during your stay and can completely understand the frustration that may have occurred. To address your issues we have had the pipes looked at first thing at the start of the week. We have also made sure that our automated wake up call servers have been checked. In regards to the renovations, we do have it posted on our websites that our restaurant is under renovations. On Tuesday, October 15th, our restaurant is in full operation once again. All renovations have been completed. I have taken note of your uncomfortable bed, as this will be addressed right away to housekeeping. I have placed my phone number below for your reference as I have not received a phone call in regards to your stay and would love the opportunity to talk. I hope we can have a discussion about your stay and again thank you for leaving your comments for us to act on.

Mariam Dar
646-484-4338
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Great location with oustanding service from frontdesk Nicole! Walking distance to many place's. Restaurant were not open at this time, but was okay by us.Thanks again and we will see you soon!...............................

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Amazing one night stay at the Hotel Indigo. Very friendly front desk staff/bellman. Rooms were HUGE! We had a room on the 11th floor. The only thing I can complain about was the subpar breakfast buffet, but it was free during our stay. Beggars cant be chooser. Otherwise it was an amazing stay, will def be returning!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I stayed here for two nights over a busy weekend. Check in was easy and fast, I was in my room within five minutes. The room is larger than most NYC rooms in this price range. Overall awesome stay and great service...will be back again!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea

Address: 127 West 28th Street, Restaurant and Rooftop Now Open, New York City, NY 10001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #194 of 457 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine, a 100% smoke free sophisticated boutique hotel whose focus is delivering guests peace, serenity and renewal. Quite deliberately the Hotel Indigo New York City-Chelsea has been designed as an oasis for travelers who yearn for an escape from the common hotel, but still need the convenience of a 24-hour fitness center and a world class restaurant. Hotel Indigo New York City-Chelsea, located in the heart of Manhattan, provides convenience to dynamic shopping, the lights of Broadway, vigorous nightlife, and art galleries.Hotel Indigo offers each guest a blend of modern contemporary living with the best in traditional hotel hospitality. Curl up in our over-sized beds with plush bedding, duvet covers and plenty of fluffy pillows. Complimentary wireless Internet access throughout the hotel is at your fingertips or use our business center if you prefer.Relax and enjoy our exclusive restaurant for cutting edge cuisine or grab a delicious roasted latte. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.