We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel in Good Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea to your Saves list
Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   127 West 28th Street, Restaurant and Rooftop Now Open, New York City, NY 10001 (Chelsea)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30% this Summer
Ranked #219 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Montclair, NJ
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel in Good Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

My husband and I stayed here one night to celebrate his birthday, and were pleasantly surprised by how perfect it was. Nothing fancy, but it has a bit of a boutique hotel feel to it, even though it is a chain. The room was a decent size (especially for NYC), the bed was great, they had a bathrobe (which I always love), Aveda toiletries and a coffee maker. The staff was really friendly, and the rooms were very quiet - despite being right near the elevator and in the middle of NYC.
The location is also terrific - right near the subway and the flower market, and a nice walk to the West Village south and to Times Square north.
The only minor issue was the shower: one of those modern-looking ones with a glass panel that only goes half the length of the shower, which always leaves the bathroom drenched. But other than that, great little hotel!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,060 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    466
    409
    122
    38
    25
See reviews for
140
387
105
219
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

displaced by hurricane Sandy, i was only allowed a few days at this glorious hotel. friendly staff, wonderful accommodations, the bed was sheer heaven!! the food was wonderful and i loved my stay...thank you to everyone who made me feel special and welcomed in light of my tragedy...only a few caveats...see tips...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
97 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

The hotel is fine bit overpriced. Small rooms trying to look chic Bathroom was very small. Nice front office but slow valet service for the car. We found at a later time that there were plenty of places that would be better values.

Room Tip: There are better values around
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

What a wonderful gem of a hotel 2 blocks from Macy's, Hearald Square, Madison Square Garden, and Empire State Building. About half a mile from Times Square. Nice quiet road in the flower district. I wouldn't say the rooms are small, I'd say cozy. Queen bed, an hd flat screen with what had to be 200 channels, a spa shower with kohler fixtures, well stocked fridge and mini bar with pretty good prices, and a Keurig coffee maker! Perfect Room for a couple with space for your luggage and toiletries. Very clean room that's comfortable to relax in after putting in some footwork shopping and sight seeing. Very friendly staff and awesome, upscale bar on the roof. Our room was ready and we were 3 hours early and the day we checked out, we left our bags since we had a late flight. Leave a tip! This will def be our go-to hotel in the future.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

The Indigo was a disappointment for me. The front desk staff were not rude (by NYC standards) but neither were they friendly or welcoming. No smiles, minimal eye contact. Not a great start. The pair of guys at the front desk were either having a bad day or just in the wrong job.

Parking is on the next block. The Indigo has a deal with a parking company to offer its guests a tiny discount. The garage gives you a ticket and the front desk will validate the ticket. Overnight parking costs just under $50 with tax, even with the 'discount'.

There is construction in the adjacent lot which means parking on the same side of the street is restricted. There is no designated hotel parking zone in front of the Indigo, plus there is a fire hydrant a few yards from the entrance, so it is not really even easy to pull over and leave your bags and then go park your car. There was no valet, bellman or any other assistance offered with bags or parking. Other hotels handle this better with signage and valet service.

The location of the hotel in relation to places you might want to visit is pretty good. However, the particular street where the hotel is located is below average for the area. There was a significant amount of trash piled up along both sides of the street and mainly commercial vans and trucks during the day. The street is mainly made up of florists which is sort of interesting but at night, everything is shuttered and the street is a little unpleasant. Adjacent streets are also a little sketchy and there is no evidence of the art scene that you might expect for Chelsea. There is none of the character and charm that you might find in other parts of Chelsea or in the West Village.

The location is something of a gamble for the Indigo. They have obviously decided to build a wannabe-boutique hotel in a pretty low-rent street in the hope the the area will become gentrified. However, the Indigo has been here for a while and the street still looks shabby. Locals would probably consider the Indigo to be in the middle of nowhere - which is slightly unfair given it's proximity to main attractions - but other, better hotels are closer.

The rooftop bar is fine but - as another poster has mentioned - attracts the 20-something cocktail crowd. That's fine but there's no obvious place for adult hotel guests to hang out - the lobby is tiny. I don't want to be around a bunch of hotel lobby drunks as I come in and out of my hotel and this is the result of putting a destination bar at the top of a small hotel.

The room was kind of a mixed bag. It is designed to be cool and trendy, and to a point, it is. But there was no attention to detail - the little things that make a $600 room seem worth it. The walls were scuffed, hotel stationery tatty and the laminate flooring made a nice change from carpet but didn't seem very clean. The bathroom was nice though and the basic level of finish was okay - but for the price - there was nothing impressive about this room. In fairness, it wasn't as tiny as some rooms I have stayed in in New York hotels.

The most positive thing I can say is that the maid was very friendly as I left - "have a happiness day!" she said. Kind of ironic that the person with the best understanding of customer service is the one paid the least.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Euphemus,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We apologize for the shortfalls during your stay and sincerely regret the service you experienced on your arrival. We have addressed the matters with the respective departments in order to avoid these unnecessary issues in the future. Your comments are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Sincerely,


Myrna M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, Delaware
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I agree with another reviewer who said that it's not that there is really anything wrong with the Hotel Indigo. In fact, the staff are pleasant and the room was clean. We just didn't feel like we belonged there. We were turned off when the street and the plaza outside of the hotel were covered in trash and stayed that way for our entire 3 day stay.The room was extremely small, way too small when you consider Indigo's rates. (The king bed and one side table pretty much took up all of the floor space.) The decor looked cheap, especially the super graphics that seemed to be tacked to every surface. Although the rooftop bar had a terrific view, we didn't stay because it was clearly geared to the "20-somethings on a night out" crowd. In fact, at 2:00 am on Sunday morning the staff had to intercede to get us into an elevator...the lobby was jammed to overflowing when the elevators could not keep up with the demand of the roof-bound party crowd. We were relieved to leave.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear debandjim15044,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. Please allow me to apologize for the issues you had with your room accommodations and any inconvenience you may have experienced that affected your stay negatively. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. Thank you for staying with us and I hope that you can give us a chance to show you what we have done.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We enjoyed our stay... Lets just say that I always clean before allowing my children to enter hotel rooms but this room was so clean and nice that I did not need to do that. So clean, great service, and perfect location. The room was quiet and we had everything we needed. Would highly recommend

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Hilton New York Fashion District
Hilton New York Fashion District
#139 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,441 reviews
Chelsea
Doubletree Hotel Chelsea New York City
Doubletree Hotel Chelsea New Yor...
#295 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,270 reviews
Chelsea
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manha...
#239 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel
Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel
#38 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,546 reviews
Flatiron District
Wyndham Garden Hotel Manhattan, Chelsea West
Wyndham Garden Hotel Manhattan, ...
#183 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,745 reviews
Chelsea
Cambria Hotel & Suites New York Chelsea
Cambria Hotel & Suites New York ...
#28 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea

Address: 127 West 28th Street, Restaurant and Rooftop Now Open, New York City, NY 10001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #219 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine, a 100% smoke free sophisticated boutique hotel whose focus is delivering guests peace, serenity and renewal. Quite deliberately the Hotel Indigo New York City-Chelsea has been designed as an oasis for travelers who yearn for an escape from the common hotel, but still need the convenience of a 24-hour fitness center and a world class restaurant. Hotel Indigo New York City-Chelsea, located in the heart of Manhattan, provides convenience to dynamic shopping, the lights of Broadway, vigorous nightlife, and art galleries.Hotel Indigo offers each guest a blend of modern contemporary living with the best in traditional hotel hospitality. Curl up in our over-sized beds with plush bedding, duvet covers and plenty of fluffy pillows. Complimentary wireless Internet access throughout the hotel is at your fingertips or use our business center if you prefer.Relax and enjoy our exclusive restaurant for cutting edge cuisine or grab a delicious roasted latte. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.