We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and staff but a tad expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea

Save Saved
You added Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   127 West 28th Street, **Restaurant Under Renovation Until Oct 3rd. Rooftop Bar Now Open**, New York City, NY 10001 (Chelsea)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special New York Savings!
Ranked #197 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location and staff but a tad expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for almost a week back in Sept. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Decent size rooms for location. Location is excellent for Macys, Empire State, Time Square etc. Very quiet. Would highly recommend but is on the expensive side for what you get. Agree with other comments on the restaurant, could do with a more main stream menu.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indigo21, Manager at Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear 901eire,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on your experience with our hotel. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the location, staff, and room sizes the hotel offers. In regards to pricing, we do have much higher rates during the fall season due to city demand which causes rates to go up. Please don't hesitate to contact me on your future trip to review rates as we would love to have you stay with us again. Hope to see you soon and thank you again for your review.

Bill Mehalco
646-484-4329
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    344
    95
    31
    23
See reviews for
116
331
95
187
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I was traveling for business after Sandy and most of the hotels I stay in were book or god awful expensive.
I had high hopes and was excited to try something new...DIS A POINT MENT.
The rooms were fair. Small but lacking in charm. The bathroom was small and lacking anything WOW like you see in other small hotels.
The roof top bar was 80s-reject tacky and the restaurant was hit or miss but the decor was crazy. It was a painful experience.

With regards to service, they gave a stranger a key to my room and checked him/her in at 1:30am. Which was an awesome surprise but what was even better, is that the receptionist called :30 later to confirm that there was someone (me) in the room and started to ask me a bunch of questions. I finally convinced them that we could discuss it at length in the morning.

The hairdryer, iron and razors they provided were crapola - pretty standard for the hotel overall.

Oh, and this was strange, but the floors all felt slippery or greasy. GROSS!!!!

If I were you I would stay at the Roger Williams or the Thompson 60....this place was just Meh

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Cabellgirl,

I certainly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention. Guest comfort and safety are of the utmost concern to us and our hotels are committed to making every possible effort to provide a secure environment. We take comments such as these very serious and will certainly be looked into. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is and please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Irish V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Came here in June. The Indigo was a charming little hotel, the staff on the ground was pretty sparse but they did try to do everything they can to help. In general everyone was super lovely and helpful. The area we were staying is pretty divvy but the metro was close by so it wasnt all bad. The room was small but clean, well maintained and funky.

tiny thing to moan about - the conciege recommended a lunch place which we had to walk 4 long blocks in 30 NY weather in.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We were surprised at the spaciousness of the room compared to other hotels in NYC. Although we faced a fire stairwell and an office window there was plenty of sun. The area is an eclectic mix of floral supply houses complete with the early morning bustle of merchandise on the sidewalks and high energy wholesale transactions of stores and restaurants picking up their shipments.
The room was well appointed, modern, and clean. Bed and pillows were very comfortable. The bathroom was a bit cramped but doable. The sinktop did not have room to leave makeup items but luckily I travel with a hanging toiletry bag. They were slightly skimpy on towels.
The staff was extremely helpful and welcoming. They didn't have a problem with a late checkout.
I'd stay again if doing business in that area.

Room Tip: The restaurant attached to the lobby is not your best bet for breakfast. We had 2 boxes of cereal, y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed for 2 weeks and were sorry to leave. Staff very helpful and professional. We had some issues with a number of things not working (Internet in room was not reliable so we were relocated - thanks Jay) and while it would have been better if there had been no problems these were sorted out. Rooms are bright & comfortable, bathroom fine (not sure why so many have issue with the shower configuration) and the roof top bar was perfect place to recall our daily outings. We would definitely stay here again due to the location and friendly smiling staff

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter but higher rooms at the front have wonderful sunny aspect (and some li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had a trip scheduled for Indigo the weekend after Sandy struck. We couldn't get a consistent answer from the reservation system and there was no answer by calling direct. It appeared that since the property is in Chelsea area that it was in the middle of the lower Manhattan power outage but looking at the Con Ed outage map we couldn't be sure. It was very frustrating that we couldn't get a straight answer from the 800 reservation system but that's about where our frustration ended.

It was a great and memorable trip.

We've stayed at this, as well as other Indigo's before, and seek them out. As I said we were concerned that when we called the 800 number one agent would say yes they're open and then we'd call back and another would say no they had had no contact since Monday and they were closed. Finally on Thursday evening (the night before we were to leave) I emailed the hotel directly. Yes I should have done this before but I assumed since I couldn't reach them via phone then email wouldn't work either. But I got a nice note back from the GM about 30 mins later saying the hotel was operational.

I'll cut to the chase--we arrived checked in and left our bags (it was mid morning). When we came back around 3 our room was ready. The only two hiccups we had were that there was very limited housekeeping services available--which there were signs advising this--so we ended up with only 1 bath towel the first night. The second involved the internet not working on Friday night but by Saturday it was on. Likewise when we returned to the room Sat afternoon from being out our room was made up (we'd actually made our own bed not thinking we'd see anyone from housekeeping) and we had 2 towels!

The hotel was jam packed (we noticed a couple of TV celebrities staying there, as well as some city residents--my assumption was their power was out but was very quiet (we were on the 10th floor). Even though I'm sure everyone working there was stressed from how busy the property was to worrying about their own families and homes it didn't show. The staff was great as always--although we tried to stay as low maintenance as we could.

So it was a great stay even with the record breaking storm.

As a side note re NYC; it was great. The subways didn't run south of 34th until Sunday morning but everything uptown was running, albeit busy and slow. But the property is in a great location that's close to the action yet far enough removed that you don't feel like a tourist. If you like walking it's in a nice neighborhood. I would highly recommend this property.

Room Tip: We've stayed on the east side each time--there's no view but it was quiet on the 10th floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morton Grove, IL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Wonderful hotel, nicely located, well-apportioned rooms and easy check-in, etc. Absolutely would stay here again. The only negative is the onsite restaurant isn't very good, but that's not a major problem when there are so many places to eat within easy walking distance

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea

Address: 127 West 28th Street, **Restaurant Under Renovation Until Oct 3rd. Rooftop Bar Now Open**, New York City, NY 10001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #197 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine, a 100% smoke free sophisticated boutique hotel whose focus is delivering guests peace, serenity and renewal. Quite deliberately the Hotel Indigo New York City-Chelsea has been designed as an oasis for travelers who yearn for an escape from the common hotel, but still need the convenience of a 24-hour fitness center and a world class restaurant. Hotel Indigo New York City-Chelsea, located in the heart of Manhattan, provides convenience to dynamic shopping, the lights of Broadway, vigorous nightlife, and art galleries.Hotel Indigo offers each guest a blend of modern contemporary living with the best in traditional hotel hospitality. Curl up in our over-sized beds with plush bedding, duvet covers and plenty of fluffy pillows. Complimentary wireless Internet access throughout the hotel is at your fingertips or use our business center if you prefer.Relax and enjoy our exclusive restaurant for cutting edge cuisine or grab a delicious roasted latte. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.