We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“horrible, nosiy, too much construction, unprofessional, why is this 4 stars?” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea

Save Saved
You added Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   127 West 28th Street, **Rooftop & Restaurant -Under Renovation**, New York City, NY 10001 (Chelsea)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special New York Savings!
Ranked #197 of 453 Hotels in New York City
New York City, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“horrible, nosiy, too much construction, unprofessional, why is this 4 stars?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I travel a lot . I'm in hotels a lot Every week. This is not a 4 star hotel, not sure why it's rated as such and it definitely wasn't a 4 star experience. First issues. Professionalism is seriously lacking, lack of energy, half job with bellman, racist which I don't understand when the majority of the people working there are people of color. So we did an experiment, we went some white friends in and some black friends in. The white friends were greeted, had doors opened for them, the black did not. They were just left sitting in the lobby. The white friends entered the lobby and elevators up to the guest rooms and did not have guest keys, so they simply piggybacked off other guests. Security is lacking. Oh, and the lobby is sub par. So I sat waiting to get checked in for over an hour and watched other guests who arrived 45 minutes after me get checked in to be told my card was declined. I contacted the bank, who confirmed that the hotel never put through the transaction. Embarrassing, but no apologies. Next some random employee walked into my room, while I was there. I wonder if this happens often. I'm from New York, not a tourist, but had I been I would have been completely lost. They check you in but you aren't given any other information about restaurants, nearby activities, nothing. After complaining about the guy walking in on me, I was switched rooms and offered a $15 minibar credit. The rooms are tiny. The linen was stained. The guy at the front desk, Jay, had the energy of a carrot and was unprofessional. There's a restaurant but they allegedly have no affiliation with it, yet the restaurant has billboards in the hotels elevators. I hated this stay and wished I had booked another hotel. I've stayed in numerous hotels in Chelsea during my trips, and this was the worst. There was a brawl on my floor that escalated in domestic violence between some couple in a room across from me. The hotel doesn't feel safe or have any real security. There's a bellman but I entered several times pushing a stroller with small children, the door was never opened. Across the board, the entire staff needs to be trained in hospitality. I'm not sure what you are really paying for, there's no real value in booking this hotel, and because of the construction it's hard to find. Everyone is just lounging around. It was hard getting a taxi and if you stay here and not from New York, you're pretty much on your own. The hotel lacks all of the amenities and service of a real 4 star hotel. At it's best it's mediocre, I've had better service elsewhere and would book elsewhere. It appears to be chic, posh, etc online. Maybe that's what they rate 4 star their furniture, but the decor is lacking and there is no concept to the design of the hotel. I'm not sure what they were trying to do or create here, but being artists, and execs and entrepreneurs who are pretty laid back and easy to please, we had a laugh about this being a 4 star property. So I call the hotel and get Jay, this guys a real firecracker, exploding with energy (insert sarcasm). He's not too helpful, I asked to speak to the manager, and yet was never put through I get this same unprofessional dude, so I ask his last name, he says he doesn't give out last names. If you want a better experience, stay at the Double Tree, Holiday Inn Chelsea, and Hilton even have better service. Stay at the Hyatt, or the W...but don't stay here. I was excited because it was an Indigo hotel, but very disappointed. Worst part of my trip was this stay, I regretted booking it, unfortunately it was booked through one of those hotwire/expedia deals and we were stuck there, only for a day but that was long enough.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill M, General Manager at Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear lauragoldb,

Upon reading your review, I am very disappointed that TripAdvisor would allow such a review to be listed on their site. There is in no way that any of the information on this review is correct and I urge potential guests to please read any and all other reviews to get a real sense of the outstanding service not only Jay, but all our staff are known for. The most important aspect of our jobs in hotels is provide our guests a memorable experience by offering a great product with outstanding service. This is what we promise and deliver each day and is referenced by many reviews on this site and throughout the internet. I stand by my staff on this review and welcome any communication forward.

Bill Mehalco
646-484-4329
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    342
    95
    31
    23
See reviews for
116
329
95
187
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I booked this hotel based on points I had accumulated through a credit card. Location was important because we were on a hunt for wholesale beads. At the time I didn't realize it was part of the Priority Club (Holiday Inn) Hotels. We were thrilled with the location for our purposes and very happy with the room, helpful women at the front desk and overall stay. I want to start by saying we arrived at about 11 in the morning and Mar and Natasha were there to help us. We left out bags and they assured us they would let us have the first available room fitting our booking. When we returned Natasha gave us a choice of two rooms while describing each room and recommending one of them. Great advice and very helpful, personal concern for a pleasant stay. If all Front Desk people could be this helpful it would make all the difference in the world for repeat stays. the room was great, not big, lovely, comfortable, super cool bathroom and closet, small refrigerator, working tv and nice view of the flowers stacked along west 138th street. They gave us vouchers for a continental breakfast which was part of the booking. Neither my daughter nor I liked the restaurant but coffee, juice and bagel and fresh fruit were great for us. With a nice comfy room and kind helpful employees I would go back again if I want to be in the Chelsea District.

Room Tip: I was told the rooms in the back were quiet and larger but the one we went with faced the street and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear katharinehannan,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at our hotel. I am glad you and your daughter enjoyed yourselves and had a chance to go to Genuine TenTen for your limited bead shopping! Great thing it was open for your one day stay, but you will need to come back for more sightseeing. There are awesome fela markets around the city so give us a heads up before you come back so we can make sure to have a few spots in mind for you.

As for your kind words, I will be sure the staff sees this and will give credit to where it is owed. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to your return to our hotel.

All the Best,
Mariam Dar
646-484-4323
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I used Hotwire to book a hotel for a leisure trip to New York for the weekend. The hotel ended up being the Hotel Indigo, which Hotwire said was recommended by 90 or 95% of its users. It is not a bad hotel, but only gets a mediocre recommendation from me.

The location of Hotel Indigo on West 28th Street in the Flower District was convenient for my needs. It was easy to get on the 1 line as well as the N/R lines to get up and down Manhattan. The neighborhood was also relatively noise-free at night.

The room I had was a decent size for New York City (i.e., probably on the small size for many places but normal for a big city). The hardwood floors were a classy touch. But, the windows had blinds instead of curtains, which meant that it was easy for bright light to stream through in the early morning. Also, all the bathrooms at the hotel do not have tubs but only shower stalls. In addition, the hair dryer in the room was pretty gross and unusable with dust clogging up the whole rear vent.

The staff were friendly, but the late check-out policy was a little disappointing. At most IGH hotels that I've stayed at (everything from InterContinental to Holiday Inn Express), they have been able to give me a 4:00pm late check out for being a Priority Club elite member. When I requested late check out at Hotel Indigo, they first offered 1:00pm, which was only an hour past the regular 12 noon check out. After asking again, they gave me until 2:00pm.

Anyway, this was a decent stay, but Hotel Indigo is not at the top of my list of places to stay again in New York.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Upon arrival, we were greeted and treated very well by the front desk staff. The room was on the second floor facing the street and I was a bit nervous about noise but I was not bothered by anything throughout the night. The street has mostly flower shops so it's not overly loud. The room was kept well cleaned by the service during our 4 night stay.
The bathroom is nice, the location is great and their service impressed me. I will definitely be staying here again.
PS there is a little cafe nearby called Cafe Guy & Gallard; delicious and good prices. Ate there a few times during our visit and highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Check in was quick, the staff was attentative. The room was typical for NYC, which means it was on the small side. But it was very clean and well equipped. The hotel is close to public transportation and it was pretty easy to get a cab, we had a great time.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Judging by the website this was to be an excellent budget hotel from a world class brand (InterContinental Hotel - IHG) but did not come up to expecations. The bedroom was OK, very small, but had everything you could need. Neighbourhood (Flower District) is not great although well enough located if you want to be near the shops on 34th. The worse thing is the restaurant and bar, very grubby, and I had possibly the worst breakfast I've ever had at a cost of $20+. The bar and restaurant have no arrangement with the hotel, surprising and inconvenient, you have to pay by cash or credit card. If you want a budget hotel in NYC from one of the major chains go to Hyatt Place, Hilton Garden Inn which are excellent.

Room Tip: Choose high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear grahammorley,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at our hotel. We greatly appreciate any feedback positive or negative, and will do our best to address any issue. I will forward your comments to the restaurant.

Thank you very much for staying with us. Below is my contact information if you would like to discuss further.

All the Best,
Mariam Dar
646-484-4323
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We did a last minute Saturday night reservation through Expedia. Speedy check-in with congenial staff. Very clean and contemporary room - Aveda products in the bathroom, iHome, Keurig. There is construction going on in the area, but none during our stay - the 7th floor was quiet. Complementary Times in the lobby. We found on street parking, and did not eat at the hotel, so can't comment on either. Would return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear tmmrd,

Thank you so much for writing your review of our hotel. We are happy to hear of your great stay during your weekend in the city. I am pleased to hear that you had a seamless checkin and enjoyed the amenities in your room. We are looking forward to your future stay with us and again, thank you for your review,

Mariam Dar
646.484.4323
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea

Address: 127 West 28th Street, **Rooftop & Restaurant -Under Renovation**, New York City, NY 10001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #197 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine, a 100% smoke free sophisticated boutique hotel whose focus is delivering guests peace, serenity and renewal. Quite deliberately the Hotel Indigo New York City-Chelsea has been designed as an oasis for travelers who yearn for an escape from the common hotel, but still need the convenience of a 24-hour fitness center and a world class restaurant. Hotel Indigo New York City-Chelsea, located in the heart of Manhattan, provides convenience to dynamic shopping, the lights of Broadway, vigorous nightlife, and art galleries.Hotel Indigo offers each guest a blend of modern contemporary living with the best in traditional hotel hospitality. Curl up in our over-sized beds with plush bedding, duvet covers and plenty of fluffy pillows. Complimentary wireless Internet access throughout the hotel is at your fingertips or use our business center if you prefer.Relax and enjoy our exclusive restaurant for cutting edge cuisine or grab a delicious roasted latte. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.