We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect location. good hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carvi Hotel New York

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Carvi Hotel New York to your Saves list
Carvi Hotel New York
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   152 East 55th Street, New York City, NY 10022 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #144 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“perfect location. good hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

The hotel is beutiful. It is clean (even though the toilett was used when we arrived and did not apologyze) The service are helpful. The room size was great for two.
Most of the importance of this hotel is its location: is near museums, churches, subways, and different malls.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor P, Owner at Carvi Hotel New York, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear narine1985,

Thank you for leaving us a review of your stay! I am glad to hear that we were clean and located well to suit your needs while you were in New York! I do sincerely apologize for the cold welcome, we certainly don't hear something like this too often as you already know, we take cleanliness very seriously.

Hope you had a safe trip home!

Best,
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    157
    33
    8
    6
See reviews for
76
157
27
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, Maryland
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Room window is at the bottom of a long air shaft and provides very little light. To add insult to injury, hotel provides minimal lamps in the room. So bring a reading light. Also, only a small desk chair for reading. Not great for reading over a long period of time.

On the plus side, very quiet room, nice furniture and bathroom, and great roof-top deck.

Room Tip: Get on high floor so you get adequate lighting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor P, Owner at Carvi Hotel New York, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Michael S,

Thank you for taking a minute out of your day to leave us some comments regarding your stay. Although there were some positives to your stay, I would like to apologize for the poor lighting in your room. We are undergoing a continuous revamp of our rooms and lighting happened to fall during your stay. I assure you new lamps are now arriving and being put into rooms in order to avoid this problem in the future.

Again, sorry for the inconvenience and hopefully we see you again!

Best,
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

I've passed the building that houses the Carvi hotel many times and never noticed it. Why? Most likely because it is sandwiched between two other high rise unremarkable buildings. The hotel has no lobby to speak of and upon first encounter gives a rather odd impression: no doorman, barely one receptionist and hardly any space to place your luggage or to sit. To my great surprise the room was modern with a super comfortable bed; the bath fully equipped with fine toiletries—in short everything one needs for a comfortable stay in the center of Manhattan. The lack of a restaurant on site is not a major negative as there are plenty of places to eat—in different price ranges— on the block of the hotel and around the corner. A perfectly good choice!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor P, Owner at Carvi Hotel New York, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear SRVP,

I'm glad that you did not judge our book by it's cover! What we lack in size we make up for in hospitality. Hope you enjoyed your time in New York outside of the hotel!

Best,
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Just an average hotel. Rooms are small, but that is to be expected in the city. The windows were not well sealed so the noise from the street was even more than was expected and my biggest complaint about the place. The people at the front desk were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor P, Owner at Carvi Hotel New York, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear egminsd,

Thank you for taking a minute to leave us some comments regarding your stay. I do apologize for the inconveniences that you experienced during your time with us. If you do decide to give us another shot, be sure to request a room toward the backside of our building, it will be much quieter and I am confident that your sleep quality will improve!

Hope to see you again,
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

excellent hotel, clean and comfortable rooms, if you can, choose a room on the inside better than those exhibited on the road unfortunately noisy.
Staff were very friendly and polite. Perfect location for visiting New York City.
Very good price!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor P, Owner at Carvi Hotel New York, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Paco83roma,

Glad to hear you enjoyed your time in NYC! Hope to see you again!

Best,
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

This a very charming hotel with very small rooms but just in the heart of the city. Close to many attractions. I stayed in a room without a window probably the smallest but it was ok, clean and safe. As a summary, I liked the place and it is certainly worth checking while visitib NewYork

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor P, Owner at Carvi Hotel New York, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Gulsenist,

Thank you for leaving us some comments! I see that you stayed with us almost a year ago, we have renovated almost all of the rooms since you visited so I would check us out again!

I'm glad that you felt safe and clean while you were here; those are usually two of the most important things for me when I travel.

Thank you again for the lovely comments!

Best,
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

A wonderful small family run hotel. Exceptional service. very clean and very quiet. Really great location.
Rooms not large but arranged so good it is really not a probem. A lot of storage places.
Staff very friendly Several nice restaurants same block and around the corner and 2 supermarkets/pharmacies (Duane Reade) 5 minutes walk away on 3rd and lexington avenues. 10 minutes walk to MOMA.
We enjoyed our stay there immensely. And as somebody already wrote - this is a home away from home. Thank You all people of this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor P, Owner at Carvi Hotel New York, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear gcarmi1943,

Wow thank you for the great comments! We are all very happy to hear that we are a home away from home for you!

Hope you had a safe trip home and see you next time!

Best,
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Carvi Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carvi Hotel New York

Address: 152 East 55th Street, New York City, NY 10022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #144 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carvi Hotel New York 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Travelocity so you can book your Carvi Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carvi Hotel New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.