We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite Nice!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea to your Saves list
Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   127 West 28th Street, Restaurant and Rooftop Now Open, New York City, NY 10001 (Chelsea)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #197 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Kamloops, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Quite Nice!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Upon arrival, we were greeted and treated very well by the front desk staff. The room was on the second floor facing the street and I was a bit nervous about noise but I was not bothered by anything throughout the night. The street has mostly flower shops so it's not overly loud. The room was kept well cleaned by the service during our 4 night stay.
The bathroom is nice, the location is great and their service impressed me. I will definitely be staying here again.
PS there is a little cafe nearby called Cafe Guy & Gallard; delicious and good prices. Ate there a few times during our visit and highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

941 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    365
    102
    35
    23
See reviews for
119
346
100
195
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Check in was quick, the staff was attentative. The room was typical for NYC, which means it was on the small side. But it was very clean and well equipped. The hotel is close to public transportation and it was pretty easy to get a cab, we had a great time.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Judging by the website this was to be an excellent budget hotel from a world class brand (InterContinental Hotel - IHG) but did not come up to expecations. The bedroom was OK, very small, but had everything you could need. Neighbourhood (Flower District) is not great although well enough located if you want to be near the shops on 34th. The worse thing is the restaurant and bar, very grubby, and I had possibly the worst breakfast I've ever had at a cost of $20+. The bar and restaurant have no arrangement with the hotel, surprising and inconvenient, you have to pay by cash or credit card. If you want a budget hotel in NYC from one of the major chains go to Hyatt Place, Hilton Garden Inn which are excellent.

Room Tip: Choose high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear grahammorley,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at our hotel. We greatly appreciate any feedback positive or negative, and will do our best to address any issue. I will forward your comments to the restaurant.

Thank you very much for staying with us. Below is my contact information if you would like to discuss further.

All the Best,
Mariam Dar
646-484-4323
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We did a last minute Saturday night reservation through Expedia. Speedy check-in with congenial staff. Very clean and contemporary room - Aveda products in the bathroom, iHome, Keurig. There is construction going on in the area, but none during our stay - the 7th floor was quiet. Complementary Times in the lobby. We found on street parking, and did not eat at the hotel, so can't comment on either. Would return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear tmmrd,

Thank you so much for writing your review of our hotel. We are happy to hear of your great stay during your weekend in the city. I am pleased to hear that you had a seamless checkin and enjoyed the amenities in your room. We are looking forward to your future stay with us and again, thank you for your review,

Mariam Dar
646.484.4323
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Arrived early evening after a flight from Dublin an easy transfer to Penn Station and a short walk 5 mins down 7th Ave and round the corner - a speedy check in and a good size room and bathroom - comfortable bed - clean and with everything you need - if you want to explore New York the location of this hotel is great - in the middle of everything - The M20 Bus will take up down or down all the shops are at hand - I did not eat in the Hotel loads of great places around - remember Hotels are for sleeping - Bars for drinking and restraints for eating ! Stick with those rules and you will not go so wrong - nice hotel no complaints - just could not stay longer

Room Tip: Go for a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I had a nice three night stay here. The room was a decent size for NYC, with hardwood floors and comfortable bedding. Roomy bathroom stocked with Aveda products. I stayed on the 6th floor and it was very quiet. There is construction going on between the hilton inn next door and the Indigo but I didn't hear it. That may be why the price was relatively low. I think the rooftop bar may have been closed too (thus low price for NY) Service was fast and friendly, plus they gave me a Priority Club credit for the minibar. Free Wifi. The location couldn't be better. I didnt use the gym so I can't comment.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor in case of construction noise. 28th is a pretty quiet street otherwise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Good, safe area. Clean hotel. Would go back again. If you are looking for a fitness center, find another hotel or go out to a private gym. Otherwise fine stay.
Staff was very nice. I think all hotels should sell water in the lobby (if not one bottle free) at a fair price. The small bottle in the room was $5.00

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea

Address: 127 West 28th Street, Restaurant and Rooftop Now Open, New York City, NY 10001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #197 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine, a 100% smoke free sophisticated boutique hotel whose focus is delivering guests peace, serenity and renewal. Quite deliberately the Hotel Indigo New York City-Chelsea has been designed as an oasis for travelers who yearn for an escape from the common hotel, but still need the convenience of a 24-hour fitness center and a world class restaurant. Hotel Indigo New York City-Chelsea, located in the heart of Manhattan, provides convenience to dynamic shopping, the lights of Broadway, vigorous nightlife, and art galleries.Hotel Indigo offers each guest a blend of modern contemporary living with the best in traditional hotel hospitality. Curl up in our over-sized beds with plush bedding, duvet covers and plenty of fluffy pillows. Complimentary wireless Internet access throughout the hotel is at your fingertips or use our business center if you prefer.Relax and enjoy our exclusive restaurant for cutting edge cuisine or grab a delicious roasted latte. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.