We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea to your Saves list
Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   127 West 28th Street, Restaurant and Rooftop Now Open, New York City, NY 10001 (Chelsea)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #196 of 463 Hotels in New York City
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“AMAZING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Amazing one night stay at the Hotel Indigo. Very friendly front desk staff/bellman. Rooms were HUGE! We had a room on the 11th floor. The only thing I can complain about was the subpar breakfast buffet, but it was free during our stay. Beggars cant be chooser. Otherwise it was an amazing stay, will def be returning!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

988 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    438
    385
    105
    36
    24
See reviews for
128
359
103
205
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights over a busy weekend. Check in was easy and fast, I was in my room within five minutes. The room is larger than most NYC rooms in this price range. Overall awesome stay and great service...will be back again!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, OH
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

After being knocked to the ground by a speeding cyclist coming from Penn Station, the front desk at the Hotel Indigo were so attentive! They immediately got me an ice pack, extra ice in a plastic bag and took our bags to our room. When I came down later, they asked how I was feeling and offered their services if I needed anything else.
The bell boys went out of their way to hail a cab for us, going all the way to the cross street as we were there during UN General meeting week and everything was gridlock!
The rooms were CLEAN (yes small--but all we do there is watch TV, unwind, sleep and shower), comfy and accommodating.
I will (and already have) recommended it to a friend.

Room Tip: We were in the front and the noise did not bother me. We were on the 4th floor but i enjoy looking o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I stayed at this hotel over 2 nights for a shopping trip with a friend. We were given a room on the 4th floor but found it noisy so we were moved to the 10th floor after one night. As stated in previous reviews the rooms are small but clean. The second morning of our stay the phone rang a 7 am. My friend answered ,the person on the phone said she was calling from the lobby and needed to confirm credit card information. Without thinking my friend gave her credit card number, then became suspicious and went down to the front desk. The person at the front desk said he knew nothing of the call, she called the credit card company an unauthorized charge had already been posted but the charge was reversed and the card cancelled. The staff on duty could not have cared less about this scam. They said it happens all the time. When I asked how the call got to our room they said the phone service may have been hacked. Another explanation was that we were targeted because we are Canadian. There was no attempt by the hotel to report this attempted fraud to the authorities or warn other guests. When my friend spoke to the hotel manager she asked her what she expected her to do about it. Over all we were left with the impression that the hotel staff was in on the scam. I have gone on line and discovered that this has happened at other hotels around the country, in most instances the the hotel reports the crime to the authorities and take measures to make sure it does not happen again. I cannot reccomend this hotel and would advise others to stay away. A crime was committed on hotel property and no action was taken to prevent it from happening again.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear travelmomOntario,

Thank you for your review on your hotel experience. I sincerely apologize for the issues you encountered during your stay and can completely understand the frustration that may have occurred. To address your issues we have contacted our main switchboard to screen incoming calls to our hotel. I have placed my phone number below for your reference as I have not received a phone call in regards to your stay and would love the opportunity to talk. I hope we can have a discussion about your stay and again thank you for leaving your comments for us to act on.

Mariam Dar
646-484-4343
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

First off we were in NY from September 12-17th to get married. Both Arturo and Karen were absolutely fantastic and made us feel so comfortable and welcomed. Our room was kept very clean and everyone was always extremely attentive and payed close attention to detail. We will be back and I look forward to seeing the staff at Hotel Indigo Chelsea. Thank you for making our wedding stay so memorable.

Toni & Val

Room Tip: We enjoyed our room. We were on the 11th floor and the noise was very minimal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Stayed for a Saturday night at the Hotel indigo in Chelsea. It was my first stay but won't be my last. My room was on the 14th floor. It was a king room, very large (by New York standards).

Bed was very comfortable, white sheets and comforter, lots of pillows. Overall very comfortable, good sleep. Blackout blinds on the window. The temperature was controlled in the room so you are able to have it as cold or as warm as you would like. Very quiet, I did not hear any noises from outside or from other rooms.

Storage in the room was very good. Closet to hang things up and lots of drawer space. Room came with a safe, robe, mini bar, free wifi, hair dyer, Avenda products in the bathroom, iPOD docking station, alarm clock.

Hotel has a small gym in the basement, 2 treadmills, 2 bikes and some freeweights. Not huge but you can definately fit in a workout. Also a business center with computers in the basement.

The restuarant and rooftop bar was closed when I was there so cannot comment on them.

The area is good. Lots of restaurants in walking distance on both 6th and 7th avenue. Easy walk to all of the top sites.

Highly recommend!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Hotel Indigo is a small boutique hotel that offers a nice base to explore the city. The hotel itself is super small, but with so much outside to explore, why stay inside? We stayed in Room 1508, a corner room that maybe helped reduce some of the noise others have commented on. The view was nothing special but it was a nice option to have windows to open and let in some fresh air. The bed was comfortable enough. While we were there the rooftop garden and hotel lounge/restaurant were both closed and there was not information indicating when these amenities would be done. The street/block itself does not have much to offer but you are super close to enough wonderful places that it does not really matter. Free daily paper (USA Today) and on Sunday- the New York Times, fruit infused water are provided free in the lobby. Staff were friendly, but maybe some are new to the industry- why would housekeeping knock on a guestroom on a Saturday morning at 9:30A to ask if we would need housekeeping services that day? Overall, the hotel offers a safe, clean base to explore one of the most exciting cities in the the world. Some details to enhance your stay: there is a Duane Reade, Whole Foods, and Trader Jo's around the corner to purchase provisions for your room like water, snacks and beer (there are the usual room based/hotel priced snacks/drinks for $$$). Ask for extra towels- they are small and rooms are made with only two of the "large" towels. Be careful with the coffee maker- the "full" line in the water receptacle makes a completely full cup of coffee. The FIT Gallery is free and around the corner- it's wonderful. The Housing Works Chelsea thrift store is a few blocks away and has amazing treats to buy (Lanvin dress for $85!) with proceeds going to a good cause. brgr is a grassfed burger place on 7th that was as good as the gourmet burgers at higher end restaurants. They also have craft beer on tap and milkshakes. Enjoy!

Room Tip: We stayed in 1508- an outside, corner room which may help reduce some of the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea

Address: 127 West 28th Street, Restaurant and Rooftop Now Open, New York City, NY 10001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #196 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine, a 100% smoke free sophisticated boutique hotel whose focus is delivering guests peace, serenity and renewal. Quite deliberately the Hotel Indigo New York City-Chelsea has been designed as an oasis for travelers who yearn for an escape from the common hotel, but still need the convenience of a 24-hour fitness center and a world class restaurant. Hotel Indigo New York City-Chelsea, located in the heart of Manhattan, provides convenience to dynamic shopping, the lights of Broadway, vigorous nightlife, and art galleries.Hotel Indigo offers each guest a blend of modern contemporary living with the best in traditional hotel hospitality. Curl up in our over-sized beds with plush bedding, duvet covers and plenty of fluffy pillows. Complimentary wireless Internet access throughout the hotel is at your fingertips or use our business center if you prefer.Relax and enjoy our exclusive restaurant for cutting edge cuisine or grab a delicious roasted latte. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.