We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing, even for NYC.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea to your Saves list
Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   127 West 28th Street, Restaurant and Rooftop Now Open, New York City, NY 10001 (Chelsea)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #195 of 454 Hotels in New York City
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Disappointing, even for NYC.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

The Indigo was a disappointment for me. The front desk staff were not rude (by NYC standards) but neither were they friendly or welcoming. No smiles, minimal eye contact. Not a great start. The pair of guys at the front desk were either having a bad day or just in the wrong job.

Parking is on the next block. The Indigo has a deal with a parking company to offer its guests a tiny discount. The garage gives you a ticket and the front desk will validate the ticket. Overnight parking costs just under $50 with tax, even with the 'discount'.

There is construction in the adjacent lot which means parking on the same side of the street is restricted. There is no designated hotel parking zone in front of the Indigo, plus there is a fire hydrant a few yards from the entrance, so it is not really even easy to pull over and leave your bags and then go park your car. There was no valet, bellman or any other assistance offered with bags or parking. Other hotels handle this better with signage and valet service.

The location of the hotel in relation to places you might want to visit is pretty good. However, the particular street where the hotel is located is below average for the area. There was a significant amount of trash piled up along both sides of the street and mainly commercial vans and trucks during the day. The street is mainly made up of florists which is sort of interesting but at night, everything is shuttered and the street is a little unpleasant. Adjacent streets are also a little sketchy and there is no evidence of the art scene that you might expect for Chelsea. There is none of the character and charm that you might find in other parts of Chelsea or in the West Village.

The location is something of a gamble for the Indigo. They have obviously decided to build a wannabe-boutique hotel in a pretty low-rent street in the hope the the area will become gentrified. However, the Indigo has been here for a while and the street still looks shabby. Locals would probably consider the Indigo to be in the middle of nowhere - which is slightly unfair given it's proximity to main attractions - but other, better hotels are closer.

The rooftop bar is fine but - as another poster has mentioned - attracts the 20-something cocktail crowd. That's fine but there's no obvious place for adult hotel guests to hang out - the lobby is tiny. I don't want to be around a bunch of hotel lobby drunks as I come in and out of my hotel and this is the result of putting a destination bar at the top of a small hotel.

The room was kind of a mixed bag. It is designed to be cool and trendy, and to a point, it is. But there was no attention to detail - the little things that make a $600 room seem worth it. The walls were scuffed, hotel stationery tatty and the laminate flooring made a nice change from carpet but didn't seem very clean. The bathroom was nice though and the basic level of finish was okay - but for the price - there was nothing impressive about this room. In fairness, it wasn't as tiny as some rooms I have stayed in in New York hotels.

The most positive thing I can say is that the maid was very friendly as I left - "have a happiness day!" she said. Kind of ironic that the person with the best understanding of customer service is the one paid the least.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Euphemus,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We apologize for the shortfalls during your stay and sincerely regret the service you experienced on your arrival. We have addressed the matters with the respective departments in order to avoid these unnecessary issues in the future. Your comments are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Sincerely,


Myrna M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    401
    351
    96
    31
    23
See reviews for
117
335
97
188
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lewes, Delaware
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I agree with another reviewer who said that it's not that there is really anything wrong with the Hotel Indigo. In fact, the staff are pleasant and the room was clean. We just didn't feel like we belonged there. We were turned off when the street and the plaza outside of the hotel were covered in trash and stayed that way for our entire 3 day stay.The room was extremely small, way too small when you consider Indigo's rates. (The king bed and one side table pretty much took up all of the floor space.) The decor looked cheap, especially the super graphics that seemed to be tacked to every surface. Although the rooftop bar had a terrific view, we didn't stay because it was clearly geared to the "20-somethings on a night out" crowd. In fact, at 2:00 am on Sunday morning the staff had to intercede to get us into an elevator...the lobby was jammed to overflowing when the elevators could not keep up with the demand of the roof-bound party crowd. We were relieved to leave.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear debandjim15044,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. Please allow me to apologize for the issues you had with your room accommodations and any inconvenience you may have experienced that affected your stay negatively. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. Thank you for staying with us and I hope that you can give us a chance to show you what we have done.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay... Lets just say that I always clean before allowing my children to enter hotel rooms but this room was so clean and nice that I did not need to do that. So clean, great service, and perfect location. The room was quiet and we had everything we needed. Would highly recommend

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Maybe boutique hotels aren't for me, but I decided to give this place a try and was a bit disappointed. The rooms are small. Yes, it's New York so you expect rooms to be smaller than elsewhere, but it was pretty small even for New York. I really felt cramped in there. The cloth on the furniture also looked a little worn/dirty, although they were acceptable. I also just didn't really like the shower design. It was like a typical shower in a glass enclosure except there was no door, so that water could spray out if you weren't careful about the angle that you pointed the shower head.

For the price, I just didn't feel as comfortable in the room as I do at other places with similar prices. I think it was just a lot of little things.

I did receive the option for a free breakfast or $15 in minibar credit as a Platinum member. I appreciated it and did take advantage of it.The location is reasonably close to a couple of subway stations so it's easy to get to, and it's quieter than the Times Square area.

I don't think it's a bad hotel, but I just didn't really feel it. Others might like it more than I did.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indigo21, Manager at Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear pseudosphere,

We appreciate your honest feedback about your experience with our hotel. We regret to hear that our hotel is not for you and that your experience was not to your liking. We regularly receive positive feedback on the design elements, size of rooms (large for NYC), service, and cleanliness that unfortunately you did not get to take advantage of. We are very proud of our product and happy that the grand majority of our guests find our hotel to be their thing. Thank you again for your comments

Bill Mehalco
646-484-4329
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Like Magnus2009, my friends are staying at the Hotel Indigo as a result of displacement from Hurricane Sandy. ALL the staff have been unbelievably helpful, friendly and professional. The hotel is modern and close to Penn Station, Chelsea galleries, the High Line, etc.

The rooms are very clean, bright and modern. The bed is very comfortable. My friends have not had noise problems.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
121 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

The woman at the front desk was so rude when we checked in. She was on the phone, asked me for my last name, put her hand out for my credit card and ID, had me sign something, and never said so much as two words to me! I raised my eyebrows and walked away since she was clearly much too busy. Very strange, if you ask me.

The bathroom was much nicer than expected. The room was fine, although the curtains, chair, and towels were dirty. The towels in the bathroom looked like a woman had wiped her makeup off on them and totally grossed me out. I asked for new. The walls are paper thin and I was woken up every morning around 1AM and again at 5AM.

Nice area - walking distance to my meetings and that's all I needed. But I wouldn't stay again. So many choices in NYC!

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indigo21, Manager at Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear tjcheerio,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with our property. I sincerely apologize for the negative interaction you had with the front desk agent during check-in. Also, I regret to hear your comments on the noise and the dirty towel found in your room. As you have probably read from other reviewers, these instances are extremely rare. You will read over and over again from others about the friendliness of desk staff and how quiet and clean our rooms are. I apologize that you did not have this similar experience that the majority of our guests have had. If you would like to discuss your experience further please feel free to contact me below. Thank you again,

Bill Mehalco
646-484-4329
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, NJ. USA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I am blessed to be staying in this hotel as a result of being displaced from my home due to Hurricane Sandy! As a double victim (I'm out of my office for several months as that building sustained severe damage as well), it is refreshing to deal with a staff that is probably the kindest, most professional group of individuals I have ever encountered in the hotel industry! (And I've travelled a lot due to my career).
While not particularly "fancy", the Indigo provides comfort and ease in buckets. The bed is great, the place is spotless and the location truly cannot be beat! Major subway lines are within a block in either direction, and dining from fast food to gourmet is within walking distance. It is pretty much in the center of anything one must see in New York! I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indigo21, Manager at Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Magnus2009,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experience with your stay at our hotel. We are extremely happy that you enjoyed yourself and we were able to accommodate you in a time of need. As you have experienced, our staff is always there to take care of any guests needs or requests without hesitation. We hope that you are able to get back to your everyday life as soon as possible however will be here for you whenever you need. Thank you again for your review and let me know if you need anything.

Bill Mehalco
Hotel Indigo New York City - Chelsea
646-484-4329
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea

Address: 127 West 28th Street, Restaurant and Rooftop Now Open, New York City, NY 10001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #195 of 454 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine, a 100% smoke free sophisticated boutique hotel whose focus is delivering guests peace, serenity and renewal. Quite deliberately the Hotel Indigo New York City-Chelsea has been designed as an oasis for travelers who yearn for an escape from the common hotel, but still need the convenience of a 24-hour fitness center and a world class restaurant. Hotel Indigo New York City-Chelsea, located in the heart of Manhattan, provides convenience to dynamic shopping, the lights of Broadway, vigorous nightlife, and art galleries.Hotel Indigo offers each guest a blend of modern contemporary living with the best in traditional hotel hospitality. Curl up in our over-sized beds with plush bedding, duvet covers and plenty of fluffy pillows. Complimentary wireless Internet access throughout the hotel is at your fingertips or use our business center if you prefer.Relax and enjoy our exclusive restaurant for cutting edge cuisine or grab a delicious roasted latte. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.