We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea to your Saves list
Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   127 West 28th Street, Restaurant and Rooftop Now Open, New York City, NY 10001 (Chelsea)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #194 of 457 Hotels in New York City
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Good room, good food/drinks(special thanks to Rodrigo and chef) and great staff! Special notice for Natasha from the reception, who really knows how to make your stay special! Rooftop bar was really nice to visit, however the girl behind the bar was quite rude. Overall a great stay!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

935 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    361
    101
    34
    23
See reviews for
118
345
100
194
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Hotel Indigo Chelsea is a fail from start to finish. There is no consistent door service, valet, or baggage assistance without a 25 minute wait. The hotel has no real foyer, and of the two elevators in the hotel one was broken our entire 4-day stay. The staff, with the exception of one female front desk person and th cleaning staff were neither welcoming nor gracious or helpful. Instead, the male front desk staff acted as though guests were a burden or not cool enough to speak to or engage in eye contact with. Worse still, while waiting for the elevator we heard one male staffer provided a stranger who called the hotel information about the name of a guest staying there, which is not only a violation of privacy but also a security issue. The hotel lobby was small and dingy. The hotel sits on one of the least attractive streets in all of Chelsea, garbage littering the street regularly, nowhere decent to eat, and far from the art or real hip scene common to Chelsea. The rooms had dated decor that was neither the advertised organic nor fresh. The bathroom had mold in the shower and our towels were not replaced during routine room cleaning. The fact that the hotel uses Aveda products and is generally located in Chelsea does not make it good or hip or worth the over $300 price point per night for a mediocre room facing a dingy alley on an even dirtier and sketchy street. There are literally a dozen other nyc hotels in the same general vicinity that are better options for the price of this mediocre restaurant/ bar that fronts as a sad little hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Booked two nights through the hotel's web site for my niece's wedding. The entire party is staying at the hotel. Took the "best rate." My flight got cancelled after a 12 hour delay at the airport, keeping from making it to NY entirely. Called to cancel for the second night, but was told that I had booked on a nonrefundable rate. No refund, no offer of a credit for a later stay. Two lessoned learned. Read the rate restrictions more carefully, and never, ever, stay at the the Hotel Indigo Chelsea, or at any of the Intercontinental Hotels Group properties (Intercontinental, Crowne Plaza, Holiday Inn, Staybridge Suites, or Candelwood Suites).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear josefree,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. I am sorry the hotel was unable to waive the terms of the agreed upon rate. It is certainly not our intent to inconvenience our valued customers. We do have several rate types that has different cancellation policies. For heavily discounted rates, these are usually prepaid and non refundable in the event of cancellation. We always appreciate comments from our guests, and we will use this feedback in making decisions about our future pricing strategies. We appreciate your feedback and your business.

Sincerely,

Lera M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

My company's office is near Madison Square Garden and I always struggle on where to stay. The location of Hotel Indigo was perfect and rooms in the back of the hotel face another building. No view, but it was very quiet. I didn't get a chance to check out the bar or restaurant but they frequently offer packages with free drinks and comp breakfast. Each room has a Keurig coffee machine and Aveda products in the bathrooms. Even though this is a chain hotel, it does have a boutiquey feel, which I prefer to a hotel with zero personality. I will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Fl
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Thanks to all the great staff! They gave us champagne to celebrate a B-day, arranged our towncar to get us back to the airport and always greeted us with a smile when we returned. The street is full of beautiful flowers every morning. The location is great as it is between 6th and 7th, which are basically the main touristy streets. Very close to Macys, Herald Square, Madison Square garden. Not far from Times Square and Theaters, plus Penn Station is very close. Great stay! Thanks Hotel Indigo!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, NJ
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

My husband and I stayed here one night to celebrate his birthday, and were pleasantly surprised by how perfect it was. Nothing fancy, but it has a bit of a boutique hotel feel to it, even though it is a chain. The room was a decent size (especially for NYC), the bed was great, they had a bathrobe (which I always love), Aveda toiletries and a coffee maker. The staff was really friendly, and the rooms were very quiet - despite being right near the elevator and in the middle of NYC.
The location is also terrific - right near the subway and the flower market, and a nice walk to the West Village south and to Times Square north.
The only minor issue was the shower: one of those modern-looking ones with a glass panel that only goes half the length of the shower, which always leaves the bathroom drenched. But other than that, great little hotel!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

displaced by hurricane Sandy, i was only allowed a few days at this glorious hotel. friendly staff, wonderful accommodations, the bed was sheer heaven!! the food was wonderful and i loved my stay...thank you to everyone who made me feel special and welcomed in light of my tragedy...only a few caveats...see tips...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea

Address: 127 West 28th Street, Restaurant and Rooftop Now Open, New York City, NY 10001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #194 of 457 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine, a 100% smoke free sophisticated boutique hotel whose focus is delivering guests peace, serenity and renewal. Quite deliberately the Hotel Indigo New York City-Chelsea has been designed as an oasis for travelers who yearn for an escape from the common hotel, but still need the convenience of a 24-hour fitness center and a world class restaurant. Hotel Indigo New York City-Chelsea, located in the heart of Manhattan, provides convenience to dynamic shopping, the lights of Broadway, vigorous nightlife, and art galleries.Hotel Indigo offers each guest a blend of modern contemporary living with the best in traditional hotel hospitality. Curl up in our over-sized beds with plush bedding, duvet covers and plenty of fluffy pillows. Complimentary wireless Internet access throughout the hotel is at your fingertips or use our business center if you prefer.Relax and enjoy our exclusive restaurant for cutting edge cuisine or grab a delicious roasted latte. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.