We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice modern rooms at a good price ... however” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea to your Saves list
Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   127 West 28th Street, Restaurant and Rooftop Now Open, New York City, NY 10001 (Chelsea)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #194 of 454 Hotels in New York City
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“nice modern rooms at a good price ... however”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I have been staying in nyc on business for the last few months so i think i have a good handle on what you can get for your money.

The indigo is without doubt the best priced hotel hotel for the quality of rooms.
It is on par with the eventi and thompson les. The rooms are new, the linen is good and you can even open the window which i love. The area is not the best nor the worst but it is midtown and the subway is not so far. I walked easily to Union square.

The down side. The desk staff and resteraunt staff while nice enough were frankly amateur. I had the impression that they were either new to the jobs or had received zero training. During my check in i could not believe the state of the check in desk. it was a mess. I think the remains of somebodys lunch was visible. I had never seen this anywhere else.

It was suprised at the quality of the room vs what i had experienced at check in. Normally you get dissappointed when you see the room this was the opposite.

I would politely say to the manager make sure the check in desk creates a better experience
and impresson. After this i would ask have he staff received training ? -- I am a customer on business i dont expect to be greated with a ' whats up'.

This hotel has the makings of something very good ... but the staff currenty do not.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at back. Breakfast was an odd expereince You can have omlette but you cant change top...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill M, Manager at Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear dogduckcow,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at our hotel. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and noticed the attention to detail we put into the cleanliness of our rooms. I do apologize for the shortfall with the front desk and I can assure you this has been taken care of. We greatly appreciate your comments and feel free to contact me directly if you have any questions. Thank you

Bill Mehalco
646-484-4329
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

903 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    401
    351
    97
    31
    23
See reviews for
117
336
97
188
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

i was skeptical but was assured by friends that have stayed at other Indigo properties- plus the value could not be beat but i was expecting budget quality and i have to say the room size is pretty much the same as the standard rooms at Tribeca Grand, Soho Grandm Thompson LES,
it is a new building with nice rooms- great bed and aveda bathroom products! central location- close to many chelsea spots and easy access to rest of city. super friendly and helpful front desk staff.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the back- you wont have a view but it will be quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel is relatively close to a few different subway stops, nearby to a couple different bars and restaurants, and if all else fails there is a McDonalds across the street. The property is small but comfortable, the front desk people were always very kind. My only complaint is that the heater in the room did not work 100% of the time. In fact it would be in the 30's outside and my heater would continuously pump out cold air. There were times when I left the "heat" on all night and turned it up all the way, the heat WOULD kick in eventually, after hours of cold air pumping in. But it seemed like when housekeeping came in during the day they would turn off the heater and I would have to start the process all over again. I called down to the front to complain about this and they said someone would come check it out, I don't think this ever happened. I would recommend this only for spring travel, when heat is not required.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear frhou,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. We appreciate and wish to thank you for the kind words for our front desk staff. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the heater issue you experienced. I understand the discomfort this caused you. Rest assured that this matter will be looked into. Again, I do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I agree with all of the good reviews Hotel Indigo has received; however,there are details that in an average hotel would be totally acceptable, but in a hotel of this caliber... For example, while my room was clean, quite nice looking and the bed VERY comfortable, there were nicks in the paint, the floor tile in the bathroom shower was very discolored. There was no hotel information book--where ice machines are (another small problem--only 1 ice machine and it is in the lower level). I had to call for its location and then call for how to use the television, what was available on TV for additional charge, etc. The Keurig cups offered only 1 tea. I asked housekeeping to give me two on my second day. They didn't. The staff was friendly.
Probably the best example of the uneven quality: yes, the amenties were Aveeda, and yes there was a bathrobe, but the bathrobe was not plush terry, but rather a cotton waffleweave.
Again, very small details, butI expect almost perfection for the scores people have given the hotel, and I have styaed at hotels in NYC that deserve the 4 1/2 to 5 stars they get because they attain that level of excellence.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indigo21, Manager at Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear lindaannie2,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at our hotel. We greatly appreciate your comments and are happy to hear you enjoyed the cleanliness and comfort of our rooms and hotel. I do apologize for the issues you experienced with the room, ice machine, television, and room directories. I would love to talk about this in more detail so we can fix these issues for future guests. Please feel free to contact me below and we hope to see you again real soon!!

Bill Mehalco
646-484-4329
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas, Usa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We come to NYC every few months for work, and tried Hotel Indigo this time. I love it! It's conveniently-located, a bit funky, great service and they pay such attention to detail. From the amenities in the bathroom, to the Keurig maker, to the free WiFi, to the bathrobe provided, to the modern yet cozy interiors - all just little extras to make your stay. The staff has been superb as well, more than eager to exceed your expectations. We also tried the restaurant downstairs (China Latina or something like that) and it was really good. An interesting mix of Asian and Latin food, again, with great service. Will definitely return here next time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indigo21, Manager at Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear t0nyaglen,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experience while staying with us. We are excited to hear that you loved our hotel and the amenities we offer to our guests. Your comments will be forwarded to all our staff and again thank you for your kind words. We hope to see you again in the very near future.

Bill Mehalco
Hotel Indigo New York City - Chelsea
646-484-4329
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SE US
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights.
- Rooms are clean, and by NY standards, large enough
- Staff is very friendly and helpful
- Rooms are quiet - I requested a quiet room and got a great king bed room on the 16th floor overlooking the street. Although you could hear the noise from nearby establishments when in the elevator, and a bit in the corridor, once inside the room it was very quiet.
- Location is great - 1/2 block (and NY blocks are short) to the subway, about a 10-15 minute walk to Times Square, lots of nearby places to pick up breakfast & lunch, short walk to nice places to eat dinner.
- This hotel is on the same street as many of NY's warehouse flower and plant shops; those stores line the streets with their goods, so it makes for a pleasant arrival from 6th Ave to the hotel.
- Nice amenities - Single serve coffee cup in the room, business center computer where you can print a boarding pass, free wifi in the room, complimentary newspaper at the front desk (NYT on Sunday!). There is also a small fitness room on the lower level.

All in all this hotel was a great choice and great value. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: For a quiet room with lots of light, ask for a room facing the street on a high floor (to get away f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indigo21, Manager at Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Just_IMHO,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experience with our hotel. We are excited to hear that you loved your stay with us and you enjoyed your room, the hotel location, service, and amenities we offer. Please feel free to contact me directly if you have any questions and we hope to see you again real soon!

Bill Mehalco
Hotel Indigo New York City - Chelsea
646-484-4329
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Hotel Indigo was great because they accommodate my husband and I while we waited to get back into our apartment from Hurricane Sandy. The staff at the front desk was always accommodating and friendly. They continued throughout many weeks make us feel at home.
There is a cool rooftop bar that always has happy hour deals from 5-7pm on the weekdays.
The gym downstairs was small but had two treadmills and two bikes. Great for a quick workout!
The rooms were very modern and clean.

Location is 4 blocks from Macy's on 34th. Easy to get to public transportation the 1 train is on the corner of 28th and 7th Ave.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indigo21, Manager at Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear m201188,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experience with our property. We are happy to hear that we were able to accommodate you while waiting for your apartment to become habitable. As you may already know, if there is anything we can do to assist you during this time we are just a phone call away. Thank you again and hope to see you again real soon!

Bill Mehalco
Hotel Indigo New York City - Chelsea
646-484-4329
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea

Address: 127 West 28th Street, Restaurant and Rooftop Now Open, New York City, NY 10001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #194 of 454 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine, a 100% smoke free sophisticated boutique hotel whose focus is delivering guests peace, serenity and renewal. Quite deliberately the Hotel Indigo New York City-Chelsea has been designed as an oasis for travelers who yearn for an escape from the common hotel, but still need the convenience of a 24-hour fitness center and a world class restaurant. Hotel Indigo New York City-Chelsea, located in the heart of Manhattan, provides convenience to dynamic shopping, the lights of Broadway, vigorous nightlife, and art galleries.Hotel Indigo offers each guest a blend of modern contemporary living with the best in traditional hotel hospitality. Curl up in our over-sized beds with plush bedding, duvet covers and plenty of fluffy pillows. Complimentary wireless Internet access throughout the hotel is at your fingertips or use our business center if you prefer.Relax and enjoy our exclusive restaurant for cutting edge cuisine or grab a delicious roasted latte. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.