We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea to your Saves list
Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   127 West 28th Street, Restaurant and Rooftop Now Open, New York City, NY 10001 (Chelsea)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #196 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Sydney
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed for 2 weeks and were sorry to leave. Staff very helpful and professional. We had some issues with a number of things not working (Internet in room was not reliable so we were relocated - thanks Jay) and while it would have been better if there had been no problems these were sorted out. Rooms are bright & comfortable, bathroom fine (not sure why so many have issue with the shower configuration) and the roof top bar was perfect place to recall our daily outings. We would definitely stay here again due to the location and friendly smiling staff

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter but higher rooms at the front have wonderful sunny aspect (and some li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    362
    101
    34
    23
See reviews for
118
345
100
194
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, OH
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had a trip scheduled for Indigo the weekend after Sandy struck. We couldn't get a consistent answer from the reservation system and there was no answer by calling direct. It appeared that since the property is in Chelsea area that it was in the middle of the lower Manhattan power outage but looking at the Con Ed outage map we couldn't be sure. It was very frustrating that we couldn't get a straight answer from the 800 reservation system but that's about where our frustration ended.

It was a great and memorable trip.

We've stayed at this, as well as other Indigo's before, and seek them out. As I said we were concerned that when we called the 800 number one agent would say yes they're open and then we'd call back and another would say no they had had no contact since Monday and they were closed. Finally on Thursday evening (the night before we were to leave) I emailed the hotel directly. Yes I should have done this before but I assumed since I couldn't reach them via phone then email wouldn't work either. But I got a nice note back from the GM about 30 mins later saying the hotel was operational.

I'll cut to the chase--we arrived checked in and left our bags (it was mid morning). When we came back around 3 our room was ready. The only two hiccups we had were that there was very limited housekeeping services available--which there were signs advising this--so we ended up with only 1 bath towel the first night. The second involved the internet not working on Friday night but by Saturday it was on. Likewise when we returned to the room Sat afternoon from being out our room was made up (we'd actually made our own bed not thinking we'd see anyone from housekeeping) and we had 2 towels!

The hotel was jam packed (we noticed a couple of TV celebrities staying there, as well as some city residents--my assumption was their power was out but was very quiet (we were on the 10th floor). Even though I'm sure everyone working there was stressed from how busy the property was to worrying about their own families and homes it didn't show. The staff was great as always--although we tried to stay as low maintenance as we could.

So it was a great stay even with the record breaking storm.

As a side note re NYC; it was great. The subways didn't run south of 34th until Sunday morning but everything uptown was running, albeit busy and slow. But the property is in a great location that's close to the action yet far enough removed that you don't feel like a tourist. If you like walking it's in a nice neighborhood. I would highly recommend this property.

Room Tip: We've stayed on the east side each time--there's no view but it was quiet on the 10th floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morton Grove, IL
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Wonderful hotel, nicely located, well-apportioned rooms and easy check-in, etc. Absolutely would stay here again. The only negative is the onsite restaurant isn't very good, but that's not a major problem when there are so many places to eat within easy walking distance

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

After 2 nights of anxiety, cold and discomfort in the dark following Hurricane Sandy I was delighted to find a room at the Indigo. When I asked if I could get a good rate based on being senior, disabled and ex airline staff, I was given a better rate. I found the room to be warm and comforting with fine amenities. I was especially delighted by how bright, friendly and accommodating every member of staff was. Special requests were met. An an older guy, I found all these young people to be terrific. I wear braces on my legs which are not visible but carry a crutch, which is, of course. At a time when just being comfortable seemed a luxury I found so many people ready to help out...like the Bellman who ran to the corner to get me a taxi when I checked out. I've traveled around the world but I've never stayed in a hotel in New York. If this is an example, then I feel I'm encouraged. I don't have all the names, but Hanna and Jay at the front desk, Tracy (I think) and Iris at the restaurant, the gentlemen who delivered my meals and the Bellman on morning duty on 03NOV, have my gratitude.
If I may...the only thing I'd change is the overhead rain shower. Maybe esthetic in theory, but really not practical, especially with today's lo-flo plumbing. And too high to adjust. But that's a minor thing.
I'd recommend the hotel without hesitation.

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Good hotel. Very clean rooms, nice and helpful stuff, location great for all parts of Manhattan. About 20-30 min walk to central park, same to Greenwich village. For price we paid (360 for 2 nights) it was the best! Nice rooftop bar. Lots of places around

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Great hotel! Clean, convenient and great service! Check in was was quick and pleasant! Room was decorated very nice, lots of towels, wine glasses (no plastic cups) roof top bar, was really cool way to spend the evening! Great location, restaurants, shopping, walking distance to alot of sites. Felt safe and wasn't noisy for sleeping! Would suggest to anyone and can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: We were on street side 6th floor no problem with noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I stayed at this property for a weekend seminar. I found the hotel and the staff to be very satisfactory. The room size was what I would expect for NYC and the staff were really quite nice. They are, after all, New Yorkers! But no one was rude and I was especially appreciative of the housekeeping staff who retrieved and mailed an item I let in the hotel to me!

Room Tip: I was on the 16th floor and found the room to be really quiet -- more so than I was expecting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea

Address: 127 West 28th Street, Restaurant and Rooftop Now Open, New York City, NY 10001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #196 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine, a 100% smoke free sophisticated boutique hotel whose focus is delivering guests peace, serenity and renewal. Quite deliberately the Hotel Indigo New York City-Chelsea has been designed as an oasis for travelers who yearn for an escape from the common hotel, but still need the convenience of a 24-hour fitness center and a world class restaurant. Hotel Indigo New York City-Chelsea, located in the heart of Manhattan, provides convenience to dynamic shopping, the lights of Broadway, vigorous nightlife, and art galleries.Hotel Indigo offers each guest a blend of modern contemporary living with the best in traditional hotel hospitality. Curl up in our over-sized beds with plush bedding, duvet covers and plenty of fluffy pillows. Complimentary wireless Internet access throughout the hotel is at your fingertips or use our business center if you prefer.Relax and enjoy our exclusive restaurant for cutting edge cuisine or grab a delicious roasted latte. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.