We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and clean hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea

Save Saved
You added Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   127 West 28th Street, **Rooftop & Restaurant -Under Renovation**, New York City, NY 10001 (Chelsea)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #191 of 452 hotels in New York City
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Comfortable and clean hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

While overall it was a comfortable and clean hotel, the location is actually in the Flower District and it was an unexpected disappointment that the roof top bar was under construction. In summary, a nice hotel and a good place to stay, but nothing stand out to push it into the above average tier of hotel choices.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Nicole B,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at our hotel. I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. I apologize for the rooftop being out of service. It will be under renovations until further notice due to the many storms that hit us over the past few months. We have taken down the rooftop bar information from our website so people will not see it.

Thank you very much for staying with us. Below is my contact information if you would like to stay with us in the future.


All the Best,
Mariam Dar
646-484-4329
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

873 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    391
    335
    94
    31
    22
See reviews for
114
325
94
185
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights at the end of a tour round the US east coast.

The price was high and did not include breakast, but given the size of rooms in NYC we've experienced in the past, the room here was really pretty big, clean and well equipped with mini-bar etc etc. The location was also good (if the street itself is a little ugly - it is NY remember) and had plenty of options for breakfast. The wifi was the fastest we'd had on the trip.

We ordered a snack from room service which ended up being some pretty poor salsa and tortilla's which was a bit disappointing given everything else about the hotel being decent.

Overall, it's a bit on the expensive side, but was more or less exactly what we wanted it to be.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear tluamiani,

Thank you for your recent comments about our Hotel. I'm truly delighted you liked your room accommodations and internet service. Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations particularly with the room rates and food selections you received. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations as well as competitive rates to the area. Your comments will be passed to the appropriate department. We always welcome opportunity to improve.

Again, thank you for your feedback. We hope to welcome you back upon returning to the area.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

On town for theatrical release premier of Love Sick Love @ the Quad Cinema. Location was excellent. Rooms were clean, hardwood floors, very nicely sized, king bed/comfortable/many pillows. Bathroom had double shower heads, open, clean & well-maintained. EXCELLENT WATER PRESSURE. There is a club on the ground floor from which we could hear music, albeit faint but discernible. No problems falling asleep, however, it is New York. We have already recommended ths hotel to others & will be staying again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

This was quite the change from the best western we stayed at in nyc the last time we were here. Great room, clean, wifi, secure. I'd stay here again. Felt like a room you'd find in Las Vegas. Sort of new and hip. The front desk staff was very helpful and seemed to enjoy their job. Typically it looks like this place going for somewhere around 200 a night but for some reason we were able to nail it down for about 150. Great price. Probably right where in needs to be as far as price point.

Room Tip: Room 508 doesn't have much for a view of nature but if you like the New York look of fire escape...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina, Usa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This hotel had been recommended by a client and I am so happy we stayed there this past weekend. The décor is so cool and the rooms so clean! They have hardwood floors and the bathrooms look as though they are brand new. The service was unbelievable. And, the location made it easy to get to the places my daughter and I wanted to visit. We were only one block from the subway and that made it easy when we wanted to travel that way. I really like having a go to place to stay for each city to which we travel. And, this is ours for New York. To make it even better, the price was really reasonable. My friend who has lived in New York for 25+ years was impressed with the hotel; and, this fact alone speaks volumes--because New Yorkers are not easily impressed!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear cfletcher4393,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at our hotel. I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed the services that we have provided and am thrilled that you liked our location. I will pass your kind words along to the team here and we hope to see you back!

Thank you very much for staying with us. Below is my contact information if you would like to stay with us in the future.

All the Best,
Mariam Dar
646-484-4329
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

What a great hotel and superbly fresh and clean.

Staff were great and couldn't do enough to help (including upgrading me as platinum member).

The room was gorgeous and immaculately clean, not to mention the decoration both inside my room and in public areas was fab.

There is also a rooftop bar which was modern and reasonably priced, but this bar didnt seem to be an 'in place' to go on Staurday night (which lets face it is a bonus a resident!)

Will defo stop here again on my travels!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear SteveGrid2012,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at our hotel. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay us! I will pass along your kind words to our staff, as well as the rest of the team here that made your stay with us memorable. Thank you very much for staying with us. Below is my contact information if you would like to stay with us in the future.

All the Best,
Mariam Dar
646-484-4329
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a conference. Location was good. Staff was rude. Should have run upon walking in, as it just got worse...
Small, dirty rooms. Not at all a four star. Better off staying at the Hilton garden inn next door as my colleagues did. It was MUCH nicer!
Don't be fooled by their attempt to be boutiquey. This place is a joke.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Newwavegirl,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at our hotel. We greatly appreciate any feedback positive or negative, and will do our best to address any issue. Please accept my sincerest apologies for your experience with the staff. I will be sure to bring this up in our monthly meetings with the front desk, for this is definitely an issue to discuss. I wish you brought this to my attention so we could have addressed this issue. Thank you for staying with us. Below is my contact information if you would like to further discuss your stay.


All the Best,
Mariam Dar
646-484-4329
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea

Address: 127 West 28th Street, **Rooftop & Restaurant -Under Renovation**, New York City, NY 10001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #191 of 452 hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine, a 100% smoke free sophisticated boutique hotel whose focus is delivering guests peace, serenity and renewal. Quite deliberately the Hotel Indigo New York City-Chelsea has been designed as an oasis for travelers who yearn for an escape from the common hotel, but still need the convenience of a 24-hour fitness center and a world class restaurant. Hotel Indigo New York City-Chelsea, located in the heart of Manhattan, provides convenience to dynamic shopping, the lights of Broadway, vigorous nightlife, and art galleries.Hotel Indigo offers each guest a blend of modern contemporary living with the best in traditional hotel hospitality. Curl up in our over-sized beds with plush bedding, duvet covers and plenty of fluffy pillows. Complimentary wireless Internet access throughout the hotel is at your fingertips or use our business center if you prefer.Relax and enjoy our exclusive restaurant for cutting edge cuisine or grab a delicious roasted latte. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Otel, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.